We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glenorchy and Paradise Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours

Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours
4 Merioneth Street, Arrowtown 9351, New Zealand
64-3-4411144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 things to do in Arrowtown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Explorer is locally-owned business, focusing on quality, service and flexibility. Join our experienced local guides on 4WD scenic half day tour, guided walk, or overnight camping adventure into the high country areas of Skippers Canyon, Macetown, Arrowtown or Glenorchy. Travel along roads carved by hand from the steep canyon walls, drive into remote valleys through narrow gorges and view beautiful lakes to discover the history of these once bustling gold rush regions of old. Discover the history, explore the heritage and be amazed by the breath taking scenery. Visit our website for details and how to book on our specific day tours.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Glenorchy and Paradise Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had an awesome trip to Glenorchy and Paradise Valley with Adin which was filled with plenty of stunning photo opportunities, interesting stories and plenty of humour. It was a wonderful trip to see a part of New Zealand that we hadn't seen before, it was simply breathtaking. We highly recommend Southern Explorer for excellent service - this is a trip not to be missed. Viv

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Viv, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to meet you and share a bit of our local knowledge. Its always fantastic to see kiwis exploring their own back yard. If you where blown away by the scenery, imagine how blown away people are when they visit from overseas and dont live in this beautiful country! I look forward to showing you around some other great spots in the future. Kind regards Adin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best 4x4 by Far - as Land Rover say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visiting from UK, I'm not one for all the tourist hype, but Aidin & his trusty Defender 110 will not disappoint if you like 'off roading', wading rivers, a bit of 4x4 'rufty tufty', good midday picnic grub, in a mix with plenty of Kiwi humour. An excellent & unhurried trip up to Macetown, with lots of information en route, with plenty of stops & time to look around.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks Rob for the great reveiw! Look forward to sharing another adventure with you soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

A group of four amateur prospectors were lured into an adventure to Macetown, with the promise of panning for gold, and we weren't disappointed. Our day began early, no wind and very few clouds. We were met at the Post Office and within minutes, we were up to the axles in water. Our guide was extremely knowledgable about his home town and its surrounds. It was a fantastic morning and the home made pikelets hit the spot. We stopped to enjoy the ever changing scenery of the gorge at several locations and, after walking through the history of Macetown, settled down to a bit of panning. Great fun and some yellow souvenirs to take home. We highly recommend Souther Explorer for their courtesy and expertise.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As they say, gold is where you find it. Just lucky we know where to look! All best with future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Skippers Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As tourists in our own country a trip into Skippers Canyon was at the top of our list during our recent stay in Arrowtown. Adin didn't disappoint us with his Kiwi humor and knowledge of the area, the feshly cooked pikelets are nice surprise.
We have showed the video of our trip to other North Islanders who have never experienced the stunning beauty of Central Otago.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hey guys, it was great to meet you and spend some time getting to know you. Glad you enjoyed the tour, but don't tell everyone about the freshly cooked pikelets! Otherwise everyone will be wanting some!. Send some more of those north islanders down so we can show them some great southern hospitality! All the best, Adin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

On the recommendation of Tourist Information Centre went on the Glenorchy Wilderness Tour. Of all the tours we did in NZ (which were many and varied) this was by far the most expensive. Content was not particularly exciting, could have done most of it in the car. Very disappointing and extemely poor value for money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks David for your review. Its great to get your feed back. I have started a process to review this tour, its contents and commentary, and to ensure tourist information offices are representing this product correctly.

The Glenorchy Wilderness Tour offers options to do a wilderness walk (average fitness required) or view Lord of the Rings Filming locations. From our discussions in the vehicle it was apparent that neither of these activities was of high interest to either of you. Unless clients are interested in spectacular mountain and lake views, hiking in a 400 year old native forest or visiting Lord of the Rings and Hobbit film locations, I feel they will not get the most from this tour.

It is important all clients are informed about the product they are booking, and have an interest in its contents. I would also advise choosing products within your budget.

After chatting with you during your tour I believe both of you would have enjoyed our Skippers Canyon Explored tour more. Had you booked direct, you would have talked with me, the business owner and driver and I would have been able to ensure you where doing the right tour for you.

Thank you for your comment on price. I have already started to survey clients on our prices relevant to the services we offer. We are among the cheapest of the tours that go to Glenorchy. $320 for a 4 ½ hour private tour for two people, covering over 150 kilometres I thought is fairly reasonable. Had you driven yourself, you would have missed out on 15 years of local knowledge, dedicated commentary and ensuring you where taken to the best spots given the weather on any particular day or time of year. You seemed to at least enjoy the freshly cooked pikelets in the wilderness of Mt Aspiring National Park!

Mr and Mrs Parksen, thank you again for your comments, please help us improve this product by contacting us directly with any further suggestions or ideas how we can exceed our clients expectations every time.

Kind regards

Adin May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.