We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time and experience a small piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Cottage Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Settlers Cottage Motel to your Saves list
Settlers Cottage Motel
22 Hertford St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Wellington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Step back in time and experience a small piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Had the priviledge to stay at Settlers Cottage Motel in Arrowtown recently. We chose a studio unit (accommodation) on a recent trip of the lower South Island which included Invercargill, Arrowtown, Moeraki and Dunedin. Chose Arrowtown and in particular, Settlers Cottage Motel, to experience a step- back-in-time accommodation treat. The quaint, little studio room was ideal as our base while we explored the local area, which included panning for gold in the river below Arrowtown. The friendly motel management and lovely, clean, nicely appointed room was perfect.
If we go back to Arrowtown one day I hope we can again enjoy the local hospitality of the Settlers Cottage Motel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    17
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perigueux
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We have stayed at Settlers Cottage Motel on a number of occasions, the first visit was in 2006 and we have used this Motel on our trips to the Queenstown area ever since. Pete and Michelle are absolutely great and have become real friends. Their standards are very high and we would definitely recommend the accommodation to friends and relatives. The location is quiet and just a short walk from the centre of historic Arrowtown. A place not to be missed out on anyone's tour of South Island, New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantirna
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage in the motel grounds.
The cottage had been tastefully redecorated a few years ago. The cottage was dark inside- not what we expected from the photos on the website which showed large, bright windows.
There was a large old (very old) microvwave which we wouldn't use due to its age and which took up half of the bench space. There was nowhere to put our food so we had to put it on the floor. The fridge was tiny and the freezer door was missing - the freezer was all iced up.
There wasn't a fan and you couldn't open the windows at night due to moths invading the living space so the unit was stuffy when it was warm.
The toilet splashed water up onto the seat and floor when it was flushed and the toilet window was clear with no curtain and you could see the neighbours next door (the unit faced their living area).
The hand towels were tattered and frayed, more like rags.
The teatowels were often stained.
The motel website states there is a laundry. This consists of a very old washing machine that they charge $4 per wash for (no choice of cycle and cold only).The top of the agaitator fell off into the washing each time I used it. The most we payed anywhere else was $2- and all good machines!
There were no taps or trough in the laundry. The laundry was used by the owners to do washing and to store cleaning products.
On a more positive note, the lounge suite was large and comfortable and the beds were comfortable also.
The motel is in a great location, a couple of minutes walk to the town centre.
Arrowtown is very quiet at night and we enjoyed many walks.
Please note the motels cancellation policy very carefully.
We would have moved to another motel but couldn't.
Whilst our unit was dark and not what we expected, the smaller units do look better and brighter.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
You know how you meet some people in life and their cup is always half empty instead of half full, well these people comments below are exactly these type of people. If you have something you want fixed have the courage to ask for it instead of running home and hiding behind your computer.

Lets deal with comments, the cottages are regulary and tastefully upgraded, in fact about 18 months prior to their stay, while the microwave may be older it works perfectly and certainly does not take up half the bench.

The comments about the toilet window are just strange, the bottom of the toilet window is at 160cm in side the cottage or just over 2 meters on the outside, so to put news paper over it to stop people over 2 m tall looking in did give our cleaners a good laugh!!


Your comments about having to put stuff on the floor is very wrong, you brought the out door furniture into the cottage to put all your food on and didn't bother to clean it off first as we had to vacum around the mess it made. And don't forget the extra coffee table you asked for and we gave you.

The washing machine is a large 9 kilo washer and about two years old, it is situated in a cute stand alone laundry and yes you do need $2 coins to wash and dry your cloths.

Life is about attitude, have a positive attitude and you will find that everything is ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We didn't actually stay at the Settler's Cottage Motel, but at one of the separate cottages nearby. The owner was friendly and was nice enough to show us how to get to Manse cottage from the motel even though we arrived late (around 8pm). The cottage actually sits next to a home, but the owner of the home was friendly and willing to help with anything we needed. The location was great, a short 10 min walk to downtown. Along the way, we found a trail that took us by the old Chinese settlement and the river. Just beautiful!
The room was great for just the two of us! Separate bedroom, fully stocked kitchen, modern bathroom, dvd's, books, maps, washing machine...they thought of everything!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Address: 22 Hertford St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Cottage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.