We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Tree Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Tree Motel to your Saves list
Pine Tree Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Third Street, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Considering this is one of the cheapest hotels in Katherine I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious rooms, friendly efficient staff and cleanliness. The food is good, the rooms are clean the aircon is great and there's the option of using a fan to assist the cool air around the room. Coffee, tea and milk are replaced every day and there's a large fridge to keep the drinks cool :-).
There's ample off road parking in the Motel courtyard and a pool to relax in and around when the heat gets too much. Wifi internet works well provided by NomadNet. There's also a laundry facility you can use or a laundromat just up the street. It's within a five minute walk of the main street in Katherine where there are ample shops restraunts etc.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor above the restraunt area. The room was quiet and the aircon is particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
17
47
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room on a last minute stay over the staff were fantastic in assisting us with requests and providing information. The rooms weren't the cleanest with dirt on the windows and below average cleanliness in the bathroom. But as a whole the bed was comfortable and the room was a good size pretty happy to recommend for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Checked in for 2 nights after a 14 hour drive from Alice Springs. Colleen the Manager made us feel welcome and was happy to answer all our queries. Parking right ouside our room was just what we needed with all the odds and ends we were carrying in our car.
The room had table and chairs, a work desk and ample bench space for tea making etc.
Our bed was comfortable. We had a decent sized fridge, although it had no freezer compartment. Colleen compensated for this by allowing the use of her freezer.
The air conditioning operated effectively - and just as well with temperatures close to 40 degrees C!
The motel is situated a few minutes' walk from the centre of town. A courtesy bus is available for transport to and from the Katherine Club.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Tree P, Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We at Best Western Pinetree stive to exceed your expectations and if we have achieved that in a small way, we are happy. Safe Driving and come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for one night during our NT trip and were happy with the hotel. The staff were fantastic and helpful - a wealth of info about the area. Check in was quick and easy. The room was ample with lots of cupboards and bench space. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The bathroom was spacious too, but there was a weird stale-air smell in there and it was a bit dated. It is a typical country town motel and good value for money.
Down a side street, it was quiet, away from the main street but close enough to walk to the local pub, McDs and the supermarket. We didn't use the pool but it looked inviting.
Overall, it was a good, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Tree P, Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your response. As it is our quiet season, some rooms sit for a while hence the stale smell. We will open all arrival rooms in the future due to your feedback. Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very friendly reception.

Tidy room with ample room on second floor overlooking pool and parking.

Parking convenient.

Rooms a little dated but the service and cleanliness made up for that.

Good value for money.

Quiet street back from the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Tree P, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary, and hope you took fond memories home with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We 2 couples had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel , the rooms very spacious and clean, the bathroom was a little old and small, however, the movie channels very very good and the pool/BBQ area also very good and scenic amounst the trees, the staff were very helpful , even sending on my camera and phone charger onto Darwin within a couple of days, we enjoyed the cruise down the Katherine Gorge and had a good dinner at the Servicemens club up the road (must book though)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Tree P, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Typical BW property - basic but comfortable.
Only stayed one night but had everything we needed including parking, communal laundry and the rooms basic but very large.
One thing to point out is all the staff were lovely and very helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Tree P, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Tree Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We glad to be of assistance, and love to make sure our guest get everything they can out of Katherine. There is alot you can do in Katherine and we like our guests to see it all.
thank you for your kind response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Tree Motel

Address: Third Street, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pine Tree Motel. Centrally located in Katherine - situated 500 metres from the Post Office and the main shopping Hub, the Pine Tree Motel is an excellent base for your comfort while visiting the Regions Natural Scenic Beauty. Offering Quality Accommodation, Value for Money, Comfort and Friendly Service, the Pine Tree Motel is surrounds a tropical garden setting. Relax and experience the atmosphere with a soothing swim, a drink by the pool, and to top it off an awesome meal in the Pines Restaurant with Chef Alfredos Locally Caught Game and Seafood from the waters of the Northern Territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Katherine
Katherine Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Tree Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.