We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Cottage Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Settlers Cottage Motel to your Saves list
Settlers Cottage Motel
22 Hertford St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rangiora, New Zealand
1 review
“Could not be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Second time we have stayed here, and will not be the last. We used this motel as a base for our daughters wedding. Away from the bustle and parking problems of Queenstown, but near enough to visit. A short stroll to the facilities in Arrowtown (especially the Fork and Tap.) We had a great 4 days, even the rain and snow could not spoil things. Top class facility at a good price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
45
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I found this to be a 'home away from home.' A great location to ski from, site see, walks, easy access to other areas. Superb mountain views and very restful. An ideal location for singles, couples, and families. Karen W.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

we have just returned home from our stay here.this motel is amazing olde world charm in the heart of arrowtown.forget the big brand names around the lakes district,settlers cottage has them shot to bits.super clean,spacious unit.hosts are down to earth people{even for an ocker}nothing was a problem,happy to oblige,have a yarn & offer local knowledge.We had a bucket list trip which was so smooth,even had an extremely late checkout time for which my offer for payment was declined.I cant say enough about our time here.best motel we have ever stayed at,a big fat thumbs up from the bottom of our hearts.totally recommend to all,you wont regret it.
warren & sue,nelson

Room Tip: all rooms are quite due to the location,any room we would happily have again
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Warren and Sue, boy I am not sure how to reply to such a great review, we are so pleased that everything went so well for you both and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We work hard at providing a great product and experience for our guests, I don't let all of them know I am an Ocker!! but i guess they will all know now..... Thank you and all the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great motel to stay in when visiting Arrowtown. You step back in time to and ld fasioned well equipped cottage. Suits the surrounding old style arrowtown which you can walk to. The host was friendly and very informaive. Not far from Queenstown and Coronet Peak. Well worth staying here instead of Queenstown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments it is always really appreciated. Regards,

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Settlers Cottage Motel provided a perfect base to explore the gorgeous colours of Autumn in Arrowtown. The motel is really in keeping with the style of the town and the room whilst a bit worn around the edges is clean and comfortable and we loved it! We arrived a bit early to a closed reception but a nice note pointing us in the right direction meant we could ditch our bags and make the most of our day. We then checked in with Pete later who was really friendly and interesting to talk to. Having researched extensively before booking it seems like this motel is the best value in Arrowtown, yes you can pay 3 times the amount for " a boutique hotel/b&b" but just save your money and stay here for an authentic boutique experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orewa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pretty old worldly cottages. Very nice setting. Would be beautiful in the summer to sit outside under the whisteria. An easy walk to town. Plenty of room in the one bedroom units. Studios quite adequate though. Limited cooking but okay for breakfasts.

Room Tip: Studios adequate. One bedrooms units quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your great commenst they are appreciated..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As a regular visitor to NZ on business, I always make a point of staying with Pete & Michelle, I love the cottages and friendly atmosphere, there is something about sitting on the veranda under the Wisteria and lavender bush's with a bowl of Pete’s home-made Pumpkin soup, overlooking the the beautiful cottage gardens. I always look forward to coming back.. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks Col for once again taking the time to put something on Trip Advisor, it is always a pleasure to have you stay, maybe i should learn how to make a different style of soup.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Address: 22 Hertford St, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Cottage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.