We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the most terrible place we've visited in all of Australia!... and that's saying something!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Kakadu Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Truly the most terrible place we've visited in all of Australia!... and that's saying something!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

As soon as my fiance and I checked into this place, we had a bad feeling about it. The old woman at the reception desk was terribly rude and when we enquired as to whether we could borrow/ rent a bicycle she told us to say 'please'! A little ironic as I think she hasn't ever been taught the definition of the word 'manners'. The cabin we stayed in had a very strange smell, I developed a bad cough during the night as I think the smell was a tobacco neutraliser spray that they use before people go into the room. Needless to say, the room had been doused in it! When we went to the bar, we encountered yet another rude member of staff- an older, bald man. We later found out from members of staff complaining about him that he was the boss! He was very arrogant to us, even though we only asked if he had been served, as we were waiting and he was propping himself up against the bar with a bar in his hand.
Overall, we left with a very bad taste in our mouths. It was not an enjoyable stay and the staff are shockingly rude and unpleasant.
The best thing about the place is the food- very VERY good chefs!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    99
    80
    34
    16
See reviews for
47
153
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved it here. It is peaceful & quite special. Other people there said exactly the same. The grounds are lovely. The rooms are tired but you soon get over that. The food is excellent and the staff are excellent. The bathrooms really need to be updated as a priority.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent 2 nights here to see Kakadu on our trip round the top end. As it was November (off season) got a really good deal & enjoyed the luxury of a large, cool airconditioned room instead of our usual outback cabin or tent. Beautiful location with the gardens, pool & wildlife, & reasonably close to all that Kakadu has to offer. Definitely a good spot.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of the Superior Room Breakfast 2 night Special. The room was very spacious and clean. Mostly importantly the airconditioning was nice and cold for our stay during the wet (summer) season. The service of the staff was friendly and helpful. It's a great site with a nice (but slightly expensive restaurant) and BBQ facilities. The area has a wonderful 1.5km nature walk (Gungarre Walk) right next to the property.

Only downside of the property is that it's a little bit of a drive to Jabiru town (for supplies) at approx 40kms, and an event bigger drive to most of the attractions including Ubirr, Jim Jim Falls etc. But if you have a car this isn't a problem, and as an extra bonus there is petrol available to buy at the property if you're running low on your return drive to Darwin or further afield.

Definitely great value for money this time of year!

Room Tip: Given the location of the room in the national park, I would strongly advise not to leave food uncov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending two nights at Aurora Kakadu Resort in late November. I first stayed at this property in the early 80’s when it first opened and then over the years with family and friends visiting the Top End.
What a pleasure our weekend of R & R was. Aurora Kakadu is a great space. The gardens and lawns are beautifully kept even in the non-tourist Green Season. The bird and wild life is literally at your doorstep. The antics of the corella’s and magpie geese will keep you entertained and the wallabies ignore you.
Aurora Kakadu is perfectly located to enable easy access to all the wonderful sights of Kakadu. It is an easy drive to Jabiru, Nourlangie, Ubirr and of course Yellow Waters & Cooinda. Make sure you stop at the Bowali Visitor Centre for an excellent display of habitat and the different perspectives of Kakadu.
Back to Aurora - the buffet breakfast was plentiful, very tasty, hot & cold with excellent choices to suit all tastes. A good start to a day of touring & walking. The massive swimming pool and spa is very inviting after a long day. Cool, clean and refreshing with a large shade sail and plenty of sun lounges.
We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night. The service was great, friendly and helpful. I can recommend the Barra & Chips. The fish was perfectly cooked, moist, juicy and a nice crisp thin batter.
I am looking forward to another weekend of R & R at Aurora Kakadu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We only had one night to stay in Kakadu so we chose Aurora to have a shorter drive back to Darwin the next morning. The location and accommodations were very good with an excellent breakfast included. Just a few kilometers from Mamukala Billabong with more birds than we had ever seen! If you have the time, spend at least two nights in Kakadu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We nearly missed the hotel as it is set a bit back from the main road to Jabiru and is not that well signposted. One sees the adjacent petrol station clearly but does not immediately realise that the hotel is there too. We spent a single night there on our first of two nights in Kakadu. Nice place although perhaps some of the infrastructure is a little bit dated - especially the bathroom fittings. A rather odd and antiquated plastic shower / bath-tub showing distinct signs of wear and tear.

Loads of lovely cockatoos everywhere, including a pair that were engaged in what was presumably a mating ritual right on our balcony. At least we think that it was a mating ritual - the female bird was apparently not so sure. The male seemed to be trying to bite off his partner's wing - to which she protested loudly but nevertheless remained perched next to him! Whatever works for you...!

The Aurora Kakadu staff were all friendly and helpful. There is a nice pool and jacuzzi. The most pleasant surprise was the restaurant. We were a bit hesitant at first (not that we really had much of a choice), as the restaurant area is fairly small, set off to one side of the bar - the other side being a large and rather sparsely furnished hall with a pool table and a few chairs and tables. But the restaurant service was good, the menu had a lot of choice, and the food excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Kakadu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Address: Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Kakadu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aurora Kakadu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Kakadu National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Kakadu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.