We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins are quite dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knotts Crossing Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Knotts Crossing Resort to your Saves list
Knotts Crossing Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cnr Giles & Cameron Street | P.O.Box 966, Katherine, Northern Territory 0851, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Wyndham, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cabins are quite dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed one night on way to Darwin. We stayed in the cabins which are quite a good concept. $85 a night which is very reasonable. Grounds are quite impressive and peaceful and pools are clean and well shaded. We had a look at a motel style room and they are very nice. Unfortunately the cabins need a lot of work. The walls are filthy and the lino floors aren't any better. he laminex is peeling on the cupboards and draws.The bed is well over due to be replaced. If these were cleaned up I'm sure that they could charge a bit more and get return custom. I don't think we would stay again, not in a cabin anyway

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaPace, Manager at Knotts Crossing Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am glad you found the grounds impressive and peaceful and the pools well cared for.

I have brought your complaint regarding the walls and lino of the Cabins to the attention of our Housekeeping Department and a cleaning programme has been put in place. New Beds, TV's and other items required for the Resort are now being ordered.

I hope you choose to stay with us again at Knotts Crossing Resort.

Kind regards,
Joanna Pace
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    73
    91
    39
    19
See reviews for
50
80
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Staying here on Business and rooms very clean. Liking the foxtel and the guys sorted me out with an iPhone charger as a bit of extra service. Beautiful little bar area and food was nice aswell. Good spot to stay on way to nitmiluk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaPace, Manager at Knotts Crossing Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your positive feedback and am glad you enjoyed our services as well the Savannah Bar. We are located in a great position if you are going to explore the amazing Katherine Gorge.

We look forward to having you stay with us again at Knotts Crossing Resort.

Kind regards,

Joanna Pace
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This resort was amazing , the staff could not do enough for us , they were amazing. The place was soooooo clean which surprised us being a remote area, The meals we had were something of this world , we were on our honey moon and everything was perfect , thank you once again we will definatly be back .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaPace, Manager at Knotts Crossing Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your positive comments.

We strive to provide a high level of service and facilities and are happy you found the place to be clean and that the meals were great in the restaurant.

We hope you have a happy future together and hope you had a great honeymoon.

Kind regards,

Joanna Pace
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stay every Sales Rep trip (4 - 5 times per year) and find this an oasis during my travels. The rooms are clean and fresh. There is always something good going on around the pool on a Sunday afternoon or sports event e.g. State Of Origin. It is always busy with people coming and going but have always found the staff to be helpful and friendly. By now they know my name and always get greeted with a big friendly welcome.
The resturant is always great and it is always a pleasure to sitt in the cool of the eveing near the bar and pool with wonderful food.
Nothing else in Katherine beats Knotts Crossing Resort - do yourself a favour - Try It

Room Tip: choose the Delux Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaPace, Manager at Knotts Crossing Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your positive feedback on Knotts Crossing Resort and am glad that you are a repeat customer who keeps coming back to stay with us.

We strive to provide a high quality of service and facilities at all times. Sundays are always a great time to be on site as we enjoy providing live entertainment for our guests and our new Big Flat Screen TV in the Bar has been a hit in the Savannah Bar with sporting events such as the 2012 Olympics etc. We have a new menu out now in the Savannah Bar & Restaurant so hope you enjoy some new dishes when your back in town.

We hope to see you again at Knotts Crossing Resort.

Kind regards,
Joanna Pace
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alawarian
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've stayed in hotels all over the world, but never have I spent a night in a hotel as noisy as this one. There was a party outside my room, and when I say outside, the walls of the rooms are so thin it may as well have been inside. The noise and screaming went on until the early morning. I tried to call reception until late at night - no answer. I wandered around the complex at midnight looking for a night watchmen. There was no one to help. I almost called the police it was that bad. The response from the hotel - after pushing they did agree to a 50% refund, (I wanted a total refund) otherwise there was no apology and indeed they tried to blame me for not contacting them (I tried but no one was around). Bad attitude, bad response, bad service. Being a local territorian I will be advising everyone I know to steer clear of the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaPace, Manager at Knotts Crossing Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

- We do have security that go through the property every evening from 11:00pm-5:00am. They did not notice the loud party. They were certainly contacted on your departure and asked why they had missed this.
- If you dial '9' for Reception from your room phone it would connect to our after hours security number.
- We have our after hours security number on the Front Office Reception door and in our Room Compendiums.
- Staff are always in the Restaurant until approximately 12:00midnight - 12:30am and they would have helped if contact had been made.

I am sorry for your inconvenience on the evening and would like to ensure you that the people that were responsible for the noise were evicted from Knotts Crossing Resort the following day.

We do strive to provide a high quality of service and are sorry if we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

I appreciate that you are a NT Local and we hope to see you again at Knotts Crossing Resort.


Kind regards,
Joanna Pace
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have stayed here numerous times and never been disappointed with the cleanliness, efficiency, and comfort. The budget caravans are good for a long stay, the deluxe rooms are high quality motel rooms, and the village rooms are a nice new self-catering option. The staff are very hard-working and go the extra mile to check you in early, extend your stay in the same room, or change your room allocation. Comfortable bed and functional clean bathroom. Highly effective air-conditioning. The bistro is one of the best food options in Katherine, recently revamped menu and decor, with licensed a la carte and Sunday night buffet. There are two pools and a laundromat; all you need!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaPace, Manager at Knotts Crossing Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I really appreciate your positive feedback and am glad that you are a regular customer and that we continue to provide you with a high quality of service and facilities.

Our different room options really do suit all budgets and personal requirements. We have recently changed our menu at the Savannah Bar & Restaurant so look forward to receiving feedback on some of the exciting new dishes.

Our staff always strive to give a high level of service.

Kind regards,
Joanna Pace Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The staff were firendly, especially when the key to our room didn't work and a replacement had to be sourced. The room ('Executive' from memory, but looked more like the 'Deluxe' shown on their web-site) was perfectly acceptable motel style with an allocated parking space just outside. The surprise was the food. The restaurant was 'linen tablecloths and table service'. The food was very good. A waitress told us that it was unusual for Katherine in that they cooked it rather than microwaving it, (many diners were non-resident). Between us we had a lovely Wagyu beef burger and a pasta dish of the day. The prices struck us as reasonable too. Being out of the town centre (which struck us as nothing special) we thought was a plus and made it a doddle to navigate to Katherine Gorge.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room one up from basic, with the allocated parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaPace, Manager at Knotts Crossing Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Knotts Crossing Resort and that you found the staff friendly and your room acceptable for your stay.

The Savannah Bar & Restaurant strives to provide good, quality, affordable meals and I am happy you enjoyed your meal. Our new menu will be out next week so hopefully you will be back to try our new dishes.

We look forward to accommodating you again at Knotts Crossing Resort.

Kind regards,
Joanna Pace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Knotts Crossing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knotts Crossing Resort

Address: Cnr Giles & Cameron Street | P.O.Box 966, Katherine, Northern Territory 0851, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knotts Crossing Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knotts Crossing Resort is the winner of the NT Brolga Standard Accommodation Award 2010.Knotts Crossing Resort has 126 rooms, Caravan Park, Camping Ground, Fully Licenced Restaurant and Bar, Private Function Bar & Lobby, Conference Room & Catering facilities, HERTZ, AUSTAR, Internet Lobby and Kiosk.The Savannah Bar & Restaurant is the proud Winner of the Golden Plate Award 2012 for the Ministers Award for Encouragement in Business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Knotts Crossing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knotts Crossing Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knotts Crossing Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.