We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas - good fun in Arrowtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Rumbla

La Rumbla
54 Buckingham St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
6434420509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, South American, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Tapas - good fun in Arrowtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Dined on a Tuesday night and there was a great atmosphere (you do need to book). The staff were great, good service, very nice glassware for wine. The dishes recommended by our waitress were excellent - want to go back and try the ones we did not have (lots for everyone).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    28
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Came highly recommended and we agree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We walked into a cosy, eclectic décor, comfortable space. Even though looked new, still had a nice feel. We were seated in comfy seats in a circular arrangement around the table.
Staff were immediately attentive and service was great throughout the night. The person taking our orders was knowledgeable on the menu helped us get the portions right.
Food was excellent. First time I can remember in New Zealand getting such daring food (two dishes had raw sliced chilies). But our party of four, who all like food, loved it. But, if you are not into raw chilies, check the ingredients first!
Bar menu was extensive with good cocktails. It did seem like a good place to come for a cocktail at the bar first, we'll do that next time before being seated.
We were early but later on they appeared to turn down the lights and up the music, so it was noisy as it was also full.
We missed desserts as we ate too much but that can wait as we will come back.
Great addition to Arrowtown dining.
I would recommend booking. It was full on a weeknight.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Best Tapas !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We simply loved this restaurant ! The food amazing , the atmosphere great and the service fantastic ! All we have tried was really delicious ! You need to go there !

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Picky, choosey taste buds satisfied thoroughly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My friend took me to this restaurant which pleased our taste buds so much. All dishes beautifully presented. Music chic and inspiring. The mood is so right. All waitresses were agreeable, pleasant and smiley at all times!! I love the décor so much since it is a perfect blend of elegance, relaxation and warmth.

Love each moment spent here. Try this out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice food but a little bit noisey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the food - really tastey tapas fare. Our only complaint was the noise level - the restaurant was very full and it was very noisey. Regardless of that we would definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone seeking a nice relaxed dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rumbla also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to La Rumbla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rumbla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.