We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good French cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonjour

Bonjour
25 Ramshaw Lane, Arrowtown, New Zealand
0064 3 4098946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 33 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good French cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Food and wine very good, service as well. Very good fondue and French cheese! Desserts quite disappointing though. We've been over Easter and was a bit crowded.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    70
    14
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great little cafe tucked away in beautiful arrow town. Everything on the menu is French and it's all good!
Friendly and efficient staff
A must.....The French toast and crepes.
Oh and they offer the largest baby chino I have ever seen so the kids will be happy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stopped into Bonjour for lunch when visiting Arrowtown. greeted with a warm (French) welcome, and were seated immediately. Ordered Crepes and Croque Monsieur, and they were delicious. good price, nice and friendly and cute atmosphere

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great visit spoiled by tart”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having enjoyed a sunny afternoon wandering the historic town of Arrowtown, lunch at Bonjour of soup and bread was a little disappointing. My wife and I ordered two bowls of soup with bread which took over half an hour to arrive on a day and at a time where the restaurant was half full. Never mind, we would order the lemon tart (a favorite dessert) and finish on a high. Sadly the tart was anything but tart and the filling had been overcooked resulting in curdling rather than a smooth creamy texture.

Still we had a wonderful day in Arrowtown and I am sure that Bonjour was just having an off day.....but please look into the tart recipe and watch the cooking time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stopped in here for some dessert and we wish we had of chose here for lunch instead! The crepes were delicious! It is a little on the pricey side though, two crepes and two coffees were over $40.

It's also pretty cool to hear the staff and some of the regular customers talk French to each other.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonjour also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Bonjour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonjour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.