We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queenstown Bike Tours

Queenstown Bike Tours
4 Buckingham Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
03 4420339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Queenstown Bike Tours is located at Dudleys cottage in Arrowtown. We offer half day or full day bike hire with optional transport, or if you would like to visit us in Arrowtown we also rent bikes by the hour.QT Bike Tours provides a range of bikes specifically designed for comfort and sight seeing. All sizes for men, women and children and if the kids are too small to ride we also have tow along bikes allowing you to take the whole family for a days adventure.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband saw the good reviews in Trip Advisor, and we were convinced it would be a great experience. We were right! Dylan picked us up in Queenstown and showed us the highlights in Arrowtown. Well-equipped, and with a map in hands, we departed. All the way is well signalized and the views are stunning! I loved that there were no timetables, we could take as long as we needed to complete the route. Our destination was a vineyard, we did the wine tasting in Gibbston Valley winery. Dylan picked us up and drove us to Arrowtown, were we had a delicious platter in the Postmasters Restaurant. In the end of the day, Dylan took us back to Queenstown. We loved the pampering!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi Neusasi, perfect! What more can we say! Glad that we were able to provide you with a great experience, thanks Queenstown Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome - a must do in Queenstown area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We hired bikes for a half day to browse the area at our own pace. We're given a map, helmet and very thorough instructions on how to get to our destination (a winery) and what to watch out for.

The bikes were of very high quality (much better than most of bike hire places) and very well maintained. We managed to return on our own but in case you get too tired (or drunk from tasting too much wine) they come out and pick you up (for a reasonable cost) so there are options available for all fitness levels.

On route from the Dudley Cottage in Arrowtown (where you start) to Gibbston Valley Winery, the scenery was amazing and so different from what you see from the car. You ride along the prestine blue river and cross bridges including two swing bridges and the bungy bridge. It felt like a great adventure and we (including my sister who isn't a great fan of cycling) all enjoyed our ride so much.

It is alsi a great way to burn off extra calories from the cheese and wine you get to indulge in the region.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi Jim, awesome! We love your review, you're so right about the scenery that can only been seen from these trails and how much fun and relaxed the day is. Hope to see you all again to give another part of the trail a go. Thanks, Queenstown bike tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Super Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I found QBT by Trip Advisor and there were many good reviews from people, so me and my friend decided to rent a bike for 1 day.

Dylan is friendly! He explained very detailed of our route, he also tried to make us fully prepared before our departure to Gibbston Winery as his suggestion :D and he made sure that we will travel savety to Gibbston. Then, we achieved succesfully and finally we bought chocolatte and cheese at there, thanks for your recommendation, the sceneries while we cycling was beautiful.

If you are not used to cycling and want to have fun cycling, Dylan will show you the route that will suits you, and it suited us very well.

QBT is highly recommend!

- Anatasia Putri

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi Anatasia, thanks for your feed back, happy that you enjoyed the day and our service. regards, Queenstown Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a great way to start our holiday! We found Dudley's Cottage and Dylan came outside to great us. His female coworker helped my husband to resort his camera equipment so it would all fit in the saddlebags. We chose to bike the Arrow River trail to Chard Farm Winery and couldn't have been happier. The river trail is a gentle downhill track with several bridges to cross and even a tunnel. Then you end up at the bungy bridge where you can have a little entertainment watching the jumpers.

Chard Farm's road is a short uphill bit, but worth it. It looks worse than it is when looking at it from the bottom. About halfway up, there's a fantastic view of the canyon valley. Most certainly, do a little wine tasting! Then give the office a call and someone comes by shortly to pick you and the bikes up to return to Arrowtown.

Does it get any better than this?!

The bikes are well maintained and easy to get used to. We're both in our 50's and I haven't ridden a bike in 10 years. I would do this again in a heartbeat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi De Schenke, No it doesn't get any better! Arent you glad you did it?! Chard farm definately has some amazing wines to taste and we are always happy to pick up cyclists that have enjoyed a few wines. regards QT Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hired a group of bikes over the weekend to cycle from Arrowtown to Queenstown where they picked up the bikes from our hotel. Great service, kit in excellent condition and some great off road trails to experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qt_bike_tours, Owner at Queenstown Bike Tours, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Kia ora Just 321, happy you enjoyed the ride, fantastic trail from Arrowtown to Queenstown, being laid back but with a professional approach is our specialty. Regards QT Bike Tours crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queenstown Bike Tours also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Queenstown Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queenstown Bike Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.