We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best small cafe ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Cottage Cafe

Walnut Cottage Cafe
265 Lake Hayes Road, Arrowtown 9371, New Zealand
(03) 442 1090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“best small cafe ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Once again this café in Arrowtown has come through.
Great atmosphere,great food and great food.
We had breakfast here and just loved it.
Will definitely come again,rapidly becoming our favourite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northwold, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stopped by again this year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We enjoyed coffee and snacks last year so I stopped by while cycling back from Arrowtown having rode the Queenstown trail. Friendly service, great cakes and drinks, and a shady garden to sit in.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wonderful way to have a lazy lunch. Inside seating or out in the lovely garden setting. Great choice of food from hot meals to very nice cabinet fare. I had a cheese and bacon scone wow what a size but the taste was even more magnificent. The others had the homemade venison pies which they really enjoyed also. Pricing I thought value for money definatly applied here.Will be go back again ..... you bet. The enterance over the humped bridge with the waterfall a lovely start to the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location God honest food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

One of the finest breakfast and lunch joints on Queenstown. First of all excellent location just beautiful. Food excellent and great value. Coffee's excellent. This is definitely a locals secret hope the tourists get to know about it too. Keep it up. Keep it simple well done.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, North Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed it so much the first time we went back again. Service very good and the cakes and tea were amazing. It is set in a lovely little garden , well worth a visit

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Cottage Cafe also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Walnut Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Cottage Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.