We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room and Great Food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Kakadu Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Nice Room and Great Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

Stayed here for one night only after leaving the Bark Hut Inn in disgust. Really DO NOT stay at Bark Hut. Its disgusting and the rooms aren't worth $10AUD let alone $60. This place is only just a bit further along the road and i would certainly stay here again.

Anyhow this place is clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and the beds were comfortable. The shower and bathroom was OK but a bit dated. It was an average room by worldwide standards but after all you are in the middle of nowhere. So it worked for me. Room had a fridge and tea/coffee facilities.

We never used the pool but did make use of the laundy which was OK with self use coin operated machines.

One thing that was very good was the (all you can eat) buffet. The service was excellent and the food was very good. Not 5 star good, but just good honest food. The staff were all helpfull, all the way from the lady in the little shop, the receptionist and all the restaurant staff. They even found me some mint sauce for my lamb!

We stayed at the back in rm134 which is quite a way from the main road but you can drive your car to right outside the room. Thats if your spot hasn't been taken by a coach. Take an torch for the walk to and from the bar at night and to help unloading the car at night as there aren't many lights in the parking areas.

  • Liked — Excellent Staff and Food
  • Disliked — Laundy needed some more machines. We had to queue.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    100
    83
    36
    19
See reviews for
49
159
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

We didn't get the hotel we were expecting when we arrived at the Aurora Kakadu. Although it is set in nice grounds with plenty of wildlife, is is more Butlins than Hilton! Little tin shacks, very basic rooms with old fashioned furnishings but clean and reasonably comfortable. What did make up for the disapointment of the rooms was the staff and the pub/resturant! The food is brilliant, cheap and all home made and fresh. And HUGE portions. So, don't be put off by first impressions, the room is only to sleep in after all. Enjoy the surrounding area and stuff yourself silly in the on site pub!

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kakadu National Park hotels

Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2005

Stayed for one night in October 2005. The room was a twin with bathroom. The outside appearance of the rooms was not very appealing and the inside was pretty depressing. Very run down and not very clean, lights not working and very dirty windows. Though sheets and towels were clean if well worn.
The plus side was the location, the rooms were set in small blocks in a semi circle with a pool in the middle. There were wallabys playing on the grass and lots of birds in the trees surrounding the rooms.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2004

Stayed in this "hotel" 1 night in August 2004 in a budget room (private use), paying $100. Someone should explaing these guys that budget doesn't mean dirty! You couldn't see beyond glasses, I fought with 3 spiders and everything was very old and dirty except for beds. Moreover, staff attitude was disappointing and at my arrival they first gave me a room which was not ready. For this price in Australia you can get far better clealiness and service, so stay away from this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Kakadu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Address: Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Kakadu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Kakadu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Kakadu National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Kakadu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.