We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horton Plains National Park

Horton Plains National Park
Ohiya, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Ohiya
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Along with plenty of wildlife, a cliff known as World's End is a top attraction at this park.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A-Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went there expecting some amount of trekking, waterfall and wildlife. The plains are not really plains per say, they are quite undulated and the path that you walk on goes through forests, plains, and literally rocky roads. However the "road" comes to an amazing halt at the end only to witness a magnificent / breathtaking view of what is called the worlds end. It is recommended to get there early - we started from Nuwara Eliya at 5:40 and got to the gate of the Horton Plains at 7:00. However, I wish we had gotten there sooner, the place opens up at 6:00 AM. We did get there in time (before the mist / clouds covered the view) but getting more time at the world's end would have been better. Also, the walk back would not have been as hot, if we had left sooner. Also there are quite a few pits stops that you can make - mini world's end, Baker's fall -- which is absolutely amazing -- we took the steep path to the bottom of the waterfall which was totally worth it.

Note: The early mornings are cold / really cold so it is recommended to wear warm cloths and carry a hat for sun protection. Your walk back might be hot and sunny, so be sure to have sun screen on as well. There is only one place to eat at the start of the trek so considering your trip will be at least for 4-5 hours, its recommended to have your hotel give you some take away b'fast. Also no restrooms along the way so be prepared for that as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    96
    40
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Magnificent Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I start by saying that to fully appreciate the scenery it is imperative that you arrive early in the morning before the mist rolls in. The trek is relatively easy but there are parts where you have to climb over large boulders and tree roots which could be a problem for some people. It is quite cold at the start so dress appropriately with layers that can be removed as the day/you warm up.The scenery is truly breathtaking ranging from forest to plains and grasslands. Well worth visiting to appreciate the natural beauty offered.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouloc, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Every day in Sri Lanka is a highlight, but this was superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We started at 6 am from Nuwara Eliya and had a magic drive up to the Park, through forests and highland farms, little villages and rainforest. We did the 9 km trek in the park and found it all astoundingly beautiful. The scenery changes every five minutes from high grassland to cloudforest to waterfalls to lakes and of course there is the magnificent World's End - a mystical place, made exquisite by the clouds rolling in and up the escarpment, sometimes masking and sometimes revealing what lies far, far below. What REALLY made the day was our guide, so I can really recommend using one - even if it's a bit more expensive. Our guide was extremely well informed, very sharp eyed and great fun to be with. Without him it would have been a great walk in a lovely place, but with him we saw rare birds, exotic lizards, a huge range of flowers and plants native to Sri Lanka and the elusive bear monkeys!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the effort and time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was a bumpy winding 30 km road trip from our hotel in Nuwara Eliya to Horton Plains, and it took us 2 1/2 hours. The trail itself was marked as "easy", but it was filled with rocks and boulders which made it difficult footing. I honestly don't know how some of the older people I saw on the trail made it. When we finally reached World's End, the clouds were too thick to see anything at all. I would say it wasn't worth the drive and hike. We saw much prettier sites along the road without hazarding this long and uncomfortable trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Expensive & busy but worth it if you havnt seen anything similar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is imperative that you get here early morning or the mist comes in. Expect to be here with lots of other people and to queue to get your tickets. The view from the Worlds End is good but nothing spectacular if you've seen mountain views before - we found views from the Knuckles range more impressive. The walk to get there is lovely and we had the luck to see Bear monkeys on the way despite large groups of shouting tourists walking past.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horton Plains National Park also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Horton Plains National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horton Plains National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.