We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad second visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crawfords

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrowtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crawfords
Save
You added Crawfords to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   70 Buckingham St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sad second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I think this hotelier is well over the hospitality industry. I know the establishment has been on the market for some time but letting the standards go won't help it to sell. On a previous visit he could not share enough about Arrowtown. This time he could not get away fast enough when greeting me on arrival, and would not engage despite being asked a question.

The room while just as lovely as on my first visit was in need of a thorough dusting. All corners were decorated with extremely dust cobwebs, suggesting that it is a long time since the room saw a feather duster. The metal tree mural behind the bed had an incredibly think coating of dust all over it and would have benefitted from a thorough vacuuming. Luckily I am not allergic to dustmites. Mould in the shower is always a turn off. Pity as it is a lovely establishment and deserves better care.

Room Tip: I would stay again as this is a lovely place in a great location but hope that the comments above sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
79
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
auz
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived in Arrowtown later in the afternoon. We had a look around town and noticed this quaint building down the path. As we did not book anywhere, we drove in unaware of what to expect. This place is really cute and has a great atmosphere. As we were travelling with another couple we needed two rooms. Fortunately these were available. The rooms were really well set up and clean. Henry offered great dining suggestions for dinner in Arrowtown that night. Thanks to the Blue Door Bar. Amazing atmosphere..great service.
We look forward to returning to Arrowtown and definitely staying at Crawfords.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed a night for a wedding. Yes the room is small, but it was so nice and warm when we arrived, the heater had been turned on and just made it so cozy. Bed was devine, and we slept very well. Its a lovely place to stay and very much right in Arrowtown. Would definatly recommend to friends and family. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Crawfords and found it perfect for a short stay, yes the rooms are on the small side but very comfortable and clean and for what we wanted it was perfect. Great location, could walk everywhere. Info on where to eat and what to do spot on. The place has a nice relaxed feel to it and Henry Crawford the owner is a very interesting character, great to chat to.

Room Tip: The end rooms on each side are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the middle room at Crawfords; the bed was comfy, room warm and adequately sized and the host (when we met him the day after) was very friendly and accommodating.

My only real issue was the noise insulation between rooms is almost non-existent, down to conversations being audible to near words and snoring abundantly clear. If you're a deep sleeper or don't mind ear plugs then Crawford's will meet your needs but next time there I'll probably look to find something else.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had what I think was the smallest room - and for one night only, this was perfectly adequate. A bit small perhaps for a longer stay. Heaps on info provided in room about Arrowtown. Everything is within walking distance - just over the road from a fab cafe, as other reviewers have said. Hosts were out when we arrived and we didn't see them at all during our time at Crawfords - only bumped into Nina by chance as we were leaving, so can't comment on hosts' hospitality. Nina was amenable though. Room was warm and comfy for an autumn evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The most colourful place to be in April in New Zealand is Arrowtown. Crawford's is a delightful boutique accommodation and owner, Henry Crawford, is a hard working host. The Provisions cafe, just over the road, make a great sticky bun. No car is needed as everything is in close walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crawfords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawfords

Address: 70 Buckingham St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crawfords 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry Crawford, international hotelier and founder of Fiji's five star resort, Vatulele, has renovated three rooms in a stable building attached to a police station built in 1900 (now the Crawford residence). Located on the main street, just 2 minutes walk from the center of historic Arrowtown (15 minutes drive from Queenstown NZ). Ideally located for all action adventures including golf, mountain hikes and skiing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crawfords, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.