We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Op” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uluru Camel Tours

Uluru Camel Tours
Ayers Rock Resort, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Northern Territory, Australia
+61 8 8956 3333
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$66*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Muli-award winning Uluru Camel Tours is an owner operated tour business based in the heart of Australia, the Red Centre. We are the largest Camel farm in the Southern Hemisphere, home to 60 beautiful camels. We offer a camel experience's that can't be beaten anywhere in Australia, with stunning views of World Heritage listed Uluru and Kata Tjuta as our backdrop. Our farm is situated at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort and is open all year round. Entry is FREE . We have a fully working saddlery, detailed history display outlining the 130 year history of camels in Australia and the tough Afghan Cameleers who played a vital role in opening up the outback. See our camel race track, home of the Uluru Camel Cup and trophies won from all over Australia. Meet our outback Cameleers and hear their stories. Also offered to visitors at the farm is a free BBQ area with picnic seating for up to 100 visitors. You'll leave with lifelong memories of Uluru and the Outback. If you are looking for the ultimate way to experience this beautiful desert region that no one else can offer come and visit us when you're in the Red Centre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Picture Op”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The sunrise over Uluru on camel should be on everyone's bucket list. Yes, their goal is to teach you about camels and sell you pictures but what's wrong with that. The pictures were fantastic and I was smiling the whole time. The bus picks you up early, they assign you one of these gentle giants and off you go for some beautiful desert views. The pace is slow (guides walk along beside you and talk about these fascinating animals). Most of them were former racing camels but they told us about a few that were caught out in the wild and domesticated. We had a wonderful time. The staff was super nice and knowledgable. You could tell they enjoyed their work. A must do!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    34
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have such a good morning at the camel farm. The weather was cold but that was ok, we felt so safe and happy the whole time. we learnt a lot about camels and the environment too. Thanks Hanna for the fantastic tour. My mum and I had a great time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must Do In Ayers Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I loved this experience. My boyfriend and I did the sunrise camel ride and it was great. The guide was extremely knowledgable about camels and answered all of our questions. He was also very professional having the camels already prepared when he brought us to the farm. He also took a lot of time to take pictures for everyone on the camels. Riding the camels was not only relaxing, but actually quite comfortable. There was great scenery while we were out, as well. It was also an amazing touch that they had beer bread and drinks for us when we were finished with the ride. Not only was it great tasting, but just something extra to show they put effort into their business.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Camel ride sunset was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this sunset camel ride. Cameleers were friendly, knowledgable and fun, and the camels were great: have a new respect for them. Views of Uluru and kata juta were better than at the Sounds of Silence dinner. A little bit of history, a little bit of Aussie humour and a sensational sunset. Put it on the go list when at Uluru.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Camel ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I had the most comfortable and safe camel ride at sunset this afternoon. Mark ensured we were all safe on our camels!Brent provided us with extensive knowledge and friendly chat through our ride! We had perfect sunset photos with Uluru in the background.
I absolutely highly recommend it.
Any bags were left in the locked up shop!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uluru Camel Tours also viewed

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 
Red Centre, Northern Territory
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 

Been to Uluru Camel Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uluru Camel Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.