We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Hotel

New Orleans Hotel
27 Buckingham Street, Arrowtown, New Zealand
034421748
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in beautiful Arrowtown on famous Buckingham Street, The New Orleans (New O, as the locals call it) is one of the last historical running hotels in New Zealand. We pride ourselves on providing simple, honest old fashioned hospitality. The hotel has 9 well appointed rooms all featuring free wifi, New furniture,Linen and Decor (updated 2012). Our award winning Bistro and Bar features local seafood,an extensive wine list, NZ Craft Beer and much, much more. We are open 7 days from 8am, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinne.Recently (2013) we have extended our premises to Include Little Micky Finns, Arrowtown's very own Irish and Gourmet Pizza Bar. Featuring genuine Emerald Isle Memorabilia and boasting the best Whiskey collection in town.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Efficient and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Nicely cooked breakfast - just delicious. We arrived to "The New Orleans Hotel" on a chilly morning in February (yes, on a freezing summer morning). The service was outstanding - very efficient and friendly. We sat there in front of the open fireplace, read some newspapers and watched TV. We had some Eggs Benedict with mushrooms, smoked salmon and spinach. Very tasty. Coffee and hot chocolates were very good. Chatting to the staff was easy and pleasant. We liked it there so much so we went to the New Orleans again on our Easter holiday in April. And again, we just loved that cosy place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    28
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pub grub at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here over Easter and ate here 3 out 4 nights.
In a town that has lots of eateries, thats saying something.
I had roast Pork twice!, Chower another and Blue Cod the last night.
The portions were big, the service was relaxed and laid back.
Just what you would expect when paying pub prices.
Jugs of Ale and an extensive wine list were also on offer.
Its a really cool pub with lots of noise, banter and locals.
Next time we are in town we know where we will eat and sleep again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Atmosphere, but TERRIBLE service! Food was average.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Went there for lunch with my family known the good experience from a few years back but was very disappointed about the poor service by the blonde English waitress. She needs to take a new career path. NOT GOOD FOR TOURISTS!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Would give Sydney pubs a run for their money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch on what looked like a fairly quiet day but the food was absolutely amazing!!!! For such simple dishes of fish & chips and a chicken pasta it was delish! Well presented with love, decently priced compared to the rest of NZ. I'm a hotel/pub manager in Sydney, and if this pub moved over it would be destined for success in the big city!!! Well done guys

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great pub good food and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The open fireplaces and mulled wine are great. I enjoyed sitting to have dinner by the fire and the menu is outstanding - try the seafood bisque

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Hotel also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.