We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bread” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe

Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe
Centennial Ave, Arrowtown, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Housed in a historic cottage in pictuesque Arrowtown, the Cafe serves as a bakery and coffee shop serving savoury and sweet pies, sandwiches and hot dishes. It is licensed serving local Central Otago wines.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We walked past the cafe and were drawn in by the smell of fresh baking and then the sight of the bread in the window. This is bread like you would find in France and we walked down the street breaking it into pieces, still warm and with a beautiful aroma. The sticky bun was a close second.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Arrowtown Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Everything about Provisions is quality from the friendly staff to the sumptuous food and efficient servicing of our rather large group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sticky buns are a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My family waited patiently in our motor home while my sister-in-law and I ran the length of town just to grab a sticky bun, it was worth it! The breads are also very tasty and made our boring meal of tinned soup delicious. If we had more time in Arrowtown we would have sampled more of the scrumptious looking produce. The staff were lovely. The cafe was very crowded on the three occasions we visited with young children needing to be stepped over to reach the counter, with children of my own, I thought was nice to see families so relaxed, however others may have found this to be an issue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sticky buns to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Recommended by our hosts at The Arrow Private Hotel. Thanks, Tim. Great good, good strong coffee. One sticky bun was not enough... gluttony is good when on holidays.

Very child, baby, pram friendly. Welcoming, competent, staff (all girl team).

Will be back again today (it's worth drive from Queenstown).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The sweets are sweeeeeet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The baked goods were pretty darn good, we were looking for a nice place to have some sweets and coffee after lunch and after reading the little sign saying that they had the best coffee in Arrowtown, we couldn't say no, We had a slice of the date loaf, a square of the custard squares, and decided to adopt a sweet bun on the way out! Our stomach and tastebuds were very grateful!! The coffee was better than any other coffee I've had so far in NZ, so that has got to mean something!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provisions of Arrowtown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.