We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time to have a great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Postmaster's Residence

Postmaster's Residence
54 Buckingham Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
03-442 0991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Step back in time and enjoy a slice of Arrowtown’s rich heritage. The carefully preserved historic cottage, once home to the town’s postmasters, has been a main street feature since the 1860s and is now a popular restaurant surrounded by beautiful gardens. Enjoy the beauty of each season at Postmasters, whether it's soaking up the sun whilst sitting out on the verandah with a refreshing drink or inside by the open fires with a homemade mulled wine in the colder months. The seasonal menu features fresh flavours, top quality local produce, and Central Otago wines which showcase the best of this famous wine-making region.  Plenty of gluten-free and vegetarian options available as well as a dedicated kids’ menu.Open daily for breakfast, morning & afternoon tea, lunch and dinner.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth the time to have a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife had her birthday breakfast here. Food was great and the service even better. Staff were full of information and could not do more for us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear RobinMc882,

Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate it. Thank you for choosing Postmasters to celebrate your birthday breakfast...if only we had known we could have put a candle in your toast!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and if you visit the area again be sure to stop by and say hi.

Warm regards,
Postmasters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    50
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had the postmaster special. Nice place. Must come back for another meal sometime. Decor is very nice as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear sting1606,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast and the atmosphere. Our Summer menu launches on Dec 1st so there will be a new Special Delivery for you to try soon but of course we are also open for lunch and dinner so any time of day you are passing through Arrowtown we can make sure you don't go hungry!

Warm regards,
Postmasters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Was down with work for a trip to Queenstown & we ended up going to Arrowtown to kill some time & sight-see before leaving. We walked past this lovely little place & were drawn to the board that said ‘Fish & Chips’ as the lunch special that day. We got a table outside, the weather was perfect & the atmosphere was just so relaxing. The staff were all friendly & very attentive. The food was exceptional & everyone from our group was more than satisfied. We were offered drinks & water was bought to the table & topped up throughout our visit here. The inside was nice but outside was popular due to the great sunny weather. I really rate this place, it was exceptional in every way & not too expensive which was a nice bonus. I hope the staff see this so they know how much they are appreciated. 10/10 – thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear GandTHamilton,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our "Fush 'n' Chups" are proving to be a big hit with customers so it's great to hear you enjoyed them too. The verandah is fantastic when the sun is out, but now with the wisteria in full bloom and the garden overflowing with colour, it's a truly beautiful place to sit and soak up the atmosphere of Arrowtown. The staff see all the reviews and were so pleased and flattered about yours, they said your group were a pleasure to look after so we have a win/win result!

Thanks again!
Postmasters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

great atmosphere, great taste of food and coffee, and friendly staff. I had lunch and coffee here few times when i was living in Queenstown. This is the best cafe ever ive visited. I always brought my friends for lunch. Food quarity is great and very tasty. Coffee in a beautiful atmosphere was alway good time. I left my home Queenstown now living in aussie so I miss this cafe and i miss their lunch menu and coffee now. I would say thanks to this cafe for making my time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear kody11,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visits with us and hope if you get back to Queenstown you can pop by and say hi.

We wish you all the best with your new life in OZ.

Warm regards,
Postmasters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Lovely place with a nice atmosphere. Our 1 year old got to sit in a massive cushy highchair!! Best restaurant one iv seen yet. Food was lovely and they even brought out a coloring and activity book for our 2.5 year old.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear andrea18130,

Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it. Having a 2 year old ourselves, we know how important it is to keep little hands busy! He is also the inspiration behind our kids menu, having healthier dishes on offer is important to us and also we know bribery works, hence all kids who clear their plate get a little ice-cream treat!

Warm regards,
Postmasters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmaster's Residence also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Postmaster's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postmaster's Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.