We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts, comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Villa to your Saves list
The Old Villa
13 Anglesea Street, Arrowtown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Alexandra, New Zealand
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Our stay at the Old Villa was very enjoyable. Our room was spacious, very clean and nicely furnished. Booking is not automatic, there is no online booking system in place but the hosts are very good at answering e-mails.

Check in was easy, we were given a choice of rooms. The hosts are extremely nice and friendly but not too much in your face. Perfect balance really.

The breakfasts are very nice with cereals and fruit to start followed by a fresh cooked breakfast.

We will definitely be back to the Old Villa!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

This place is hidden gem, and we're so glad we stayed here. It was wonderful meeting June and Arch, who were the most warm and caring hosts we met during our stay in NZ. June's breakfast was the best we had in NZ, everything made from fresh vegetables plucked from her garden. The house is also close to some amazing restaurants, and a wonderful one-night stop while visiting Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Our 3 nights at the Old Villa in Arowtown were wonderful. June and Arch made us feel right at home greeting us warmly when we first arrived and when we returned at the end of each day. The Old Villa is quiet and relaxing yet only a few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants of this unique, lovely little town. Breakfasts were great and the room was comfortable. Thanks to June and Arch, the Old Villa seemed like a home away from home.
Ron and Marvel, Victoria, Canada

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting the picturesque little township of Arrowtown. The town is a popular day trip from Queenstown but staying there enabled us to see it at a more relaxed pace.
Our room (for three people) was beautifully decorated and furnished as was the whole property.
Our hosts June and Archie made us feel more like friends than paying guests throughout our stay, starting with a welcome drink on arrival.

The highlight though has to be the breakfast. Just fantastic. June, you are an angel.

I picked this accommodation because of the Tripadvisor reviews which put the Old Villa at No. 1 for B&B's in Arrowtown. The reviews were right. In fact you would struggle to get better for the price anywhere, not just Arrowtown.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We had a two night stay at the Old Villa and really enjoyed our breakfasts. The owners, Arch and June, were very helpful. We borrowed their gold panning equipment, something I've always wanted to try, had no success but had fun! Charming bedroom with a patio leading to the garden. Biscuits and tea making facilities. Easy walk to the town centre and many restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

A warm welcome, nice bed and delicious self made breakfast. We had a great time, very hospitable people with also providing fit-for-purpose advise on activities for us to undertake.
We would strongly recommend the Old Villa to others.

Julia & Friso

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

After much adventure, we booked 3 nights at the wonderful Old Villa. Arch & June are warm, gracious hosts who welcomed us on arrival with tea & yummy cake in their beautiful gardens. Our room was tastefully decorated (the copper on the toilet is fantastic!), with beautiful crockery & facilities to make our own tea and coffee & a refrigerator to store our cheeses & wines bought around the area. The French doors in our room opened to a little porch overlooking their stunning gardens. Arch & June looked after us as if we were old friends & were generous with their hospitality, yet ensuring we had our privacy. June's breakfasts are nothing short of sensational - fresh fruit, homemade jams, pancakes one morning & fabulous mouse traps (yum!), yoghurt, endless coffee or tea, homemade muesli or would you like some eggs & bacon? Breakfast became THE meal of the day for us! Arch even woke up dreadfully early to ensure we had breakfast one morning before we went on a rafting trip....so generous & hospitable! He ran out of the house with bananas for us for the trip to the river! So lovely. We have no hesitation in recommending wholeheartedly the Old Villa to anyone wishing to stay in the Arrowtown/Queenstown area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Villa

Address: 13 Anglesea Street, Arrowtown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.