We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Park (if Queenstown it too much for you)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arrowtown Born of Gold Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Arrowtown Born of Gold Holiday Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrowtown Born of Gold Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   12 Centennial Avenue, Arrowtown, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Studio for 4 only $99!!
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Park (if Queenstown it too much for you)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very clean, attractive holiday park away from the bustle of Queenstown but close enough to get there for the action. Modern clean ablution block, ten minute walk to Arrowtown shops etc, fifteen minutes to Queenstown, The only down side for families might be the lack of a good playground. There is one but very mediocre. Plenty of grass for ball games.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our family stayed in one of the Tourist Flats which looked lovely from the outside, but were very basic inside. Unit not particularly clean with thick dust on top of microwave and dirty tissues under the bed. The hot plate did not work properly and the microwave had nothing to cook in. Ended up going over to the camp kitchen to finish cooking each nights tea. Probably okay if you only want to reheat food but not for cooking meal for a family. Asked twice if they could look at hot plate but nothing done. Beds not particluarly comfortable. TV was old, very small and only got two channels. Didnt expect unit to be luxury but better than we got.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in one of the studios which was absolutely fine - nothing luxurious but good value for money and within an easy 10 minute walk of town. The park is surrounded by gorgeous mountain views. The whole park was very well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We had to pay for the showers which was disappointing because of the cost of the camp ground to start with, however the showers and toilets were very modern and clean.

The old man in the office was a bit grumpy though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

When visiting South Island in New Zealand, one surely wants to visit the area of Queenstown.
Yet, Queenstown for us too "mundane" and too much "adrenalin" -oriented.
To stay, this was our 3rd time Arrowtown, a very nice little town with quite some history, and very agreeable. Born of Gold Holiday Park was already known to us, and we gladly returned this year, to the park quite close to the center of town.
Reception staff is helpfull, and gives a good explanation of the HP and the surroundings.
The park is very spacy, and camper sites are well organized. Amenities are very new and well equipped. The only drawback is the price of hot water in the showers, compared to other holiday parks. Yet, one gets a lot of comfort in the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed overnight in this caravan park in our camper van.
That was fantastic. The grounds were well kept, and facilities modern and well equipped. Compared to other places we stayed at during our tour, this camping ground was very well priced. Showers need to be paid for, but even with NZD1, the time you get is way enough.
Finally, the set up and the views from this place are truly amazing with the mountains surrounding the area.
Next time we come to Queenstown we we'll again stay there but in a cabin this time as they did look very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

It depends on what u look for in a holiday park. This one looks modern and clean with a very nice playground. I didn't seem to enjoy it there for some reasons. First, I didn't like he way the staff attended to me. Seemed too superficial, plastered smile and fake. Next, paid a high price compared to other places and still needed to pay for shower? I particularly dislike it when I need to put coins in showers unless the original price was dirt cheap. Otherwise, just add the whole cost at front desk. If u r looking for a view here, there is none. They have bright lights on at night, good and also bad for sleep. Suggest they install dimmer lights. Not near town area as well. U'd
Need to drive a few kms to main shops and cafes. So I didn't think it's worth staying here after all cos I wasn't looking for what they had to offer. But clean and nice design of amenity block.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arrowtown Born of Gold Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowtown Born of Gold Holiday Park

Address: 12 Centennial Avenue, Arrowtown, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arrowtown Born of Gold Holiday Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arrowtown Born of Gold Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrowtown Born of Gold Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.