We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Kakadu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cooinda Lodge Kakadu to your Saves list
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Kakadu Highway | Cooinda, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Lodge Cooinda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Jabiru, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“In the heart of Kakadu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed in the apartment which on the outside look nice, but on the inside, really look old. The toilet and shower are all one. The rooms were clean, but really run down. The breakfast is good, although the coffee is poor. The location is really good which is about 50km from Jabiru. Not too much to do except laze around the swimming pools. They have the Yellow Water cruises, and there is also a visitor center which is really nice. Unless you have a 4x4 there is really not much else around here. If you want a quiet, peaceful holiday then this is a great place. They have a nice restaurant and small bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    149
    105
    38
    14
See reviews for
93
185
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Köping, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is situated just beside Alligator Creek. If you want to se crocodiles, this is the place. The hotel is an average "Outback" hotel. Nice rooms in separates small buildings with small patios. A lot of birdlife around the premises. With a normal turist tempo it is two days drive from Darwin if you go via Jabiru..

Room Tip: Get a room facing out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsw Sth Coast, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed only 2 nights at this lodge/resort/caravan park but would have stayed longer if we had the time. We were in a motorhome, so used a powered site in the camping area. The site was nicely shaded with lots of green grass.

The facilities we great with everything you would need. Lots of showers & toilets, good laundry facilities and great, clean & free BBQ's with special gas burners also for pots & pans.

The pool area is incredible with a number of pools, some with shade and lots of pool chairs to kick back & relax. There is also a large grassed area you can spread out on. Another grassed area with more BBQ's and picnic tables, a,ong with a kids playground is just outside the pool area.

The bistro & bar is close to the pool area with lots of seating under cooling fans. The menu is good and prices very reasonable. We ate here twice and also watched the AFL grandfinal on their big screen.

There's a convenience store also located within the resort with a good variety of food as well as souvenirs.

Our check-in was great and the staff were friendly and very welcoming. The staff were helpful and very knowledgeable when we booked our tours with them also.

Great place to stay & very reasonably priced. An oasis in the outback!!!

Room Tip: I'm sure anywhere within this resort would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After a day on the road and after a shower the pool was great way to relax. We stayed in the metal cabins with double beds and bunk beds for one night. The cabins were clean but it got very cold during the August night and the blankets were not thick enough, I had to get dressed as I was so cold.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a great buy by OZ standards. Simple but clean and comfy room. Everything worked. Great location. AC. Worked fine with fan. Pool looked fine. Tiny Gecko in room but we love them. Fridge worked too. Good shower and bed. Location near yellow
water cruise super

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After travelling round Aus this officially has the best pool and best ice cream selection! - Well according to our 3 kids anyhow!

We stayed in a powered site in a motor home, for one night. It was late in the season and the camping area was struggling to hold on to the grass given the dry but had faired better than many of the places we'd stayed. Part of the site was cordened off to allow the grass to recover.

While there the temperature was consistantly knocking on 40 and the main pool (We didn't visit the smaller one which looked quieter) was a great oasis and was large enough not to feel at all crowded.

We had a pleasant walk on the boardwalk close by at Yellow water but principally we chilled out and relaxed ahead of us attacking the road south to Daly Waters and Alice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

One night spent here recently. Room was basic but fine for our family of four. Probably somewhat expensive for what you get but this is Kakadu and the options are limited. Have to say the food at the bistro was overpriced and very average on the night we were there; prices seem t reflect that they have a captive audience and as such can pretty much charge what they want (circa $28 for a very average Chicken Schnitzel). On the plus side, the grounds are beautifully kept, the main pool is large and great fun for the kids with a waterfall, and the grounds great for an early morning walk before the heat and humidity gets up. dry handy for Yellow Water cruise which was amazing and for a jump to Gunlom.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Yumbalada,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the prices at the hotel restaurant. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cooinda Lodge Kakadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Address: Kakadu Highway | Cooinda, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Lodge Cooinda)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cooinda Lodge Kakadu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Kakadu National Park at the gateway to the world famous Yellow Water Billabong, relax and re-energise in the air-conditioned comfort of your room. The indigenous owned Cooinda Lodge Kakadu offers easy access to Yellow Water Cruises, Warradjan Cultural Centre, Jim Jim Falls, Twin Falls, Nourlangie, bushwalks and boat entry and exit points for an exciting day of fishing. From our private airstrip take a charter plane for a spectacular birds eye view of Kakadu National Park. After a day of adventure or relaxing by our resort style pools, enjoy alfresco dining and drinks at Barra Bistro Bar or retire to your private courtyard for a spectacular sunset and natural beauty of the surrounding area. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu has 48 Lodge Rooms, 24 Budget Rooms, 106 powered and 300 unpowered camping sites. The property has a lagoon pool, picnic and bbq areas, general store, fuel station, tours desk, alfresco bistro and bar, enclosed restaurant,kids playground. All of Kakadu's tours can be booked at the central hub of Cooinda including the award winning Yellow Water Cruises - 2011 & 2009 NT Brolga Award Winner - Major Tourist Attraction, Gagudju Adventure 4x4 tours, Animal Tracks, Kakadu Air scenic flights, Murdudjurl Cultural Tours, Kakadu Culture Camp, Yellow Water Fishing Tours, Arnemlander tours and much more. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu is indigenous owned business including Yellow Water wetland cruises, Gagudju Adventure 4WD tours, cultural experiences and accommodation including Cooinda Lodge Kakadu and Kakadu Camping. We have the largest collection of facilities catering to tourism in Kakadu and are focused on positive outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. We have an active and ongoing 2010 NT Brolga Award Winning - Indigenous Employment Program where local Bininj trainees are developed, mentored and supported to have an active role in the tourism ventures. Kakadu Tourism is owned by the local Traditional Owners in partnership with Indigenous Business Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cooinda Lodge Kakadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Lodge Cooinda Hotel Kakadu National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.