We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, on a par with Uluru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Tjuta (The Olgas)

Kata Tjuta (The Olgas)
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Northern Territory, Australia
+61 8 8938 1120
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kata Tjuta (The Olgas) like an insider
Small Group
$95*
and up
Kata Tjuta Small Group Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kata Tjuta is Pitjantjatjara meaning ‘many heads’. This spectacular landform lies about 50 kilometres drive from Uluru and Yulara. This area is an Anangu men’s site and is sacred under Tjukurpa(traditional law). Everyone is welcome and encouraged to visit this place but as with all areas of the park, please stay on the marked tracks.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Superb, on a par with Uluru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Kata Tjuta is a superb experience! It appears from a distance to have so much more character than Uluru (however up close Uluru is equally rugged). You can do the walk up the canyon which takes around 30 mins and gives some great views of the rock. The valley of the winds walk (around 2 hours) will close after 11am if the temperature is over 36 degrees. Almost every day in summer therefore it is closed so go early. One big piece of advice, pick up a fly net before you venture out. Although don't be too paranoid about getting bitten, they are mostly just flies but hundreds of them. Entry to the park is $25 for three days (only option) and includes Uluru.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    178
    27
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southshields
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth seeing if you are in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you made the huge, and in my opinion unnecessary, effort to travel to this area you might as well see this place
Probably more impressive and incalculably less photographed than Uluru. The amount of photographing of Uluru is mind blowing- a great waste of effort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Probably even more interesting than Uluru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Rocks are fantastic - the flies are infuriating - take the fly nets - they may look silly but at least you are not continuously swallowing flies!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Interesting walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Kata Tjuta once en route to Uluru (it is about 50 km away) which we visited several times. Doing it this way avoided backtracking several kms.

We did the three hours or so Valley of the Winds walk which got a bit monotonous at the end doing it anti-clockwise. The rock formations are interesting but for me Kata Tjuta somehow lacked the energy of Uluru - perhaps a needless comparison. We went part of the way on the Waipa Gorge walk but as we were running out of time we turned back. In hindsight we should have allowed more time at Kata Tjuta to have really appreciated it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Better than Uluru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Not what we expected, but we believed Kata Tjuta to be far better than Uluru. The changing structures, shapes, the sun and shadow, the beautiful walks and the sheer height just takes your breathe away.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kata Tjuta (The Olgas) also viewed

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 

Been to Kata Tjuta (The Olgas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Tjuta (The Olgas), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.