We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine NT highlight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakadu Culture Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kakadu Culture Camp to your Saves list
Kakadu Culture Camp
Djarradjin Billabong | Muirella Park, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A genuine NT highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Can't speak highly enough of Andy, Jen, Catherine, Freddie and Dougie at KCC. It was a real highlight of our NT adventure. We thoroughly enjoyed the company of this welcoming family and learned so much from them in 2 short days about indigenous connection with the land and the workings of the national park.
Catherine and our kids loved each others company and now they even know which ants to eat!
Night cruise and cultural demonstration were excellent.
This will be a lasting memory from our trip north. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Have a good read before and after you have had a great experience with Kakadu Culture Club.GREAT Location to base your stay in Kakadu.Kakadu is an Inspiring Journey thru time.Kakadu attractions can easily be planned thru your travel professional or plan your Kakadu journey.Kakadu Culture Club is a wonderful environment and could be a key part of your Kakadu experience.

Room Tip: Email ahead.Communicate early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Can't begin to relate how much this Culture Camp impressed us. Gives you a real appreciation of traditional aboriginal way of life.........Andy, Jen (and daughter Catherine) along with Doug (Jen's full-blood brother) give you wonderful insight into tribal fishing, food gathering and hunting. Displays and encouragement to have a go at spear throwing, playing didgeridoo and croc spotting make this a MUST DO if you are visiting Kakadu. Try AussieAdventures 2 day Kakadu trip ex DARWIN.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

If you really want a taste of the real Kakadu then stay here.
My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Kakadu Culture Camp and loved it! Late July was the perfect time to visit, the temperature during the night was in the low 20's which made it easy to sleep. The tents, though basic, were very comfortable. You get a proper bed (clean), a lantern, towels and soap. The shared showers and toilets are a short walk away from camp area.
The night boat cruise is a must. We saw crocodiles, snakes and birds as tracked by Freddie with his spotlight and Dougie safely driving the boat. They gave a unique experience and perspective of the wildlife that inhabit Kakadu. Freddie is a park ranger who is amongst it everyday.
We ate crocodile, kangaroo and yummy buffalo sausages for dinner. We both left KCC with a feeling of gained respect and a better understanding of the local aboriginal culture.
Andy, Jenny, Dougie, Freddie, Catherine & Jessie made us feel very welcome and were more than happy to pass on their expert knowledge of the area. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This place is the best in Kakadu and definitely one of the best natural environment+ indigenous culture experiences I have had ....so why is it stacked out with international tourists: Germans, French, Belgians, etc but very few Aussies ?? If you want to understand and immerse yourself in the amazing, subtle, cultural and spiritual beauty of Kakadu... then Kakadu Culture Camp is the ONLY place to stay. Although you can pitch a tent at the campgrounds I would strongly recommend being a guest at the Culture Camp and participating in the activities, meals and getting to know the hosts: Andy & Jenny. The safari tent accommodation is great and the evening meals are highly enjoyable culinary experiences: barramundi, kangaroo, water buffalo etc, But what makes this place really special is the hosts: Andy, Jenny their daughter Catherine and Jenny's brother Doug- Jenny and Doug are members of the local indigenous community and are keen to share their cultural traditions with their guests, Andy has amazing local knowledge and phenomenal energy and Catherine is a delight. As one of the long term Kakadu National Park Rangers said to me Kakadu Culture Camp is the "real deal" and he wants to stay with them on his next holiday !!! What better recommendation could you have......

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Have kids? You won't be disappointed. You can have a good night's sleep in comfort, great food and all the entertainment you are interested in having (or just read a book in a relaxed camp). A really excellent way of experiencing some of the culture without a sore back in the morning! Great for kids (ours were 4 and 6) but also great for adults. The night boat safari was a hit. GO!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KakaduAndy, General Manager at Kakadu Culture Camp, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Hey great to have you at the culture camp. It's great hosting children from all over the world; our kids love teaching girls and boys how to throw a spear, going out with them on our spotlight wildlife boat cruise, and generally having fun. Come back again soon! Cheers, Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel Valley, South Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

My wife and I planned to spend 4 days in Kakadu and didn’t want to stay in standard fare hotel/motel style accommodation, nor be with the crowds of day trippers and bus tourists. We chose the Kakadu Culture Camp based on a personal recommendation and subsequent follow-up through the Kakadu Culture Camp website.

The camp seemed to offer everything we desired and we were not disappointed. We were looking for good quality accommodation within easy reach of all the major Kakadu attractions, good food, clean amenities and relative solitude. We got all that and more.

The solid floor, comfortable and spacious tent, was tucked away in the local bush with plenty of distance from the other tents, yet a short walk from the dining area and amenities.

The real secret of our wonderful stay at the Kakadu Culture Camp was the friendliness and hospitallity of our hosts. Andy, Jenny, Catherine and Dougie are locals with lots of stories to tell, lessons to teach and great fun to be with. Dining with the hosts each night was a real treat and featured barramundi, kangaroo and water buffalo, vegetables to die for, plus Jenny’s exquisite flavourings, garnished from local plants.

The night lagoon cruise provided everything promised in the brochure and website. Crocodiles and birds abounded and the night sky was brilliant.

There was only one thing that disappointed us and that was, that we couldn’t stay longer. A longer visit would have further strenghtened the friendships Rosemary and I developed with Andy, Jenny, Catherine and Dougie, delivered even more delicious and varied meals and more information about the Bininj (aboriginal) culture and way of life.

We can’t wait to visit again next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kakadu Culture Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakadu Culture Camp

Address: Djarradjin Billabong | Muirella Park, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kakadu Culture Camp has only 5 deluxe safari tents. Located in a delightful bush setting, they are clean and comfortable. All come with double bed and double bunks. Ideal for guests on our Kakadu by Night boat cruise, the tarrif includes dinner and breakfast in our 'bush bistro'. Centrally located to all of the Kakadu National Park World Heritage attractions, the camp offers a unique oprtunity to camp overnight with an Aboriginal family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kakadu Culture Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakadu Culture Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.