We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is a dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Katherine River Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Katherine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katherine River Lodge Motel
Save
You added Katherine River Lodge Motel to your Saves list
50 Giles St, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Katherine, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place is a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Staying here right now. At $175 a night (admittedly high season) it is joke and a rip-off. The rooms look like you'd expect to find in a 1970s Soviet resort. Run down and in dire need of a good clean. Barely any lights on the outside, so it was difficult to even find the room in the dark.
I would heck out tomorrow if I could find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
8
10
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this sad place in April. New owners have taken over and are in full swing to upgrade services. The staff were helpful and friendly, but the rooms and facilities were tired and not really functioning well. There is a new restaurant opening shortly, and much work and maintenance needed in rooms and grounds, and the new owners are working full steam to get it up to scratch. Hopefully a new broom will sweep clean, and make this a place worth visiting.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

web site not true, all aspects not available, the only thing working is the community bar- be -que, doors not closing, value for money not even close,,,poor housekeeping if they bother to even refresh, paid good money for not much,,,,,,,

Room Tip: do not even consider until new owners get there act together, no restaurant, no reception, you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here with wife and Brother in Law, The place is up for sale. Our rooms were extremely basic, our ceiling fan didn't work , the air con wasn't very good and it so the room was extremely hot. This is probably a reasonable hotel for Katherine, but if it was anywhere else it would be pulled down and tarmaced over.

Restaurant was empty, expensive and just that little bit pretentious.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms are up to much
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I come from france and i stayed one week with my girlfriend at katherine river lodge motel to have a good rest and visiting the katherine gorge river during our trip around amazing australia.it was a real pleasure to stay in this motel...really good deal for the price and clean room full equiped with large bathroom,terrace and flat tv.The staff is so helpfully,profesional,and really nice peoples.this motel is little bit old but our bedroom was fresh painting and looking new! So cool to stay at the swimming pool area when it's too hot outside to go visiting some places.So good remember for us,thanks a lot to Goeff,Juddy,Elizabeth and Dan the great cooker chief!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I spent few days in this cool motel and I can say it: THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY IN KATHERINE!
Firstly, the room are perfect, there is everything you need! Rooms are clean, room service everyday done by a very nice and international staff! In this motel you always meet nice people! The garden is so nice with all these flowers and trees! One of my favorite place was the swimming pool area!
Katherine is a very beautiful town with so much to do! The katherine river lodge motel Staff can help you tu book a tour or to give you advice! Very helpful and friendly!
Every evenings we used to eat at the restaurant: the food is so yummyyyyy! and the service perfect! Almost everyday the american chef cooks a special!
So this place which is so close to the Gorge (awesome place), managed by a lovely couple Judy and Jeff, wtih nice room is for sure the best place to stay in Katherine.
I'm thinking to prepare another trip in NT with some friends and we will spend a night or more in the KATHERINE RIVER LODGE MOTEL.
Thanks again for everything...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a great base to explore Katherine and the surrounding areas. The motel is close to the Katherine Gorge, or a short walk into town. The rooms are the most reasonable prices I could find in Katherine! My room had all the amenities needed like a tea kettle, toaster, etc! The restaurant was open for dinner and had delicious food.... Definitely recommend the coconut barramundi! The banana spring rolls are a great treat as well. A good place for families, couples, or singles!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katherine River Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katherine River Lodge Motel

Address: 50 Giles St, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katherine River Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.