We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and a beautiful resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Millbrook Resort to your Saves list
Millbrook Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and a beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days and it was a wonderful experience. The views were spectacular and the room was clean, beautiful and luxurious. The bed was extremely comfortable - it took a lot to get out of bed! We also got the breakfast package and breakfast, every morning, was delicious. We also had a massage at the spa and it was a perfect ending to the three days. The staff was very helpful, as were the ground staff. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet and luxurious getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear AM17_09,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Millbrook Resort. We were very pleased to hear you had luxurious and relaxing stay with us. I can certainly empathise with you regarding your comments about getting out of our beds, but it sounds like our breakfast team ensured it was worth it for you. Glad to hear that you were also able to experience a massage at our award winning Spa, as they have a talent for washing your worry’s and stress away. We look forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of paradise the next time you need a relaxing break away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    72
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
88
251
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had our wedding here last year and we 110% happy with the staff, the facilities, the rooms - the whole lot. Stunning location, friendly staff, the whole lot was wonderful. The outlook from our room was tranquil, the room itself was luxurious, clean and comfortable. We could not recommend Millbrook highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear JO1984_10,
Thank you for your review regarding your experience at Millbrook Resort. The team and I were very pleased to hear your Wedding at Millbrook was a success and that they played a part in ensuring your day was a memorable one. As you have mentioned our location, grounds, range of accommodation and facilities including our Restaurant venues and award winning Spa, do ensure that we are a very popular wedding venue and we trust all of these features came together to create a special and unique experience for you and your guests. We feel honoured that you choose to spend you special day with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Millbrook in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We chose to stay at Millbrook because of a wedding reception held there. Having spent three weeks travelling around New Zealand we also decided we would need to relax a little before heading home again. We stayed for 7 nights and the complete Millbrook team of extremely friendly, helpful and professional staff provided exactly what we were looking for. Great local walks and a stunning location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Anthony M,
Thank you for reviewing Millbrook Resort. We were delighted to have you on the Resort for 7 days. What a great place for your friends to get married...being set on 500 acres it really does make the wedding party feel special. A great length of time for you to stay here, to ensure you got to experience all the resort has to offer. If you look to come back to Millbrook in the future we have a lot of different packages which you might like – Millbrook Wine and Golf Escape, a Couples package, just log onto our website to find out more. The couple who got married here might like to come back to celebrate their 1 year anniversary – just an idea! Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and just wanted to stay longer!
Fantastic customer service, friendly and meeting all needs. Rooms were gorgeous with good heating for the crisp autumn days. The golf course was amazing, well looked after.
Was great they had shuttles into Queenstown to enjoy some sightseeing and shopping.
Food at the resort was unbelievable, great value for money. Didn't get a chance to check the spa out, but friends said they rated it highly.
Will be back for sure - and for longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sun-seekerNZ,
Thank you for reviewing our resort. It sounds like you had a fabulous time here and that makes us here at Millbrook extremely happy. We strive to ensure that every guest wants to come back, so it’s great to see that in writing! As you missed out on experiencing The Spa, next time we suggest that you review the Couple package which we offer, you get 2 nights’ accommodation with a 3 hour spa package included in the price. The Spa has also just won a Best Luxury Wellness Spa for Australasia & Oceania in the World Luxury Hotel Awards so we highly recommend you come back soon!
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights in their villa suite and it's excellent.

Room: very nice 1-br with a beautiful balcony overlooking the whole golf resort and mountain at the backdrop. Superb relaxing. Only problem is the iPod dock is not working (they changed it but still not working, I guess most of their guests are older guests so they don't quite need iPhone dock and good music?). The fireplace didn't work on the 2nd day, the technician promised to fix it but then when we came back it's untouched.

Staff: very very friendly, very attentive and very helpful.

Surrounding: very beautiful, excellent get-away if you're a country-side person.

To sum up, if you've enough time or if you like get away from the hastle and bustle of city life, I would definitely recommend this place before you go to Queenstown. They charge around NZD300 per night and I think it's definitely worth the money. Arrowtown is just 5 minutes away and it's a very beautiful small town.

Room Tip: definitely choose the villa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear NilesHo,
Thank you for reviewing our resort. We’re delighted that you got to experience Millbrook, Queenstown and Arrowtown while you were here. Our complimentary shuttle service is a real hit for guests as you get the best of both worlds! I do apologies on behalf of the team here that your docking station and fireplace was not fixed as promised. I’ve passed on your feedback to our maintenance team and we will look to ensure that we review our procedures to ensure that any problems mentioned by guests are rectified as soon as possible. We hope to see you back at Millbrook in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to spa with best friend for a treat and booked in for a night to enjoy the restaurants. Unforgettable. The attention to detail, the smiling service, the utter luxury of everything they do was amazing.
The Spa, as usual, sublime with the excellent staff. The Millhouse truly amazing food, Breakfast at The Hole in One was a wonderful relaxed affair with great food again. My ultimate luxury week end.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Qualityexpectation,
Thank you for reviewing our resort . We’ll pass on your praise to our teams here as they come to work daily with the plan to ensure all our guests have a world class experience. We are delighted that you put this down as your ultimate luxury weekend and we hope that you get to come back at stay at the resort in the future. We have a variety of different package which might suit you – if you didn't get to play golf last time, maybe on your next visit you review our stay and play packages or take the opportunity to have a lesson with one of our pro golfers and kick start your golfing career.! We hope you’re still feeling relaxed and revitalized after your stay here.
Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On arrival I was wowed, as the village is huge. At reception I was greeted in a friendly manner, and my son and I were driven in a golf cart to our room. The look of the place reminded me of desperate housewives, in a good way. Our room upstairs was wonderful, with a massive view of the mounts. I soaked myself in a huge bath, guiness book of records in depth! I saw snow on the top of one of the mounts, as it had snowed the day before, snow was not due for another two weeks. The heater was not used, as we did not find it cold, start of May. The ducks sounded off in the morning, so Matt and I hit the road, feeling relaxed.

Room Tip: Upstairs=better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Angela G,
Thank you for reviewing our resort. Being set on 500 acres with the Remarkable mountain range as the backdrop to the resort it does give you the perfect opportunity to soak up the fresh alpine air and relax from life! We’re delighted that you and your son had a fabulous time here and I’m sure he was intrigued by our ducks. They are very much part of the furniture here at Millbrook and add a great piece of character to the resort. Did you and your son manage to hire our mountain bikes? We have got the Queenstown Trail running through the resort which offers a great family adventure. We hope you can make it back to Millbrook someday so you can experience even more that Millbrook can offer you! Kind regards on behalf of the team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook Resort is one of Queenstown's best five star hotels. Situated on the 45th parallel in the South Island of New Zealand, nestled within the Southern Alps and framed by the aptly named Remarkables Mountain Range, are the 500 acres of lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams of Millbrook Resort. Millbrook Resort has received multiple awards over the years including best golf resort and best spa and was recently voted as the Leading Golf Resort in Australasia and New Zealand at the World Travel Awards.Millbrook Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, a 27 hole golf course, covered driving range, an award-winning day spa, health and fitness centre with gymnasium, 25m swimming pool, hot pools and a 140 seat conference facility.A choice of dining options from the intimate Millhouse Restaurant, to the casual Hole in One Cafe and Bar or the stunning Clubhouse venue, cater for all guest requirements.Millbrook also offers a wide range of real estate for sale all on free hold titles, from two bedroom villas to expansive family homes. Property ownership at the Resort has attracted buyers from all over the world who appreciate the ease of ownership and the lifestyle Millbrook offers.An impressive 95% of the Millbrook grounds is still open space, with walking and biking tracks for visitors and locals, and mountain bikes to hire onsite.Millbrook is a place to relax for a few days and escape the rat race, it's a place to revive the spirit amidst the mountain air and open space, it's a place for you, your friends and your family to enjoy. As one of Queenstown's best luxury hotels, Millbrook offers the ultimate in five star accommodation.Stay for an hour, a day or a lifetime.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millbrook Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.