We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Millbrook Resort to your Saves list
Millbrook Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Again perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this resort and once again it lived right up to our expectations.
The reason for our stay was that it was my wifes birthday.I rang the resort and asked if i could get a cake made for our last night,no problems at all, and it was sensational.
Right from when we arrived to when we booked out the service can only be descibed as brilliant.
Nothing was too much trouble, the room was the same one we had on our previous visit,just great.
I know it sounds boring but this resort is a must stay if you are looking for a world class resort in Queenstown then you can't go past Millbrook Resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a Village Inn room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear billpears,
We are glad you and wife enjoyed your recent birthday stay with us. We are always happy to help when people are celebrating special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries and often are asked to make cakes, plan special gifts in room on arrival or romantic activities for proposals and birthday surprises.
We thank you for your continued support of Millbrook and look forward to welcoming you on your 5th visit soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    73
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
88
252
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My lovely wife and i spent 5 nights at this excellent establishment from the DEC 27th to the 1st Jan and once again i must say it is up to our expectation.
ALL staff members are well trained and the restaurants on site are of an excellent quality.We do the PLAY and STAY golf package and it is more than comparable with overseas prices and we will support Millbrook as much as we can.The shuttle service from the Airport to Millbrook and to and from Queenstown was exceptional.The villa room we had was indeed we very large and from the patio we were overlooking the golf course.Great views.We met a Family from England and another couple form Sydney who have been to Millbrook 7 times so what does that tell you.

Room Tip: We had Room 121 which has great views and plenty of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear hondamax,
We thank you for taking the time to post and for your kind words. Our Stay and Play package is our signature package and one of our most popular ones, incorporating accommodation, golf and breakfast at Millbrook. We have also recently launched other Stay and Play packages which include a lesson with a pro and others that include green fees at key local courses, such as Jacks Point, The Hills, Kelvin Heights and Arrowtown. If you are looking for something a little different for your next stay, may i suggest you take a look at these packages as well.
A lot of our guests are repeat visitors who come to Millbrook a few times a year in the different seasons. Millbrook is a wonderful place year round and every season the resort looks completely different, making it a fantastic destination in winter, summer, spring and autumn.
We do hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Millbrook for only one night on New Years Eve 2012. Let me start by saying that the room was the biggest and best room that we've ever stayed in. There needs to be some context with that as this is not a cheap hotel. But the villas have a large living room, bedroom, bathroom and patio area all of which are finished to perfection.

The resort itself is superb with a great range of facilities and restaurants. We only experience on the the restaurants for breakfast so can't comment too much but at $25 per person the a la carte menu with additional buffet was superb and we couldn't fault it.

The only issues that we had were that the pool and spas are very dated for a 5 star resort which almost loses it a star. Plus I had two showers and both moved between hot and cold which does lose the star.

Nonetheless, we would definitely go back if we wanted to spoil ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear CarlEdinburgh,
Many thanks for your post about your stay with us last New Year's Eve. We appreciate your comments about the size of the rooms at Millbrook as this is something we pride ourselves on.
All our rooms, from the Village Inn studio rooms, to the 1 and 2 bedroom Villas and Suites, the Cottages and Fairway Homes have spacious bedrooms. All the rooms (bar the Village Inn studios) also have spacious living/dining and/or kitchens as well.
Your feedback regarding the showers, pool and spas has been passed on the relevant departments and we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
We hope to see you at Millbrook again in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My partner & I have just returned from our 3rd trip to Millbrook and I just can't say enough good things about it. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The on-site facilities are fantastic, the restaurant is excellent and the cafe is also very good. The golf course is great fun, I only lost my temper once (on the second nine). My partner reports that the spa is also amazing. The village inn accommodation is very comfortable and clean, if I had to nit pick, some of the shower fittings were a little 'used', but nothing really to get too worked up about. All in all, excellent.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Chessefunnel,
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Millbrook. We pride ourselves on our high standards of service and we are glad our friendly and helpful staff met your expectations.
We value all our guest feedback and i have passed your comments on to the relevant departments.
We do hope to see you on visit number 4 very soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The rooms are quite large and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There are three restaurants to choose..............and if you would prefer to go into Arrowtown, the staff will shuttle you there and pick you up when you are ready to return. My only complaint was that I wish they had screens on their windows. If you keep the windows open with the lights on, watch out! But I didn't see screens on any of the windows in all the hotels I stayed in durng my trip to New Zealand. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday to Queenstown. Millbrook was everything we expected and more... The staff were all excellent and couldn't do enough for us. We had a lovely big one bedroom cottage off the 6th fairway and were able to watch the golfers and a family of ducks as they passed by each day. We ate at the hole-in-one which was laid back with excellent food. Breakfast at the Clubhouse was also a treat each day. We played a round of golf and the greens and fairways were in excellent condition. Overall the scenery, atmosphere, accommodation and service were all truly wonderful. We highly recommend Millbrook to anyone wanting a first class experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Fiona M,
It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. I have passed your kind words about the quality of our greens on to our green keepers, who will be pleased to hear your feedback.
We work hard to ensure our course remains world-class and a lot of time and energy goes in to ensuring the greens, fairways and grounds are immaculate year round.
It's nice to hear you also enjoyed dining at the relaxed Hole in One Cafe and the Clubhouse for breakfast.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have just had another wonderful stay at Millbrook, we booked a 1bedroom cottage over looking green number 6. The room was very comfortable with a well stocked fridge and coffee/tea making facility. lovely big bathroom with a bath to die for. We had breakfast each day in the Clubroom, on one of the days we brought 4 family members who live close by to join us. The full English breakfast was excellent as was our continental breakfast with a wide choice of fresh fruit, nuts and Danish pastries. We also dined in the "Hole in one Cafe" the food and services was excellent. We also played golf on a beautiful course, the golf shop was especially helpful. A special word for the staff who ferried us around when we arrived and then took us on a number of short trips around the facilities they were friendly and helpful. We live at Lake Tekapo and as Kiwis our trips to Millbrook are our touch of luxury which we plan to treat ourselves to on a regular basis. I work in Christchurch, reception were very sensitive to my request for a ground floor room, Thank you.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is first class, we did love the cottage over looking the golf course. lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sandra M,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your kind words about your recent stay at Millbrook.
Millbrook has guests from many countries stay with us, but it's nice to hear from local Kiwis such as yourself that enjoy coming over to Millbrook for some luxury, rest and relaxation away from Christchurch-you are one of many we have had stay over the last couple of years looking for some peace and quiet.
We hope you continue to visit Millbrook and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the resort.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook Resort is one of Queenstown's best five star hotels. Situated on the 45th parallel in the South Island of New Zealand, nestled within the Southern Alps and framed by the aptly named Remarkables Mountain Range, are the 500 acres of lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams of Millbrook Resort. Millbrook Resort has received multiple awards over the years including best golf resort and best spa and was recently voted as the Leading Golf Resort in Australasia and New Zealand at the World Travel Awards.Millbrook Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, a 27 hole golf course, covered driving range, an award-winning day spa, health and fitness centre with gymnasium, 25m swimming pool, hot pools and a 140 seat conference facility.A choice of dining options from the intimate Millhouse Restaurant, to the casual Hole in One Cafe and Bar or the stunning Clubhouse venue, cater for all guest requirements.Millbrook also offers a wide range of real estate for sale all on free hold titles, from two bedroom villas to expansive family homes. Property ownership at the Resort has attracted buyers from all over the world who appreciate the ease of ownership and the lifestyle Millbrook offers.An impressive 95% of the Millbrook grounds is still open space, with walking and biking tracks for visitors and locals, and mountain bikes to hire onsite.Millbrook is a place to relax for a few days and escape the rat race, it's a place to revive the spirit amidst the mountain air and open space, it's a place for you, your friends and your family to enjoy. As one of Queenstown's best luxury hotels, Millbrook offers the ultimate in five star accommodation.Stay for an hour, a day or a lifetime.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millbrook Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.