We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bluestone Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Bluestone Motor Inn to your Saves list
Bluestone Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1 Paterson Street, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Darwin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It'll do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself unlucky enough to be stuck in tennant creek for the night, which most people do, this place is alright. The rooms are really old and a bit funky smelling and you only get a couple of fuzzy channels on it, and at 130 a night it's massively overpriced, but when your options are lacking, it wasn't too bad a place to rest your head. Decent pool, pretty good restaurant, could do with a bit more security though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
23
28
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
darwin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We decided to stay at this Motor Inn because it was away from the main area of Tennant Creek. our check in was done very effeciently by a lovely friendly young lady. (Thought $155 a night was a bit much to pay, but did not want to spend time looking elsewhere.) She pointed out on a diagram where our room was. My 11 yr old was straight into the pool! The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The beds and pillows were more comfortable than at other places I have stayed. The airconditioning worked well, as did the little fridge in the room. We had a meal at The restaurant. the food was very nice and the young lady from reception was our obliging table waitress. Unfortunately, it took about 45 mins after ordering food that we received it. But it was good. The size of the grilled fish meal was small and expensive because of the small size. The spag bol my son had, and my chicken were lovely and reasonable size for price.

Room Tip: We had a family delux room on right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we we stayed for one night, our large room was ok, but looked tierd and therefore items like the capet did not look very clean, it needed a make over, the staff were pleasant, the breakfast was one of the worst on our OZ trip

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, 1 week apart. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Best part was the restaurant, both nights all meals were excellent especially for the kids, who are fussy eaters.
Well worth the stay, just for the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

my sister an i were traveling around Oz by train but had to take the bus on one section Mt Isa to Tennant Creek. Got in at 3am to the scarey bus station and Scotty from Bluestone was there to pick us up!

Motel room was perfectly comfortable and pool and restaurant great.

We were leaving on the Ghan the next night at 11pm. The train station at Tennant Creek is 5km south of town - we should've known there was an issue when the waitress at the Bluestone Motel who had been in TC for 8 months said she didn't know there was a train station ! And Scottie had never been there either! So off into the darkness about 10.15pm and eventually take a turnoff toward some orange lights - we wander along a dirt track and see a light ahead on the right - go over and there's a rail track by a small compound in darkness with a toilet in and some seats and all locked up with a huge high iron fence around. I go around the front and i can see through the bars that there's a sign across the front of the loo saying Welcome to Tennant Creek - ok so this must be the 'station'. No sign of life. We would've hated to be out there on our own and were yet again very grateful to Scottie. There's a very long freight train parked on the other line - we can't see either end. I get out the tickets to make sure I have the right day and time. Scottie rings a mate who assures us this is the station and the train will come along just before 11pm. About 10 to 11 we see a pinprick of light way in the distance coming down the track. It takes a long time to arrive and then the massive light and HUGE train is right upon us - Scottie has parked his car with the lights on right beside the track and the train driver whistles and we wave - it just roars on - its very very long with freight and car carriages and then we see that is slowing TG and that it says the Ghan on the side and we see some people carriages - on and on it goes - it was really something to be standing that close to something so large and moving smoothly and fast. I can't describe the sound. Rushing roaring sucking. Then we see a person looking out and gradually the train pulls up to a stop - the entrance is way above my head and the woman puts down a ladder runs down - addresses us by name - throws all our gear up to someone else and pushes us up - we barely had time to hug Scottie and we were in and the train was underway. She had a two way radio with the driver and was telling him exactly where to stop for us!

Room Tip: go for the yurts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolangatta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

we stayed there for just one night,,,, but we lost a huge part of our life. Some local lowlife stole so much out of our car. Dont stay in TENNANT CREEK, just keep on driving through. The sercurity camarers aren't located to see the man that walk in when he wanted,,, than just walked out with all our stuff. This is amazing that Australian laws let this happen and that law abibing people get the short end of the straw.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester N.S.W.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After reading the reviews we picked the Bluestone as it had a restaurant and most people seemed to think it was average or middle of the road. We had a yurt type room and are not sure what everyone is complaining about. It was neat and tidy, everything worked fine. Yes, the bathroom had calcium build- up but this was explained by a note in the bathroom and the bathroom was clean, areas of Australia have this problem with water and I suppose if you have not come across it before it could look a bit scary. The restaurant food was wonderful and the meals were huge. The two irish girls were very nice and friendly and service was very good. We would have no trouble staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluestone Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone Motor Inn

Address: 1 Paterson Street, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluestone Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluestone Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone Hotel Tennant Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluestone Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.