We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great swimming spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maguk Gorge

Maguk Gorge
Kakadu National Park, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great swimming spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A beautiful drive through the savanna woodlands and an equally beautiful walk to the top of the falls. A little bit of an effort but well worth it. Walk down again and have a swim in the waterhole at the bottom of the falls. Sensational

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“love Maguk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I love Maguk as it isn't as well known as other camp sites and therefore is alot quieter. You get to Maguk via a approx 5km dirt road which has a very small creek crossing. There are around 20 campsites all with picnic tables and campfires. There is a drop toilet. The main pool of Maguk is not completely clear, which for me is a bit of a worry when you are the only one swimming. However there are often groups in the pool. The main beauty of Maguk is the magnificent plunge pools up the top of the main pool. They are really deep and are a dark navy colour. They are truly beautiful and very safe from crocs etc. I love Maguk as it is peaceful, not as crowded as other places and the top plunge pools are great.

Lou

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Stunning and amazing........June to september”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The peace and quiet. the photography shots that are available .

The southern end of the Kakadu National Park are a very unexplored area for me.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Top End scenery and a cool dip if you're brave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Maguk (aka Barramundi Gorge) is a great little spot at the south end of Kakadu National Park to spend a few hours. A fairly easy (but hot!) walk for people of average fitness which includes some minor rock-hopping takes you along the course of a rocky-bedded river and down towards the gorge, which has a beautiful natural plunge pool filled with fish and a lovely gentle waterfall at the far end. Be aware that after the carpark it's completely natural and unspoiled, so take plenty of water (and food if you must) but remember you'll need to carry all of it back out - no bins.

****NOTE: Maguk Gorge may not be on the NT government no-swimming-or-we'll-fine-you-for-being-such-an-idiot list like Twin Falls and other Kakadu croc hotspots, but be aware that crocodiles have been removed from the area from time to time. Swimming is completely at your own risk and if you're sensible you'll check the updated government croc watch websites for current local information from the rangers' trap-checking activities over the preceding weeks. As they say up there, the only way to have no risk of a croc encounter is to not swim at all, so enter the water at your own risk.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Hidden Top Pools of Maguk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We decided that instead of going to Jim Jim Falls which was a 4 hour drive in and out on a bumpy 4WD track, we would backtrack 50km to Maguk Gorge. This was decided after we swapped favourite NT destinations with some other campers who said that Jim Jim was almost dry and very busy and that we should visit the top falls at Maguk which were amazing. On arrival we followed the path to the main plunge pool at Maguk but couldn’t see another path to the top of the waterfall. We had a swim but there were a few people there and in our NT holiday spirit of adventure we determined to find a way to the top. Greg remembered another traveller saying that instead of turning right at the river rock crossing towards the plunge pool, there was a track which led straight ahead to the top falls. So even though we couldn’t see a path, we continued to scramble over the rocks in that general direction.

Soon we found a clear track that wound its way up the hillside. I was in front of Greg when I jumped back with a start. A yellow/orange snake had slithered across my path from the shadow of a log and I yelped with surprise. Greg said it was a brown snake, even though it wasn’t actually brown, although certainly very venomous. I think the snake was even more startled than me as it immediately shot back under the log. After about 30 minutes of following the track around the edge of the gorge, we heard the sound of the cascade and there was some scrambling to be done down a steep, short ravine to a set of whirling rapids and pools. It was deserted. The pool ran over the edge of the gorge into the plunge pool below, and to the left was natural balcony with a rock wall that you could safely lean over and dizzy yourself with the sheer drop into the emerald green water far below. We gazed down at the tiny bodies splashing around and felt very smug! When we walked further back, we discovered a whole set of stepped lagoons, one even more enticing than the last, that were overhung with rocks that had been scalloped away by the wet season torrents for millennia.

We swam up the pools, rock hopping from one to the next until we swam through a mini chasm to a waterfall that tumbled into a pool enclosed by sheer rock walls. Like Gunlom Falls, the waterfall was warm, possibly heated up by the black rock it had travelled over. It was unimaginably beautiful and we had it all to ourselves.

We swam back to our things and spread ourselves out on the rocks, snacking on nut bars and apples. As we were relaxing an adventure tour group arrived—about a dozen young people snaking down the rocks. They spread out to have a look around, but spent most of the hour they were there in the pools behind us, so they didn’t really disturb us. Eventually we had the place to ourselves again and once again swam back up the chasm to the little waterfall. Greg had taken his waterproof camera bag to take photos and this time he took the video. It was quite nerve wracking, as there was only one tiny slippery rock to balance on near the waterfall and I was sure either the camera or video would fall in the water. But we had to try because no description would have adequately captured the beauty of this hidden gem. After a couple of hours we tore ourselves away as we had planned to be at Ubirr in time for the sunset across Arnhem Land.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maguk Gorge also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Maguk Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maguk Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.