We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kakadu, Katherine and Litchfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakadu Gorge and Waterfall Tours

Kakadu Gorge and Waterfall Tours
Kakadu National Park | Kakadu Highway, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
+61 8 8979 0145
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kakadu, Katherine and Litchfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Be amazed by the beauty and magic of Kakadu,Katherine and Litchfield whilst doing a 5 day camping tour which includes mesh tents so you can see the stars at night. I recommend Sugarbag Safaris. A small group tour makes it friendly and easily managed while adding a personal touch. Our guide had a wealth of knowledge on Indigenous culture, bush tucker and bush medicine. I saw more flora and forna in 5 days than I've ever seen. I got a great insight into the symbolism of Indigenous art. Our guide was also a bit of a master chef. So after a day of sightseeing and swimming in rockpools you looked forward to another tasty meal. Thanks Sugarbag Safaris :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    11
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Territory Expeditions - 3 day Kakadu & Litchfield tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Kakadu and Litchfield are must sees! We visited at the very end of the wet season when everything was green and waterfalls still gushing, but not too humid and we avoided peak tourist season. A friend and I joined Territory Expeditions on a 3 day tour. We had a fantastic time and got so much more out of our visit than if we had attempted to hire a car ourselves, or go with a larger tour. With only 9 of us, piled into the troopie, sleeping under the stars, and getting along offroad tracks to stunning waterfalls and avoiding the masses of other tourists. For the more independent, adventurous traveller, this tour is perfect. Everyone enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and flexibility, and we appreciated getting the real deal with no unnecessary extra costs. Dean was a terrific guide, and all of the above is due to him sharing his experience and passion for the landscapes, people, plants and animals in Kakadu.
Wish more tours were as good as this!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Mary River roadhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

A great experience to talk to senior traditional owners. Swimming, Barra fishing, camping, diamond mines, great little campsite, open showers..........like Mash tv series but in the wilds of Kakadu, dingos yelping, best every eggbsandwiches, ......next time I will take a helicopter ride.

Saw newly replanted motel rooms and backpacker bunk beds available.......all for very very reasonable prices.

No mobile coverage...............petrol prices very reasonable. Sitting outside was almost like the month of July not April.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amed
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yahooooooo in Kakado national park, Darwin ,Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

go by guided buss tour and order flight over the park on the bussride....amazing place to be in the wet season...i am going back in the dry season to fish and hunt with the local people.....

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is one of the most pristine areas we have been to. It has to be on the top 100 things to do before you die. You need plenty of water a good hat and walking shoes. It is a beautiful place to visit. You need a couple of days to take it all in from the animal life to the unbelievable rock art this is a must and the scenery is spectacular.Great camoing facilities also and most parts are easy to get too.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakadu Gorge and Waterfall Tours also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Kakadu Gorge and Waterfall Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakadu Gorge and Waterfall Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.