We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The corellas are magic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Kakadu Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The corellas are magic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed her in two rooms for two nights with my 87 year old mother, my brother and sister in law. Firstly, Kakadu is expensive. Everywhere. But you need to keep in mind that Kakadu is isolated. The costs and quality reflect this. Camping was not an option for us so we had to book hotel accommodation. We stayed two nights here and one night in another place closer to the Yellow Water billabong. The standard of accommodation is at best a low 3 stars. It feels a bit like an American holiday camp with groups of two-story wood buildings, each holding several hotel-type rooms. It is reasonably comfortable but a bit shabby. There were a few annoyances. Our air conditioner sounded like a 747 airplane and could not be adjusted. Our screen door was difficult to slide open or shut. The aerator in our bathroom sink flew out of the tap the first time I turned the tap on. The TV was old and temperamental. Our room cost of $205 per room included a substantial and tasty buffet breakfast. We also had the dinner buffet at an extra cost of $30 per person which was equally tasty. The staff in the dining room were delightful. The highlight though is the antics of the corellas that visit en masse a couple of times a day for play-time in the trees. My family spent one afternoon just watching these lovely, but very destructive, birds. And after watching their antics it became obvious how difficult it would be to maintain this property as they chewed absolutely everything. Of the two places we stayed in Kakadu, Aurora Kakadu was to my mind better value, quite simply because of the free entertainment provided by the corellas and the pleasant restaurant staff.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues make sure you ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    99
    80
    34
    16
See reviews for
47
153
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The lovely reception lady gave us a warm welcome ,gave us a run down on the area and we picked a spot and had a great campsite for 3 days.The mozzies get a bit out of control but nothing some Bushman and a few mozzie coils can't beat.This spot was a real find as it is away from ant town (35kms from Jabiru) but has its own fantastic billabong and 3.5kw walk.We used it as a base.The kids loved the pool at the end of a hot days exploring.We found a great shady spot with powere(same price as unpowered).We cheated and had a great meal in the dining room.There is a real mix at this place.They rooms looked nice and clean but we had our own camper trailer.Would recommend it highly.The South Alligator just down the Road is a true Kakadu Sunset highlight on the way back from the East.

Room Tip: We chose a spot near power but be careful as the further to the rear of the campground the closer yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Aurora Kakadu for two nights, having already stayed two nights at Gagadju Lodge Cooinda. We were on holidays, staying with our 4 yo and 2 yo children. We were in a family room, which was one very large room with a queen bed, and three singles. The accommodation was basic, but it was very clean with new linen, a flat screen tv, bar fridge and big bathroom. The bathroom was fairly dated but perfectly adequate for what we needed. The grounds were absolutely beautiful, with a great pool in the middle of them, and fabulous birds in the trees. Having stayed at Cooinda we were prepared for the restaurant to be expensive but it was actually a bit cheaper and the food was infinitely better - really good. We had lovely pizzas, a great pasta one night and delicious salt and pepper squid. There were also very good kids meals, and a buffet. The restaurant had a lovely slightly more formal atmosphere, and there was also a more relaxed outdoor area with dining tables and chairs, as well as a separate pub - something for everyone. The whole food and restaurant experience was much better than Cooinda . The other thing that set Aurora Kakadu apart was the staff who were friendly and helpful, and remembered us day to day, chatting to our kids the next morning having met them the night before. The only drawbacks I would mention are slightly noisy air conditioning, and no mobile coverage or internet. However, it was actually nice to be 'off air' for a few days, and we gathered that they are looking in to putting wireless internet in. Also, be aware that Aurora Kakdu is 40 kms from Jabiru, and on the furthest edge of the park from the other main attractions - it is a good location for visiting Ubirr, but would take a bit longer to get to Yellow waters, Nourlangie etc. Having said that, I would highly recommend Aurora Kakadu as a base for exploring the park, particularly with a family.

Room Tip: If you're in a downstairs room there can be a little bit of noise from upstairs, although if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Aurora Kakadu South Alligator in July 2013. We were very happy with everything we experienced: the price, room, service, breakfast and dinner, plus the resort surrounds. We would certainly stay there again if we return and will strongly recommend it to friends and family who may go that way in the future. For a remote facility we were indeed pleasantly surprised by the reasonable prices overall, and the quality of food offering. Our stay was in a deluxe room, 2 night minimum B&B arrangement, and apparently some other rooms may not as up-to-date as ours was. We can only comment on what we experienced - excellence across the board.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Qld
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not suitable for an elderly, solo woman. With poorly lit pathways and a room allocated to me a long way from reception and the dining room, I had great difficulty finding my room and was unable to carry my bag up the steep stairs. Another couple also having difficulty in finding their room, assisted me with my bag, otherwise it would have been disastrous for me.
I requested a room closer to facilities when I arrived, but was told that was not possible. The room, itself was clean and comfortable, but the fact the room was upstairs and difficult to locate in the dim light, spoilt the experience. At my request next morning, my baggage was carried downstairs and to the foyer.

Room Tip: I would suggest, if travelling on tour, to check about location of the room when booking, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Extremely pleasant staff, simple but perfectly adequate room and a great location for exploring the northern end of Kakadu. We regretted not being able to spend more time here. The Saturday night buffet in the restaurant was very good and decent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This wasn't the best accommodation we had on our trip by any means.
The room we managed to get was one large spacious room with enough beds for our family of 5. It was for 1 night only so we didn't mind.

The staff at check in were extremely helpful, as they had been when booking us in as well as providing us with local information via email before our stay so we could organise our time well.

The restaurant served nice food but as others have said before I felt it was a little pricey. But when it's your only option you go with it.

The only issues I had is the fact that the sliding door on our room didn't close but there was a safety chain to keep it closed. Unfortnately we were in a downstairs room which meant we heard everything upstairs - the conversation, tv, walking around the shower running, the toilet flushing etc. It was rundown but clean.....

Overall, it was okay. It was only for 1 night. Would consider staying there again for 1 night only.

Room Tip: As for an upstairs room if you don't want to hear noises coming from upstairs all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Kakadu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Address: Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Kakadu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aurora Kakadu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Kakadu National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Kakadu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.