We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millbrook Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Millbrook Resort to your Saves list
Millbrook Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
JAPAN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This resort is full of green. The cottages are cute and you can see stream and flowers on the way. They have spa, restaurants and self-laundry shed next to cottage (this was very useful for us), so that it’s like one small town. The meal in the restaurant is really nice and we could have romantic dinner.
We had little trouble caused by misunderstanding in the stay and the concierge dealt with it sincerely. It was a pleasant stay after all.

Room Tip: We stayed Village inn. The bed is king size and really comfortable. The bathroom is luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    73
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
88
252
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Millbrook earlier in the year for two nights to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. From the moment we arrived our stay was just "perfect". I honestly could not fault anything about Millbrook. The staff were very attentive and happy to help out. We had a lovely meal in the Millhouse Restaurant and would highly recommend a meal (or two) there if you are staying at Millbrook or indeed nearby. Breakfast at the Clubhouse was something to look forward to each morning. Our accommodation was first class, no complaints at all. A very special place indeed. We were lucky enough to also have a couples massage, this was indeed a treat! A must do if you are staying as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Love2create,
Congratulations on reaching 25 years of marriage. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay for your 25th Wedding Anniversary here at Millbrook.
We like to hear from our guests and always strive to ensure we are faultless at every turn. Our team work hard to ensure the golf course and grounds are pristine, the chefs love creating sumptuous breakfasts, lunches and dinners for you to enjoy and the spa team love to make sure everyone relaxes and enjoys their stay.
We hope to see you back again in the future and congratulations again on your anniversary.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Millbrook Resort for four nights, midway through a twenty day driving tour of NZ. It was so lovely. After several nights of rummaging in suitcases, we were able to unpack, in the dressing room, enjoy the spacious room and bathroom, with big bath.

After jet boating the bath was especially welcome, as we're the hot pools at the spa.

We hired bikes from the resort and rode into Queenstown, quite a trek, especially on the way back, more uphill bits, but felt very virtuous! Able to enjoy a meal at the onsite Japanese restaurant with no feelings of guilt.

Beautiful, well tended grounds, lovely restaurants, great areas for meeting up with friends, outside our rooms, or on our balcony, it was perfect.

Waking to see the snow topped mountains and the ducks waddling by was divine.

Room Tip: If you enjoy your privacy, pick a room without the golf course right outside, or you will feel overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear SueLodder,
It's lovely to hear you hired some bikes from the Millbrook Pro Shop and cycled to Queenstown, it is a great ride.
The new 110km Queenstown Bike Trail winds its way through Millbrook and biking is a great way to see the surrounding area. A soak in the hot pools at Millbrook would certainly have helped ease away any aches and pains after that!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand road trip and would love to see you at Millbrook again in the future.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH, aUSTRALIA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is our fifth time to Millbrook which says it all. A beautifully designed golf resort which is just such a pleasure to walk around. Great accommodation, spacious and comfortable. The staff were especially helpful and always cheerful. The shuttle was great, we even had the bikes transported to Queenstown for us. We enjoyed the food more this year at the Hole in One. We did come for two and a half weeks so feel we know the area well now! The Pro shop is always helpful and it was fun to use the bikes this year. Unfortunately for us Millbrook seems to be getting busier so we will have to pick another time of year! A very special place

Room Tip: At the moment quite a lot of building so choose a room that does not overlook this
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Kimbia,
Thank your for your post. It's especially nice to have feedback from repeat guests and it's great to hear that even after your fifth visit we still meet your high expectations.
We agree that Millbrook is a pleasure to walk around. With the flora and fauna throughout the resort, the surrounding alpine vistas and picture perfect views at every turn, Millbrook is a special place to visit.
We do hope to see you again and again at Millbrook.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A great base for a Queenstown and Arrowtown holiday. Outlook, setting, grounds and buildings are magnificent. You are close enough to enjoy everything (esp with the free shuttle service into Queenstown which you'd be crazy not to use if heading into town for dinner) yet in a country resort setting a bit out of town to truly escape. A great combination, really well done, thoroughly recommend and would stay again.

I am not a golfer so can't comment on the course. Went walking around grounds which were very well done. Some other reviewers comment re internet is fair enough, but unless you want it extensively, the short and limited free service is fine for a quick check of email.

Just a tip, make sure you put Malaghans Rd Arrowtown in the GPS, not Malaghans Rd Queenstown, ended up in the middle of Queenstown in a dead end, bit unfortunate after a long day's drive. My bad not theirs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Stocksnbonds,
We couldn't describe Millbrook if we did it ourselves!
Thank you for your post which clearly outlines what makes Millbrook so special.
It's nice to hear you made use of and appreciated the complimentary shuttles to/from Queenstown and Arrowtown. It is a great guest service we offer and means guests can enjoy the beauty, peace and quiet of our 500 acres, yet can easily access the restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in Queenstown easily enough.
Also a great tip regarding the GPS as yes there are two Malaghans streets in Queenstown, Millbrook is Malaghans Road. We also have a map and how to get here section on our website to assist people if they need it.
We do hope to see you at Millbrook in the future,.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My hubby and I regularly stay at Millbrook when we are visiting NZ and the rooms are always of a very high standard. We love the big fluffy duvets! The staff are all very accommodating and their complimentary shuttles to/from Queenstown and Arrowtown are excellent. This time we didn't even bother renting a car. I had a wonderful massage at the spa - one of the best I've had actually - and would definitely recommend a treatment when you are there. Very good value too.
My only irk is that I don't like hotels charging for wifi and I'd like to see Millbrook provide free wifi for guests - not just for 30 minutes a day.
Other than that - no complaints!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear pauleenf,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post. We appreciate all the feedback we receive as it is only by our guest feedback that we can maintain and improve our five star service.

I will be sure to pass your kind comments about our staff and the massage in the spa to the team.

Millbrook recently underwent an upgrade of our WIFI services to provide faster broadband across the resort to ensure we met the expectations of our guests. After extensive research, we decided to continue with the current trend of New Zealand hotels to charge for WIFI. We appreciate that globally some hotels do not charge for this service, but in New Zealand most hotels do charge and we feel we are in keeping with the current trends on this matter.
We thank you for your comments on this as it forms part of our ongoing discussion and we will continue to track trends in this area.
We look forward to welcoming you to Millbrook again soon
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Cheerfully mediocre hotel and staff. Ordinary food at best and the golf course was not great. The good news is that it is close to just about everything you want to do in New Zealand. Be sure to jetboat and helicopter around the area too. Maybe the Hilton in Queenstown or the Sofitel are better....

Room Tip: The property has rooms spread out in a large area. Be sure to ask for a second floor unit as you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Roadtri,
Many thanks for your post.
Voted Australasia’s Leading Golf Resort for the Third year running and currently nominated for the World’s Leading Golf Resort, we believe we not only set exceptionally high standards at Millbrook, but we also exceed them. Our frequent return guests and active Country Club members are testimony to this.
We are disappointed to hear your thoughts as the feedback we receive is usually very positive. Without specific details on your comments re why the dining and the golf course did not meet your expectations, it is difficult to follow up on your comments specifically.
We would like to welcome you back to Millbrook in the future and showcase all our slice of paradise has to offer.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook Resort is one of Queenstown's best five star hotels. Situated on the 45th parallel in the South Island of New Zealand, nestled within the Southern Alps and framed by the aptly named Remarkables Mountain Range, are the 500 acres of lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams of Millbrook Resort. Millbrook Resort has received multiple awards over the years including best golf resort and best spa and was recently voted as the Leading Golf Resort in Australasia and New Zealand at the World Travel Awards.Millbrook Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, a 27 hole golf course, covered driving range, an award-winning day spa, health and fitness centre with gymnasium, 25m swimming pool, hot pools and a 140 seat conference facility.A choice of dining options from the intimate Millhouse Restaurant, to the casual Hole in One Cafe and Bar or the stunning Clubhouse venue, cater for all guest requirements.Millbrook also offers a wide range of real estate for sale all on free hold titles, from two bedroom villas to expansive family homes. Property ownership at the Resort has attracted buyers from all over the world who appreciate the ease of ownership and the lifestyle Millbrook offers.An impressive 95% of the Millbrook grounds is still open space, with walking and biking tracks for visitors and locals, and mountain bikes to hire onsite.Millbrook is a place to relax for a few days and escape the rat race, it's a place to revive the spirit amidst the mountain air and open space, it's a place for you, your friends and your family to enjoy. As one of Queenstown's best luxury hotels, Millbrook offers the ultimate in five star accommodation.Stay for an hour, a day or a lifetime.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millbrook Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.