We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brava La Rumbla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rumbla

La Rumbla
54 Buckingham St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
6434420509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: South American, Spanish, Tapas, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Brava La Rumbla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Brilliant for a group! Order a variety of tapas, a few glasses of good wine, sit back and enjoy! Attentive staff and a modern buzzy ambience. Great fun.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funkycuts, Owner at La Rumbla, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant. PJ and I are very passionate about what we do and it's great to get a response like yours.
Cheers
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

99% Recommend
    127
    25
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kerikeri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Rumbla for service, style and sassy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lucky Arrowtown! It's got La Rumbla, new, clever, fun and not to be missed for carefully sourced and beautifully cooked small plates such as grilled baby squid, pork and chipotle quesadilla, salted blue cod and baked lamb loin chops. Need something for the kids? The "Havoc Ham and truffled cheese bocadillos" are baby ham 'n cheese toasted sammies, and they'll love the meatballs and potato bravas with hot tomato sauce. Great wines, including delicious Europeans as well as NZ and Australian, gorgeous cocktails. The staff as super, highly-trained, cheerful, intelligent and efficient. Completing the package, cool music, funky decor and what we all love, great value for money...six adults ate 'n drank very nicely for just under $400 on a busy Friday night... wish there was a La Rumbla in Auckland...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“La Rumbla hits Arrowtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

wonderful new tapas and cocktail bar. Great atmosphere, and superb hosts. It is our new regular meeting place on a Friday, after work. Roll on Friday!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Dropped in for lunch with the wife and kids. Food was outstanding. Service was excellent, knowledgable and attentive. We opted for beer but the wine list was very good. Will go for wine next time. No kids menu but there was plenty on the regular menu that the kids can have so we got a few dishes and shared. Loved the patatas bravas, bocadillo(fancy ham & cheese toastie), quesadilla and meatballs. Very tasty. Very fresh. The hint of truffle in the bocadillo was a nice touch. The complimentary bread was lovely; scented with garlic and rosemary. We were tempted by the dessert menu and had the chocolate terrine with creme de cafe (stunning) and the Catalan meringue with raspberry and creme chantilly. Again, the subtle flavours made this something special (lime zest in the raspberry compote?)
Should there be a kids menu? I don't know really. The kids always eat what we have at home so they were more than happy sharing with us. I quite like not having a kids menu as they are usually terrible anyway. Initially I viewed this as a slight negative but I have changed my mind.
Overall, very hard to fault. Maybe a couple more decorations on a couple of walls but now I'm being picky. One of the top 3 meals I have had in the region and all for less than $90 for 6 dishes and 4 drinks. Great value. We will definitely be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Popped in for a quick drink and something 'tapas-like' to eat and we were not disappointed. The cocktail 'arrowerotica' was excellent and well priced at $16. My husband however was disappointed with the range of beers - he was looking for something a bit different in terms of NZ beer rather than the same old. After enquiring about food the chap behind the bar suggested that the calamari was good and it was a great choice - tasty, hot and tender. Definitely come back next time I am in Arrowtown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rumbla also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to La Rumbla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rumbla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.