We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 weeks in Oz....Uluru was my number one highlight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uluru

Uluru
Red Centre Way, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Northern Territory, Australia (Formerly Ayers Rock)
08-8956-1128
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$714*
and up
3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via...
Type: Geologic Formations, National Parks, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Activities: Biking, Watching sunrise/sunset, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Palya! Welcome to Anangu land. Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park is Aboriginal land. It is jointly managed by its traditional owners Anangu and Parks Australia. The park is recognised by UNESCO as a World Heritage site for its natural and cultural values. The spectacular rock formations and surrounding sand plains provide rare habitats for an incredible variety of plants and animals. Anangu invite you to visit Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park to learn more about their land, beliefs and culture.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“4 weeks in Oz....Uluru was my number one highlight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Awesome place. Organised trips to Ulhuru were very expensive approx 150 dollars each. We hired a car for 66dollars for 1 day and visited Ulhuru at sunrise, cultural centre & went on organised walk with nation park ranger which was free. It costs 25 dollars each to go into park. For party of 4, car hire and entry to park cost 166 dollars. We hired car online at sails in desert, our hotel, and picked it up in square by hotels. Worth doing ulhuru independently -much cheaper.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    233
    67
    18
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“True Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Loved visting here and actually seeing Ayers rock for my own eyes is amazing. I loved being in central Australia to see all the red earth and the local people really gives you the comfort that this is the heart of the country. It can get very hot here, our car temperature guage got up to 49 degrees centegrade. I would reccomend visiting here but make sure you drink plenty of water and wear a hat. You will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful formations. Great to see it from all angles, Amazing at how different times of the day how the colours can change.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You haven"'t seen Australia if you haven't seen this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's remote, it's hot, it's expensive to come here, but you have to see this if you visit Australia. The sight is majestic and impressive and you will immediately understand, why this is a sacred place to the Aborigines. It's not just a rock, it's THE rock, I haven't seen anything alike in the world. I would also recommend that you take some time to explore Uluru, and Kata Tjuta as well. I found it a much better experience to stay for two days, rent a car and explore by my own then to make a day trip from Alice Springs. You can stop whenever you want, find your own special place (and return to it a couple of times), take photos of wild life, and it's probably not much more expensive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Everything i thought it would be and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Yes its a rock but the best looking rock at sunrise i have ever seen. Steeped in local indigenous culture that you only get to learn a little about although it is a priviledge none the less. It truly is a spectacular piece of country. We were there Jan 2013 and the place was surpisingly a mix of lush green and red desert. There is a sensitive nature to this place from the view of the local people and thankfully all involved seem to starting to respect that after some mistakes in the past. If you visit you will see that climbing Uluru is frowned upon for a number of reasons and that is something that should be respected and i dont feel that much is missed by not climbing. You really have to experience it yourself to appreciate this unusual place. Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uluru also viewed

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Red Centre, Northern Territory
 

Been to Uluru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uluru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.