We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Kakadu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Flinders Street, Locked Mail Bag 4, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Kakadu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed at the Gagudju Crocodile for 2 nights in May 2009 and used it as a base for a 3 day exploration of Kadadu. It was a very comfortable hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful. The lobby is quite impressive with Aboriginal art and crocodiles (not live ones) strategically placed, and the rooms are comfortable if not luxurious. We ate in the restaurant one night and thought the food was fine, and the service great. Although we thought the meals were overpriced, given the lack of restaurants in the area this is not too surprising. There is no internet access in the rooms. There is plenty of parking, a pool and lots of friendly, helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Kakadu and would definitely stay in this hotel if we returned.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    241
    172
    42
    19
See reviews for
120
273
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Very nice hotel rooms, like I would expect from a Holiday Inn in Australia. Everything was great. The lobby was really spectacular. It doesn't look that great from the outside and it doesn't have lifts to the second floor which is annoying with suitcases, but I guess it's like that architecturally to make the croc.

I don't think it's overpriced at all considering it is in the middle of nowhere and the middle of nowhere in AU is far more expensive than in the city. If you pre-book rooms are 135. I've stayed in places in the middle of nowhere in AU for far less quality for money.

  • Liked — The lobby
  • Disliked — no elevators
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in a good size, clean and comfortable standard room. Good restaurant, nice pool. Would recommend this hotel for your stay in Kakadu.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Okay folks, let's face it: The Northern Territory has fantastic natural features on offer, but: The hotel prices are a shame. This hotel was like your average motel in the rest of Australia or in the U.S., except for it's croc-like shape. But the room was pretty much average and it obviously hadn't been cleaned thoroughly, for a while. I can accept dust in an outback place but not numerous handsized spiderwebs. These are simply a sign of a laissez-faire attitude when it comes to house-keeping (they were there for our whole stay of three nights!). At this price I have a right to expect more. Apart from that it was an okay place with generally mediocre service and a huge parking space right next to the rooms on one side of the hotel.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the cleanliness and the value for money
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHI, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

I was very concerned to hear about the problem that you experienced in relation to the cleanliness of your guest room.

Kindly accept my sincere apologies for any dissatisfaction that has been caused. Judging from your feedback the cleanliness of your room was not in line with our usually high standards. I have discussed these issues with our Housekeeping Department and have reviewed the quality auditing process to ensure that items like this are not missed in the future.

Your impressions of the hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service and experience that we are committed to.

Thank you for your observations and I hope to welcome you back to the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

My partner and I had wanted to visit Kakadu for years and finally got the chance so wanted to spend a decent amount of time there.

On arrival, we were met by a fabulous foyer which doubled as the croc’s mouth as well as an indigenous art gallery that continued into another annex and through the walkway to our room. #232 was our home for 4 nights.

Firstly, it should be pointed out that the rooms are actually motel not hotel rooms - a minor point but I included this as a point of accuracy. Secondly, there are no lifts, but given there is only one flight max to ascend, that’s not too bad.

The room was a decent size, 2 doubles, nice, clean bathroom and overlooked the pool. Amenities included shampoo/conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, and shower cap. Furniture wise, there were 2 comfy chairs and desk and still plenty of room to move.

The staff we came across were all very friendly and helpful.

The only "criticism" would be that if you are vegetarian, and are planning to stay more than one night, their veg menu is limited. Perhaps make prior arrangements with the restaurant. There is a bistro at one of the other nearby accomodations that has a couple of veg dishes but unless you have a car, is too far away.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — VERY comfortable bed, location
  • Disliked — internet 'consoles' not working properly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHI, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

I am glad that you finally made it to Kakadu and I agree the foyer and the art gallery is fabulous and a real feature of the hotel. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable time and as always, it is great to get some constructive feedback as well.

It is unfortunate that you were not able to find more vegetarian items on the menu to provide you with a greater variety during your stay. Our Chefs are always excited and enjoy creating "special" items to please our guests and would have enjoyed the challenge to create something "special" just for you. We will also consider adding in additional vegetarian options for our next seasonal menu change.

Your impressions of the hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service and experience that we are committed to.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope it is not too long until you stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Booked through wotif.com and cost a whopping 360 dollars per night!

The room was lovely and room service was excellent. The pool was really nice too but had had lot of screaming kids and old couples there.

The main downside was the restaurant was pretty poor really. We were pretty much thrown out at 9.30pm by being stared at by staff wanting to go home! It seems ridiculous to pay for an expensive meal with nice wine to be treated like this. Dining in the room with room service was far nicer!

Don't get me wrong, the place is lovely, but really not worth the money compared to other accommodation in the park. There's so much to see in the park anyway, it's really worth splashing out on a nice hotel in Darwin as you won't spend much time in the hotel anyway.

  • Liked — Lovely room, Nice pool, Location
  • Disliked — Price, Room not ready at 2pm, Appaling restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHI, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback in regards to your
recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

I am glad that you enjoyed your room and the pool. The hotel rooms have
been recently refurbished and are a real treat in the heart of Kakadu.

I am concerned to hear that you felt like you were being "thrown out" of
the restaurant. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for this impression.
Service and Guest interaction is something that we strive to excel in
and it is disappointing for us when this does not occur.

Your feedback has been highlighted at our Guest Focus Group and Team
Briefings to ensure that we handle this situation better next time.

I agree that there is so much to see and do in Kakadu but it is always
a nice retreat to return back to a high level of comfort after the sun
goes down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

It's hard to appreciate it fully from the land, but this place really is shapped like a giant crocodile.

When you enter its mouth into the reception, you will notice a lovely art gallery to the left, which showcases some fine Aboriginal and Australian pieces.

Further down (perhaps in the neck) you will find the restaurant. While it is pretty standard for a hotel, the fact that it is in the middle of nowhere and still manages to have a reasonable wine list, large buffet and substantial a la carte menu deserves definite bonus points.

In its belly there is large swimming pool that gets great sun and is usually not too crowded.

The rooms are located around the periphery. I was so surprised when I first entered mine - it was very well-appointed and had super comfy beds. Definitely standard four-star accomodation.

While Kakadu is more about the great outdoors, this is a fantastic spot to rest your head, and will probably induce a few lie-ins.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHI, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2008
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at the Gagudju
Crocodile Holiday Inn and the unique shape of this iconic hotel.

I really enjoy the foyer and the art gallery also, the art work is
unique to the region and really highlights the living culture of Kakadu.

The recent refurbishments have had a great impact on our guest
satisfaction survey results. I have heard the words "surprised" several
times from visitors as given our remote location such quality
accommodations are often unexpected.

I thank you again for your feedback and that you would "absolutely"
recommend the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn to your best friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Address: 1 Flinders Street, Locked Mail Bag 4, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.