We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had everything. Perfect for one or a few nights!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OutBack Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
OutBack Caravan Park
Save
You added OutBack Caravan Park to your Saves list
71 Peko Road, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had everything. Perfect for one or a few nights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stopped in after driving from Darwin. Had everything including kitchen amenities and a small shop. Fuel was overpriced but we enjoyed our stay and were impressed with the location and privacy. Staff were very friendly and the dogs gave it a homely feel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here on recommendation and it was worth it. Staff were lovely and helpful. Pool was freezing though - it was the end of the day.
The toilets and showers are clean and comfortable although a little older.
The cost is reasonable and fine for one night. It was the best price on all our travels.
It was quiet at night and we had a good sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Incredible preservation of what must be one of the oldest cabins in the NT! Admittedly we chose the standard cabin and indeed it was standard (for the 70's I think). That said it did keep us highly amused as we kept chuckling at the room we were in - we'd never seen so many shades of brown and orange in one place.

Mgt / staff were friendly & helpful, cabin was well equipped, quiet & clean and place felt safe(ish). The standard cabin would have been fine for us if 20% cheaper but price point for quality (ie. age of it) felt off relative to the other places we stayed in the NT, but Tennant Creek not renowned for great accommodation so not too many other options.

Tennant Creek definitely quirky..

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed twice at this park. First time in a cabin but on this trip we had our tent. Though a bit dusty the area for our tent was flat and powered. The amenities block was clean with good showers. There were clean BBQ facilities and camp kitchen. The staff were fantastic and lent us some knives and forks. We would stay again at this friendly and clean park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Large caravan park, far enough out of town to not have any traffic noise. Drive through sites are available, these are a bit narrower than other sites. Clean amenities, friendly staff. Good place to stay. Good clean pool. We were here for 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a large professional standard park. We had a big grassy site near covered picnic seating and camp kitchen. Staff are very helpful. There is a good shop and petrol available on site. It is a bit out of town so fairly quiet at night. The pool is nice and cold. Laundry and bathroom facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we stayed in this Caravan Park for one night a few days ago, and were very surprised....I don't wish to be unkind about the town, but it's not really where you'd go for a holiday.....but, having said that, the park was a delight....dry and dusty, yes, but what would you expect in central Australia.....the sites were drive through, but really only a little over the width of the van, so if you did want to stay longer an annex, or even an awning would be difficult. We had a nice shady spot, there was some grass near the basic, but neat and tidy camp kitchen, and the bathroom facilities, while a bit dated, were lovely and clean and well maintained....much nicer than some of the so-called resorts that we've stayed in recently......not only did we have a courteous and professional welcome, but also were offered some seniors discount, and directed to where we would get seniors discount on our fuel....an altogether delightful experience....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to OutBack Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OutBack Caravan Park

Address: 71 Peko Road, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully presented park was established in 1981, and now boasts glorious shady trees with spacious drive-through sites, a choice of grassed camping areas and extensive amenities. A Pool provides welcome relief in the middle of the Territory's Golden Heart. Our cheerful team and commitment to improvements, service and the environment now offers a range of 4 Green Star facilities. Choose from our broad range of accommodation options and spend a few days enjoying the local attractions, relax in our licensed garden cafe and enjoy the camp fire entertainment with Jimmy Hooker's humorous bush poetry and local bush tucker tasting during the High Season only. All needs are provided for, from powered and unpowered shaded and grassy camping and long drive through caravan sites to air-conditioned En-suite cabins with full kitchen facilities, wireless internet, Laundromat, camp kitchen, dump point, fuel, Mini-mart and gas. Free 30min wifi when you check in! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OutBack Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.