We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in one cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Cottage Cafe

Walnut Cottage Cafe
265 Lake Hayes Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
(03) 442 1090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 32 restaurants in Arrowtown
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All in one cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Such a very good place to visit. Good food, good ambience, good service, good food, good food, good food. Yeah, I love the food. Try shrimp pancake (i think that's the name). It's one of my favorite ;) and oh, shop some cute stuffs there to complete your day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    56
    16
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic food and relaxing english garden style resto-10 out of 10!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I and my friend enjoyed eating at Walnut cottage several times when I was in Queenstown in end of March to early April 2013. It was really really amazing, relaxing, beautiful place to eat (for breakfast, brunch, lunch and afternoon tea.. but I forgot whether they're open or not for dinner)..

The food and beverage there were sooo delicious and in a very generous portions.. ( my favorite is the savoury pancakes for breakfast).. also the coffee, cappucino,.. yummmm.... and the prices are all affordable..value for money... moreover... we will have the bonus of beautiful english garden style that the cafe has.. so you'll experience eating outside the cafe.. in the middle of the gorgeous garden ..(or you can eat inside as well, but of course I prefer outside, enjoying the garden) also.. very friendly waiters.. everything's just perfect at Walnut cottage....completing my unforgettable moments in Queenstown.. :)

Will definitely go back here if I have a chance to visit Queenstown again someday.. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect 10!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

went here with some friends on a nice sunny afternoon. the garden looked so pretty & tidy, although it was autumn, leaves on the ground were very minimum! we ordered cheese burger, eggs on toast & pancakes cause they do all day breakfast! how sweet is that? they all very delicious & generous in portion. after that we had the carrot cake & some coffees, wow! to die for! this place is awesome we ended up stayed for 2 hours cause its just so cozy & relaxing. they also have a gift shop & sells really neat stuff. cant wait to come back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, NZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect country cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Easy to miss but make the effort to find it. Beautiful setting surrounded by gardens and so relaxing even with the children who were preoccupied rummaging around. The food and coffee were great too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great coffee, lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Just called in one morning, the stove was nice and hot. My scone was huge, I saved half till later. All the slices were big and very reasonably priced. Too cold for the garden. Would certainly call in agan

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Cottage Cafe also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Walnut Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Cottage Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.