We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful national park viewed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nitmiluk National Park

Nitmiluk National Park
Katherine, Northern Territory, Australia
08 8972 1886
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 attractions in Katherine
Type: National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A cruise on the Katherine River will give you a great overview of this national park, made up of 13 sandstone gorges
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“beautiful national park viewed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

katerine gorge.visited this attraction by air in helicoptor and well worth it trips can be made to this gorge but we chose to view from air as time was limited,had a clear view over the gorge.should imagine a cruise would be good if in area for long enough.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“what a beautiful ancient place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went to Katherine Gorge and had a helicopter ride-situated on the road in to the park.About$140-00 for the 3 Gorges trip.Great views!!
Went on into the park.Only had time for a short stay but definitely a place to spend more time.The visitors centre has lots of information about the history of the place.The meals at the centre are medium priced-about $20 for lunch each and was very tasty with varied fresh produce.
All of the roads to the Gorge/National park were sealed with plenty of parking available.
A beautiful ancient place well cared for by the spiritual, indigenous people over thousands of years:)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“brillant dinner, good views, not much wild life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

my wife and i went on the sunset dinner cruise, teh meal was superb, great food, well served and assited by Lucy, the crusie was intersting, we enjoyed the views and the rock formation, but expected to see more wild life

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A perfect time of the day to see such a beautiful place.The captain of the boat was fantastic. The boat had been over-booked so there was potential for the situation to become tense and unpleasant but he handled it with great sensitivity and everybody was happy. Our young son and another boy were quite boisterous and he was able to wrap them around his finger so that they were manageable and not too noisy for the other passengers. For that we thank him..... I wish I could remember his name - but he will know who he is (the date was the 29th of August.) Much appreciated.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Two Gorge Boat Cruise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

When I was in Katherine with my tour group, I decided to take the two hour boat tour of the Katherine Gorge. Its quite a wonderful trip with great scenery, birdlife (watch for black cockatoos flying around), and some surprises. Twice during the tour you would need to take a short walk (about ten minutes) between boats, look carefully on the rockwalls for some Aborigine rock art. The second boat has a brief visit into a bird filled grotto, if your a reptile lover like me, be on the lookout for pythons that lurk inside (I saw one who was coiled up in a crack). One thing to keep in mind, bring water, its hot and humid even during the morning tour. Also, theres a nice visitors center with eating facilities and keep an eye out for wallabies outside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nitmiluk National Park also viewed

 
Katherine, Top End
 

Been to Nitmiluk National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nitmiluk National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nitmiluk National Park to your Saves list