We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millbrook Resort

Save Saved
You added Millbrook Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Arrowtown
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best service ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Although we were not renting a room directly from the golf course (a friend owns one of the cottages) we had access to all the services and i cannot speak highly enough of these services and the people who provided them! The shuttle bus is GREAT, food is amazing and the entire resort is beautiful. But the staff is what made it such a great place! I forget names but some of the staff we loved and found extremely helpful was Dave the shuttle driver, Emma at reception and (ive forgotten her name) the lovely Latvian girl in the restaurant who put up with our antics! Never had better service in my life! The hot pools are awesome as well!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Rob M,
Thank your taking the time to post. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and we have passed your kind words about the service you received to the team.
We pride ourselves on our five star levels of service and it's nice to hear from our guests personally on this. The complimentary shuttles to/from Arrowtown and Queenstown are a great service that allows our guests to stay in peace and tranquillity at the resort, whilst also being within close proximity to all the region's facilities.
We hope you'll return to enjoy Millbrook's hospitality once more.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    59
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
199
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary staying at Millbrook Resort. We were totally blown away by this place it is truely magical. The setting is so stunning and so peaceful. The rooms are so spacious and well appointed, it all felt very decadent. The staff were faultless, always willing to help and very polite. We were surprised with a bottle of comlimentary champagne in our room on the day of our anniversary - such a thoughful touch. We would definately stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Janine_CP,
Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary. We are pleased we could be a part of the celebrations and glad you enjoyed the champagne. We hope you had a wonderful time here and we thank you for taking the time to post. Millbrook is the perfect place for a celebration and we love to make all our guests feel extra special while they are here.
Hopefully we will see you again next time.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Millbrook for 4 nights. I had seen the website and being a 5 star resort I expected the place to be pretty amazing but it was so much better than what I expected. When you arrive at the resort it has that real wow factor, so peaceful and beautiful and the most amazing views of the mountains and golf courses.

The door lock to our room in the Village Inn was not working so we were given a nice bottle of Pinot Noir and upgraded to the Village Suite. We were pretty stoked with our Village Inn room and weren't too worried about the lock but the Village Suite was amazing and we really appreciated the offer. The staff were super friendly and nothing was ever too much for them.

The gym was very good and caters for everyone doing whether it be cardio or lifting weights. The hot pools outside, which are surrounded by tussock bushes were amazing and we used them every night after a day of exploring Central Otago.

We had one meal at the Hole in One Bar and Cafe, which is one of four restaurants Millbrook. I had the Fiordland Pizza and without doubt its the best I have ever tried. The pizza contained Lamb, Venison and Wild Boar sausage.

In summary what the Millbrook has to offer you simply can't get anywhere else and it was worth every cent we paid. We will definitely stay there again when we visit Queenstown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Richie_Day,
It's lovely to hear you enjoyed our slice of heaven as much as we do! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all the resort has to offer from the stunning views to the restaurants and five star service. We appreciate and value all feedback from our guests and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to the Millbrook team.
We hope to welcome you to Millbrook again soon.
Kind Regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this magical resort. The Restaurant was excellent and our room was so comfortable. The staff were so helpful and we loved the free transport to Arrowtown. The location is excellent fro skiing and sight seeing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the village Inn Room 709, lovely views of the golf course, quite close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear thomas d,
Thank you for your post. We agree that Millbrook is a magical place. As we are located within easy driving distance to the local ski fields, especially Coronet Peak, you can be on the slopes and enjoying the snow with ease. You can even see Coronet Peak from parts of Millbrook.
We hope to see you back again next winter, if not before !
Many thanks on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I cannot recommend Millbrook Resort highly enough. The tranquil and beautiful setting is sublime. The spa is wonderful - the best I have ever experienced. The Millhouse Restaurant is great - the food is delicious and exquisitely presented. You can see that the chefs really care about their craft. You can take a short walk in to Arrowtown through the Chinese Village (although they also have free courtesy vans to drop you to and from Arrowtown) for a day outing. I most recently stayed in a Villa Suite which was extremely comfortable. Just sitting on the front deck, or inside in front of the gas fire, reading a book and looking out at the mountains is a truly wonderful way of escaping from the hustle and bustle of real life for a few days. I will be back - it is my favourite place in NZ!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi Melanie B,
Thank you for your lovely words about Millbrook. It sounds like you embraced the resort's peace and tranquillity and truly relaxed during your stay, which is great to hear.
There is nothing better than relaxing on a balcony with a glass of wine, good company and a book, soaking up the stunning views.
We are so lucky to be surrounded by such amazing countryside and we know our guests love coming here to kick back and escape the stresses of everyday life.
We hope you'll be back for another city escape soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Where do I start???? This resort is just amazing. From the moment you enter the resort you feel the serenity and peacefulness, from the beautifully manicured gardens to tree lined roads.
We stayed here for 3 days in a Villa Suite. The suite is just perfect. Large rooms and bathroom. A kitchette and sitting room with fire. It was stunning.
The staff go above and beyond and are so friendly and accommadating. Nothing seems to hard.
The food is wonderful and a very large selection available for breakfast. Walking around the resort is stunning. The beautiful gardens and the snow capped mountains in the background is breath taking.
Would I stay here again???? "In a heartbeat"!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you really want a fire in your room you will need to request this as all rooms do not contain a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a village room overlooking the golf course. The room was large and comfortable, and in the cold damp evenings we enjoyed the fire (you need to specify if you want a fire, as not all rooms have them).

There are a couple of places to eat - but make sure you have a comfort break first as there are no facilities in the restaurants. And it was a bit of a walk in the pouring rain!

The pool was great (go first thing in the morning to experience it quiet), and there is a pretty well appointed gym. I wasn't in there while a class was on, but I understand it can be very crowded and noisy during classes.

Overall an enjoyable stay, but a bit let down by some of the areas where I thought the hotel/resort was a bit cheap. At that price per night, free (or even reasonably priced) internet should surely not be too much to ask for. My impression was that they assume if you can afford to stay there, you won't quibble the exhorbitant broadband fees. Check in experience was poor; some of the receptionists needs to have a bit more hospitality training.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the village rooms, ask for a golf course view and a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear SCJM,
Thank you for taking the time to post. We embrace feedback from our guests and use this to evolve our processes, define any training needs or areas for enhancement on the resort.
With regards to your comments on the price of our internet service, we have revised our charge’s recently to include 30 minutes a day free and also a weekly option for our long stay guests.
We have found our rates to be competitive and in most cases cheaper than our competition in Queenstown. We appreciate other overseas hotels and resorts do not charge directly for internet and are reviewing our business practices regarding internet on the resort. Your feedback will form a valuable part of our future debate. We thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook.. one of Queenstown's best five star hotels.Situated on the 45th parallel in the South Island of New Zealand, nestled within the Southern Alps and framed by the aptly named Remarkables Mountain Range, are the 500 acres of lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams of Millbrook Resort.Millbrook Resort has received multiple awards over the years including best golf resort and best spa and was recently voted as the Leading Golf Resort in Australasia and New Zealand at the World Travel Awards.Millbrook Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, a 27 hole golf course, covered driving range, an award-winning day spa, health and fitness centre with gymnasium, 25m swimming pool, hot pools and a 140 seat conference facility.A choice of dining options from the intimate Millhouse Restaurant, to the casual Hole in One Cafe and Bar or the stunning Clubhouse venue, cater for all guest requirements.Millbrook also offers a wide range of real estate for sale all on free hold titles, from two bedroom villas to expansive family homes. Property ownership at the Resort has attracted buyers from all over the world who appreciate the ease of ownership and the lifestyle Millbrook offers.An impressive 95% of the Millbrook grounds is still open space, with walking and biking tracks for visitors and locals, and mountain bikes to hire onsite.Millbrook is a place to relax for a few days and escape the rat race, it's a place to revive the spirit amidst the mountain air and open space, it's a place for you, your friends and your family to enjoy. As one of Queenstown's best luxury hotels, Millbrook offers the ultimate in five star accommodation.Stay for an hour, a day or a lifetime…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millbrook Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.