We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a more than reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotrod Diner

Hotrod Diner
79-84 High Street, Northfleet DA11 9HJ, England
01474 249205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Northfleet
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Good food at a more than reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

As of last night I've now been to hotrods 4 times (To attempt another fantastic eating challenge) and everything's been perfect on each occasion. All of the staff are very polite and helpful, the restaurant is absolutely spotless and the food is great as well as being very good value. I've always booked a table in advance as it does get very busy at times.
Chances are I'll be returning next Wednesday for another challenge!
Well done hotrods diner :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    10
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great night!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited hot rod diner on saturday and had a great night! The staff were friendly and attentive even though they were really busy. I was told by a waitress that there was a fairly big party in so there may be a little wait but we didnt wait long at all! The food was great and the burgers are huge! I had a burger with pulled pork in it which was really tasty but i couldnt finish it all! and my friend had the ribs which she said were delicious.

I would like to say after reading the previous review which i assume was the party our waitress was refering to. I would like to say that my experience was completely different and the only thing not available on the menu was the lasagne, so I think they may have been exaggerating. I think its a shame to give a new business such a hard time when the area is in desperate need for a place like this. I will certainly be visiting again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a pretty similar experience to the 11s leaving party.... We booked the Hot Rod Diner for 30 people on a Saturday at 6.30 well in advance. Around 5 weeks. It was meant to be an enjoyable experience for all after a summer course of martial arts. People had travelled from all over the country and somewhere was needed close to the training hall. Lots of kids were involved so the Diner seemed like a great option.

From the second we walked in the door it was nothing short of a real bad migraine!!

Apparently they are changing the menu over so pretty much anything on the menu they didn't have!! You had the choice of a burger or hot dog basically. When ordered the burgers were so overdone they actually had a coating of black crunchy crust. They did have a tuna and cheese sandwitch they were able to offer to, one of the group ordered this and when that arrived dear God it was stone cold and actually appeared to be pre cooked!!!! The Bread was so hard some serious damage could have been done with it. The cheese was melted and like rubber where it had clearly been left a good while. Needless to say it was unedable and the poor man ended up sharing his kids burnt burger!!

One family waited 45 mins for their dinner. Not that they were looking particularly forward to it after what they had seen just come out. We had to remind the staff of what they ordered 45 mins ago so clearly they had been forgotten about. Another 2 of the tables orders were all wrong. And the kids mini hotdogs were a frozen sausage and around that a stale peice of French baguette. Despite them advertising on the menu that the bread they use is sourced from local bakery's everyday. Yes that's right, from the Aldi down the road in the specials section it seems!!

Hopefully their home made desserts were going to be better. They have on offer pecan pie, key lime pie, home made waffles or pancakes, cheese cake, apple pie and an assortment of ice creams. Out of that choice when ordering they had NO key lime pie, NO pecan pie, 3 bits of cheese cake left, the homemade waffles and pancakes and ONLY vanilla ice cream was available. Pancakes and waffles it is then, best we save the 3 bits of cheesecake for the other 30 in the group. Despite this meal for 30 was pre booked well in advance so you would have thought they would be more prepared with the quantities of food!!

When desserts came out there was no way on this earth they were home made. (By Aldi in their industrial site maybe!?) Both waffles and pancakes were out of a packet and stone cold when served. Someone actually questioned if they were home made or out of a packet. They were honest enough at least to admit they were indeed shop brought. But the reason is again because they are changing the menu. What this has to do with making a pancake consisting of milk, eggs and flour is beyond me!?!?

And to top this entire experience off as soon as the people who organised the event in the booth ( the big chair that others have spoke about on here) dessert plates were taken away and then the manager promptly came over to them to say "sorry I don't do this often, but how long do you think you'll be as I have other people that can sit there!!!!" Which to my amusement the organiser replied with something along the lines of " are you being serious? There's a group of 30 here that are still eating and you want us to move? Thats ok then, We will go now, say bye to the others which are still eating and leave them to it whilst we wait outside for them!!!" This swiftly lead her on to complain about the entire experience for all. To be fair she wasn't going to say anything or kick up a fuss until this point as she didn't want to ruin it for all any more that what it already had been. But I think this was one step to far and she let rip very rightly and politely.

Very embarrassing experience for everyone involved and I felt sorry for the organisers as they felt the need to keep apologising to all for the entire experience..... And this wasnt everything mentioned, i could go on for a good whole longer. Needless to say the Hot Rod Diner will never be entered again. Save your money and go to Iceland or aldi to get your American diner experience instead. Infact you could probably cook it better than what they did to!! They should read the cooking instructions more clearly!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent visit to the Hotrod Diner Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

After my first visit to the Hotrod Diner restaurant, I am happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised! The waitresses were welcoming and polite, the service and food were of a very high standard and I was greatly impressed.
I look forward to visiting again soon:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
“Fantastic Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

FANTASTIC atmosphere, FANTASTIC music playing from the original jukebox, FANTASTIC outfits for the waitress, FANTASTIC choice of food

We went to the diner 15th July, the kids had a great time , food was FANTASTIC and really enjoyed the strawberry shakes

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotrod Diner also viewed

 

Been to Hotrod Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotrod Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.