We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every day in Sri Lanka is a highlight, but this was superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horton Plains National Park

Horton Plains National Park
Ohiya, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ohiya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Along with plenty of wildlife, a cliff known as World's End is a top attraction at this park.
Bouloc, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Every day in Sri Lanka is a highlight, but this was superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We started at 6 am from Nuwara Eliya and had a magic drive up to the Park, through forests and highland farms, little villages and rainforest. We did the 9 km trek in the park and found it all astoundingly beautiful. The scenery changes every five minutes from high grassland to cloudforest to waterfalls to lakes and of course there is the magnificent World's End - a mystical place, made exquisite by the clouds rolling in and up the escarpment, sometimes masking and sometimes revealing what lies far, far below. What REALLY made the day was our guide, so I can really recommend using one - even if it's a bit more expensive. Our guide was extremely well informed, very sharp eyed and great fun to be with. Without him it would have been a great walk in a lovely place, but with him we saw rare birds, exotic lizards, a huge range of flowers and plants native to Sri Lanka and the elusive bear monkeys!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    111
    47
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the effort and time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

It was a bumpy winding 30 km road trip from our hotel in Nuwara Eliya to Horton Plains, and it took us 2 1/2 hours. The trail itself was marked as "easy", but it was filled with rocks and boulders which made it difficult footing. I honestly don't know how some of the older people I saw on the trail made it. When we finally reached World's End, the clouds were too thick to see anything at all. I would say it wasn't worth the drive and hike. We saw much prettier sites along the road without hazarding this long and uncomfortable trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Expensive & busy but worth it if you havnt seen anything similar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is imperative that you get here early morning or the mist comes in. Expect to be here with lots of other people and to queue to get your tickets. The view from the Worlds End is good but nothing spectacular if you've seen mountain views before - we found views from the Knuckles range more impressive. The walk to get there is lovely and we had the luck to see Bear monkeys on the way despite large groups of shouting tourists walking past.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As national parks go it is okay. You pretty much just follow a path that is a little broken in some places but it is quite clear where you need to go, you do not need a guide. You can take a detor to a waterfall (steep unpaved path). World's End is a nice view of the valley below with a sheer drop down about 800 metres. Sri Lanka isn't under the cosh of heath & safety so they don't put up barriers etc, just assume that you are not an idiot and will be sensible. I would keep a close eye on kids.

Overall it is just too expensive for a 3-4 hour walk. Go early morning but if the weather is not great just don't bother as without the views, I just don't see the point.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Highlight of my Sri Lanka Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was a real investment to travel all the way to Nuwara Eliya from Galle given the short duration we were in SL. But as strongly suggested by my friend that Horton Plain is a don't miss we went there and it paid off pretty well!

We stayed at Nuwara Eliya in order to reach Horton plains early in the morning. The way to plains was really cloudy and all the way we thought that rains will play a spoil sport during our trek.

But luck was on our side that day. We reached there and it was a clear sky. We started out 9 Km trek at around 10 am and the beautiful landscape at the start was hinting that something really interesting is lying ahead (Carry appropriate number of water bottles with you).
The major attractions in the trek are World's end and Bakers fall. But this trek brings "journey is better than destination" to life. The change of landscape after every 5 mins is just so Wow. World's end is a steep cliff with cloud forest. Just sit there and clouds will keep coming onto you. Heavenly!!!
I would leave the rest for you to explore. Just go there and thank me later ;)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horton Plains National Park also viewed

Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Horton Plains National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horton Plains National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.