We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katherine Motel

Save Saved
You added Katherine Motel to your Saves list
Katherine Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Katherine Motel
3 Giles Street, Katherine, Northern Territory 0851, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Katherine
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night in May.
Amused to be checked in by a young boy, around 10 years old - new what he was doing, even managed the credit card machine!
Room was clean and comfortable.
We ate at RJ's (the restaurant attached) and the food was reasonably priced and nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
15
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Had pleasure of staying one night at Katherine Motel in standard room. Clean, comfortable and very quiet (despite pubs nearby) and reasonably priced. Close to everything in town. The owner was quite laid back (true to Katherine style) and very hospitable. Great no-mess, no fuss place to stay for an overnighter in the area! Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minyerri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My new favourite motel in Katherine. I stay in the Delux rooms and I am never disappointed. The rooms are clean, comfortable, no bugs and reasonably priced. Management are friendly with a great sense of humour.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the delux rooms - they are all as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I only stayed here for one night but would recommend it. I stayed in a superior room. The room was basic but clean, and the bed was comfy with soft pillows. The staff were friendly at check in and very informative. The restaurant attached was modern with a good menu and friendly staff. They didn't do breakfast but there was a coffee shop near by.
The hotel is right in the middle of town but the noise level was minimal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I have stayed at the Katherine Motel for 6 x 2 week stints over the past year or so. Mark and Fiona made it easier for me to be away from home, they are down to earth, friendly people who know how to provide a high standard of service with a low level of fuss.
Fiona is a great chef. RJ's bar and restaurant are probably the best place in town to eat and drink. Thanks guys x e

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatherineMotel, Owner at Katherine Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We thank everyone who has written reviews on our motel - thank you - however we have now sold motel and will move on 24th October - your feed back was very valuable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Would stay again as very friendly staff and a good basic motel handy to everything including the Gorge road.
Don't miss the museum (history fascinating with a cute cafe attached !), we spent 2 hours there for $5.Great early history well recorded - fascinating.
Breakfast sunrise cruise on Gorge great, bats at start a shocker, 1000,s of the smelly buggars,but the rest fantastic.
School of the Air, a terrific hour tour and experience, Govt money well spent (for once).
We found the local Aboriginal people pretty sad after such a pleasant experience in Jabiru/Kakadu -

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Katherine Motel is a pretty average looking motel but our room was scrupulously clean and comfortable with plenty of space to spread ourselves out. The bathrooms have been recently updated and work well - shower over bath - lots of space to put things. It's very central which has its advantages and disadvantages. I think usually it would be an advantage but unfortunately woolies were doing noisy night paving on their adjacent car park - no fault of the motel.
The reason this is worth the stay however are the owners - larconic, funny and friendly host and his wife is a truly wonderful cook that served us fresh home cooked food - beautifully done. The owners are what set this accommodation apart.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatherineMotel, Owner at Katherine Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you - it makes all the hard work worthwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Katherine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katherine Motel

Address: 3 Giles Street, Katherine, Northern Territory 0851, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Katherine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katherine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.