We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive walk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horton Plains National Park

Horton Plains National Park
Ohiya, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Ohiya
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Along with plenty of wildlife, a cliff known as World's End is a top attraction at this park.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As national parks go it is okay. You pretty much just follow a path that is a little broken in some places but it is quite clear where you need to go, you do not need a guide. You can take a detor to a waterfall (steep unpaved path). World's End is a nice view of the valley below with a sheer drop down about 800 metres. Sri Lanka isn't under the cosh of heath & safety so they don't put up barriers etc, just assume that you are not an idiot and will be sensible. I would keep a close eye on kids.

Overall it is just too expensive for a 3-4 hour walk. Go early morning but if the weather is not great just don't bother as without the views, I just don't see the point.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    96
    40
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Highlight of my Sri Lanka Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was a real investment to travel all the way to Nuwara Eliya from Galle given the short duration we were in SL. But as strongly suggested by my friend that Horton Plain is a don't miss we went there and it paid off pretty well!

We stayed at Nuwara Eliya in order to reach Horton plains early in the morning. The way to plains was really cloudy and all the way we thought that rains will play a spoil sport during our trek.

But luck was on our side that day. We reached there and it was a clear sky. We started out 9 Km trek at around 10 am and the beautiful landscape at the start was hinting that something really interesting is lying ahead (Carry appropriate number of water bottles with you).
The major attractions in the trek are World's end and Bakers fall. But this trek brings "journey is better than destination" to life. The change of landscape after every 5 mins is just so Wow. World's end is a steep cliff with cloud forest. Just sit there and clouds will keep coming onto you. Heavenly!!!
I would leave the rest for you to explore. Just go there and thank me later ;)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A 10km trek in one of the finest locations I have ever been to. Though the entry fee was quite steep, the surroundings and the breathtaking views more than make up for it. We started off the trek with World's end which is a cliff location 3.5kms into it. Clouds in between mountains and the beauty of it all. Then we headed off to Baker's fall which was a waterfall after another 3 kms. Brilliant. It was the highlight of my Sri Lanka trip and a definite recommendation to everyone.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Not worth 5600rs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Horton plains and worlds end is just average. If you want good scenery just drive your car from Ella or haputale to nuwara eliya, much better. Way overpriced, not worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Not much wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

All we saw were birds and some lizards. Did hear a barking deer. Took us 90 minutes to do the trai loop and the falls. Both World's Ends were fogged in. One of the few places in Sri Lanka that you can hike in an arid/open environment, but limited and crowded tralis.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horton Plains National Park also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Horton Plains National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horton Plains National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.