We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2- nights kakadu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Flinders Street, Locked Mail Bag 4, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“2- nights kakadu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 2- nights at gagudju crocodile ,holiday inn .had a queen room 2-floor facing pool .great spacious room .entrance of hotel very nice ,and has a art gallery in hallways of hotel beautiful aboriginal art .was a bit noisy at night ,but management fixed the problem for us ,it was 11-pm on first night ,design of hotel as a crocodile fantastic .staff great great smiles -

Room Tip: 2-floor pool view away a bit from pool more quite at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear stanley031

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. The art gallery at the hotel is something we are really proud of as it showcases the skills of some of our traditional owners. Sorry to read that you experienced a bit of excess noise during your stay but happy that my management team fixed the issue for you.

Speaking of artwork, did you manage to see the rock art at Nourlangie while you were in the park?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    232
    158
    39
    17
See reviews for
109
259
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms are normal, but I guess it's the best accommodation in the Kakadu area.

Went for dinner at its restaurant on Xmas night because there's no other choices available in the town. Can't remember the name, but there's a dish of corc meat with pasta which was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Ng G

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. The Crocodile Arribiata that you refer to was also one of my favourites on the menu and one of our best sellers so I am delighted that you enjoyed it. We have recently appointed a new Executive Chef and the menu has been changed so I would encourage you to return to Kakadu, visit the wonderful sites in the park and try the exciting new menus items.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Initially disappointed as after sending many emails and ringing them several times re coeliac dietary needs we were very disappointed to find we were not catered for. However within an hour the manager came to our room and changed things immediately. This impressed us so much. We ended up having the best time and not having to worry about getting the right food. Rooms were good size, pool lovely and from air looks fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear ekbg2002

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. It was great to read that we managed some fantastic service recovery to ensure you enjoyed your stay with us despite the initial disappointment. As a full service hotel, we can cater to all dietary requirements and welcome any special requests our guests may have.

Just got back from sunset at Ubirr, absolutely stunning, I hope you also got the opportunity to see this wonderful sight?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

stayed here with friends for a few days,found the rooms comfortable .went to resturant several times as this hotel is a bit isolated.not disappointed the food was good and the staff helpful,the bar did close quite early for us and there was no where to go apart from caravan site down road.this hotel is right in middle of Kakadu national park.reccomend stop at bottle shop for supplies! l

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Val B

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I have spoken to the Food & Beverage Manager in regards to your comments about the bar closing early and apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused as we are licensed until quite late. Great to read you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and I hope you are telling all your friends about the magnificent Kakadu National Park.

What did you see and do while you were here, hopefully a cruise and some Crocodile spotting?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February. The reception staff were extremely helpful with tour information and bookings. Our room was well laid out and overlooked the pool. We ate in the restaurant one night and the meal was delicious, and despite what I've read previously, very good value. We would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear susieq5719

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. Your kind words have been passed on to my reception and food & beverage staff and they were thrilled to read them. What did you manage to see while you were in the park? I hope you got a chance to go on the Yellow Water cruise, just won the gold award at the recent Qantas national hospitality awards?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A comfortable hotel with all amenities.
Not a lot of choice of hotels here but this is ok.
Fairly basic rooms but good restaurants and near the visitor centre.
Also near to the main attraction.
Still happy to recommend as really could not fault too much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Rachel l

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. Nice to see you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant in particular. The hotel is, as you point out, nice and centrally located for the attractions of Ubirr, Nourlangie and Yellow Water so I hope you managed to see all three places during your time here?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

While the hotel may be shaped like a Croc, it is not a crock.
After a day exploring Gagudju there is nothing better than spending a night in the super comfortable beds and well laid out rooms.
The only thing better than the rooms is the food in the restaurant.
Staff on the desk were very accommodating, providing a late check out, so that I could enjoy a morning swim in the pool without rushing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear GWintle

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. Delightful to read you enjoyed your time with us and had a wonderful experience at the hotel. What did you see and do in the park while you where up here? I hope you managed to visit Nourlangie rock and see the incredible rock art on display.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Address: 1 Flinders Street, Locked Mail Bag 4, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.