We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Eldorado Motor Inn to your Saves list
Eldorado Motor Inn
195 Patterson Street | PO Box 65, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0861, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Darwin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Did the job.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to Tennant Creek for a cycling race, Eldorado was about a 400m walk from the bus stop and center of town. It was clean and tidy and I found the managment relaxed and easy to deal with. If your expecting Five star and a cheap deal in Tennant Creek then you need to have another think about why your going there. Being so remote expect to pay a bit more for a bit less. Overall fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    26
    11
    19
See reviews for
10
30
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Skanderborg, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This should be one of the best places in Tennant Creek. If this is corrrect then find another town to stay in. The motel is very noisy and you dont feel safe at all. Our room had a big flat screen TV and so had the neighbour-rooms. We could hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms. Our neighbour was also yelling and shouting until 1.30 in the night. The reception didnt want to do anything about the problem. It was also very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had 4 adults and 5 juniors on a tennis weekend to Mount Isa for the weekend. We had 2 rooms, arrived late and left early. The proprietor was very accomodating, rooms were clean and linen fine. Price was right which we appreciated and they opened breakfast for us early so that we could get on the road early.

Only complaint was that room 4 had bedbugs and 2 of us suffered badly and driving the bus the next day was a bit hard whilst itching constantly.

Apart from that it was great.

Room Tip: Avoid the larger dorm type rooms like room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

For the price you get a clean room with comfortable beds. However the large flat screen TV with almost non-existent reception... could hire a DVD from reception ... Need a list in the room folder. Electrical cords everywhere .... Need to tie up with cable ties. Desk area was cluttered with electric cords .... need to tie with cable ties and remove one of the single beds and repace with a small table and move the chairs across to here. Outside the rooms were uninviting tables and chairs as they were covered in THICK red dust ... appeared to not have been washed in a long time as it did NOT come in one day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way from alice to Darwin, the motel is located just on the outskirts of the main drag heading north. The rooms are large but basic, the facilities are dated and looking a little worse for wear, however it is clean & comfortable & the service is good. While there has been an attempt to update the place, flat screen tv, some updated furniture it does not hide the tired, old & noisy air conditioner, the old bathroom with crack in the sink etc etc. At $130 a night I have stayed in better equipped facilities but this out the back of no where.
Although on the main drag, there is not much traffic noise but we could hear the people next door snoring. There is a general feeling of uneasiness about this place but that seems to be the case everywhere in Tennant creek, this may be unjustified but Tennant creek does make you feel that way.
If you have to stay in Tennant creek then I would recommend this place, its more 3 then 3.5 star, if you are used to 5 star luxury, keep on driving but it's a long drive north or south to the next motel. Would I stay here again? if I was back up this way again, yes I would.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stopped at Eldorado Motel on our ride to Darwin and on our return journey heading back to Sydney. Unfortunately, we had a bike accident and my husband broke his ankle. When we arrived at the motel Jason did not hesitate to take us up to the hospital so my husband could be checked out and as the result of the accident was a broken ankle we had to arrange for another days accommodation which was no trouble for Jason and Rebecca. We then had to arrange to get to Alice Springs for a flight home and that mean't catching a coach at 3.15am in the morning. Jason had no hesitation if offering to take us up to the depot as my husband was on crutches and was up at 2.30am to give us a lift to the bus depot for 2.50am. We cannot thank Jason and Rebecca enough for everything they did. This was service above and beyond any we have received at any motel we have stayed at when we have travelled around Australia on our bike. Again thank you both so much your assistance and help it was brilliant and very much appreciated - Roger & Judy Sant

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in this hell hole for one night.. the room was filthy the shower unusable as was the sink, the bed sheet did not cover the matress and there was used ear-buds in the bedside table, and the price was an absolute rip-off..We left at 5am unshowered prepared to wait untill Allice for a decent room. Our advice is keep driving no matter how tired you are

Room Tip: Go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldorado Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Motor Inn

Address: 195 Patterson Street | PO Box 65, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0861, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 11 sprawling acres, the Eldorado Motor Inn offers 78 airconditioned rooms. We have rooms to accomodate 1 person through to 5 people all ensuited with colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and ironing facilities. Wireless internet is also available to most rooms. With a huge 100 seat licensed restaurant and alfresco area, you are sure to enjoy a fantastic meal here. At the Eldorado Motor Inn, we endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Eldorado Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Tennant Creek
Eldorado Motel Tennant Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.