We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Millbrook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millbrook Resort

Save Saved
You added Millbrook Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millbrook Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Arrowtown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Magical Millbrook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at this magical resort. The Restaurant was excellent and our room was so comfortable. The staff were so helpful and we loved the free transport to Arrowtown. The location is excellent fro skiing and sight seeing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the village Inn Room 709, lovely views of the golf course, quite close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear thomas d,
Thank you for your post. We agree that Millbrook is a magical place. As we are located within easy driving distance to the local ski fields, especially Coronet Peak, you can be on the slopes and enjoying the snow with ease. You can even see Coronet Peak from parts of Millbrook.
We hope to see you back again next winter, if not before !
Many thanks on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    59
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
65
196
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I cannot recommend Millbrook Resort highly enough. The tranquil and beautiful setting is sublime. The spa is wonderful - the best I have ever experienced. The Millhouse Restaurant is great - the food is delicious and exquisitely presented. You can see that the chefs really care about their craft. You can take a short walk in to Arrowtown through the Chinese Village (although they also have free courtesy vans to drop you to and from Arrowtown) for a day outing. I most recently stayed in a Villa Suite which was extremely comfortable. Just sitting on the front deck, or inside in front of the gas fire, reading a book and looking out at the mountains is a truly wonderful way of escaping from the hustle and bustle of real life for a few days. I will be back - it is my favourite place in NZ!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi Melanie B,
Thank you for your lovely words about Millbrook. It sounds like you embraced the resort's peace and tranquillity and truly relaxed during your stay, which is great to hear.
There is nothing better than relaxing on a balcony with a glass of wine, good company and a book, soaking up the stunning views.
We are so lucky to be surrounded by such amazing countryside and we know our guests love coming here to kick back and escape the stresses of everyday life.
We hope you'll be back for another city escape soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Where do I start???? This resort is just amazing. From the moment you enter the resort you feel the serenity and peacefulness, from the beautifully manicured gardens to tree lined roads.
We stayed here for 3 days in a Villa Suite. The suite is just perfect. Large rooms and bathroom. A kitchette and sitting room with fire. It was stunning.
The staff go above and beyond and are so friendly and accommadating. Nothing seems to hard.
The food is wonderful and a very large selection available for breakfast. Walking around the resort is stunning. The beautiful gardens and the snow capped mountains in the background is breath taking.
Would I stay here again???? "In a heartbeat"!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you really want a fire in your room you will need to request this as all rooms do not contain a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a village room overlooking the golf course. The room was large and comfortable, and in the cold damp evenings we enjoyed the fire (you need to specify if you want a fire, as not all rooms have them).

There are a couple of places to eat - but make sure you have a comfort break first as there are no facilities in the restaurants. And it was a bit of a walk in the pouring rain!

The pool was great (go first thing in the morning to experience it quiet), and there is a pretty well appointed gym. I wasn't in there while a class was on, but I understand it can be very crowded and noisy during classes.

Overall an enjoyable stay, but a bit let down by some of the areas where I thought the hotel/resort was a bit cheap. At that price per night, free (or even reasonably priced) internet should surely not be too much to ask for. My impression was that they assume if you can afford to stay there, you won't quibble the exhorbitant broadband fees. Check in experience was poor; some of the receptionists needs to have a bit more hospitality training.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the village rooms, ask for a golf course view and a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear SCJM,
Thank you for taking the time to post. We embrace feedback from our guests and use this to evolve our processes, define any training needs or areas for enhancement on the resort.
With regards to your comments on the price of our internet service, we have revised our charge’s recently to include 30 minutes a day free and also a weekly option for our long stay guests.
We have found our rates to be competitive and in most cases cheaper than our competition in Queenstown. We appreciate other overseas hotels and resorts do not charge directly for internet and are reviewing our business practices regarding internet on the resort. Your feedback will form a valuable part of our future debate. We thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really enjoyed the Millbrook...the rooms, the restaurants, the golf and the people were all extremely pleasant. Even the ducks were super friendly - maybe a little too friendly! The setting is beautiful and the re-design of the old buildings is inspiring.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Zaem,
Thank you for taking the time to post. It's always nice to hear the famous Millbrook ducks are out and about making friends with our guests. They are very much part of the resort here and a delight for us to watch. We're glad you also appreciated Millbrook's history and the restoration of some of the old farming buildings. Our heritage is part of what makes Millbrook so special.
Thank you once again on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in a Villa Suite. This felt like were in our own luxurious villa on a great estate. The rooms are really huge and so beautifully designed and decorated. The staff were all outstanding, so helpful and really appeared interested yet not in our face. The layout of the whole resort is testimony to design brilliance and we are not golfers!
The breakfast in the Clubhouse was excellent. The Hole-in-One Bar was great for drinks and the menu there looked excellent. We did not get to the Millhouse for a meal but that is on our have to do next plans.
The unbelievable Central Otago scenery stands guard over the resort adding to the whole experience. You have to go there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Paul B,
Thank you for your lovely post. It sounds like you loved Millbrook's grounds and surrounds as much as we do! Our Villa Suites are a very spacious accommodation option and almost a home-away-from-home. Overlooking the fairways or the wonderful courtyard-brimming with flora and fauna-the Suites are a great option whilst staying here. Next time you should experience the fine dining at The Millhouse. The locally sourced produce is turned into the most amazing dishes by our award-winning team of chefs and it is a lovely way to spend an evening.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaikoura
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

what an lovely place, everything was just right! all staff very helpful in everyway, the room was just lovely, we only had one night..we could of stayed for weeks!!! we also dinner at the lovely restaurant (millhouse) which was outstanding! after dinner we wanted after dinner drink in the room, and staff were happy to drop this off! big thanks for an lovely stay!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillbrookResort, Public Relations Manager at Millbrook Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear greenbone,
Thank you for your post. We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your great stay at Millbrook and we're delighted to hear you had a wonderful time.
Many thanks on behalf of the owners and team at Millbrook Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millbrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Resort

Address: Malaghans Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millbrook Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millbrook.. one of Queenstown's best five star hotels.Situated on the 45th parallel in the South Island of New Zealand, nestled within the Southern Alps and framed by the aptly named Remarkables Mountain Range, are the 500 acres of lush green fairways, rolling hills and gentle babbling streams of Millbrook Resort.Millbrook Resort has received multiple awards over the years including best golf resort and best spa and was recently voted as the Leading Golf Resort in Australasia and New Zealand at the World Travel Awards.Millbrook Resort encompasses a 175 room five star hotel, a 27 hole golf course, covered driving range, an award-winning day spa, health and fitness centre with gymnasium, 25m swimming pool, hot pools and a 140 seat conference facility.A choice of dining options from the intimate Millhouse Restaurant, to the casual Hole in One Cafe and Bar or the stunning Clubhouse venue, cater for all guest requirements.Millbrook also offers a wide range of real estate for sale all on free hold titles, from two bedroom villas to expansive family homes. Property ownership at the Resort has attracted buyers from all over the world who appreciate the ease of ownership and the lifestyle Millbrook offers.An impressive 95% of the Millbrook grounds is still open space, with walking and biking tracks for visitors and locals, and mountain bikes to hire onsite.Millbrook is a place to relax for a few days and escape the rat race, it's a place to revive the spirit amidst the mountain air and open space, it's a place for you, your friends and your family to enjoy. As one of Queenstown's best luxury hotels, Millbrook offers the ultimate in five star accommodation.Stay for an hour, a day or a lifetime…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Millbrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millbrook Hotel Arrowtown
Millbrook Resort Arrowtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millbrook Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.