We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, a casual place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe

Pepe
HaTaelet 17, Rishon Lezion, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Modiin, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good food, a casual place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were a group of Israelis and an American guest. We asked for a table with a view and indeed we got it - the sunset over the Mediterranean sea is absolutely gorgeous! Dinner includes a refillable array of tapas (Tahini, cauliflower salad and other interesting items) accompanied by a very tasty bread. A solid selection of Israeli and international wines is offered - we had a red Hagalil which was excellent. The main dishes we had were all seafood - our American guest loved the Hreime - a fish casserole of Moroccan origin. I had a trout with sliced potatoes. It was a bit overtly salted, but perfectly grilled. The desserts were yummy.
In summary, a nice beach restaurant with good food and great views.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Modiin
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Attentive service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The service was terrific. The food was good. I enjoyed the mussels, my friend sent the salmon filet back because he felt it was too salty. It was replaced immediately. The other two at our table enjoyed their fish selections.
The wine was a bit overpriced and the profiterole desert was not to be loved. The house complemented us with a strawberry marscapone . that was wonderful. I would return in a heartbeat. Pepe so outclassed its sister restaurant Franchesca where I've dined numerous times.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a very goos fish restaurant. Located on the beach. So u get the whole experience. Tasty fish... salty air... and great view to the sea(sunset in the evening).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, pity about the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to this restaurant for dinner tonight. We were greeted a little frostily at the front desk. Once seated the waiters came over quite a few times to check if we wanted to order before we had had a chance to really look at the menu. When we did order our drinks which happened to be soft drinks because neither of us drink alcohol it was made very obvious that they were disappointed not to be selling us wine to increase the bill and hence the tip. In fact the 2 colas were clanked on to the table with quite a bang. We ordered our food. A salmon Gnocchi and Gnocchi Cabonara. We were brought lovely warm bread as well as an array of yummy spreads to put on the bread. My pasta dish (the Cabonara) was absolutely delicious, one of the best I have had. The salmon dish was not as good but not too bad either. I had decided to have a dessert but we had to wait about 30 minutes whilst all the staff seemed to be in a meeting that by the time we were able to speak to someone we just asked for the bill instead because it was getting late. The food is pretty good and the decor, although a little dated is pretty cool. It really is a pity that the service left so much to be desired. Hopefully this was an "off" night and is rather the exception than the rule.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Everything went backwards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We like Pepe. It is a nice seafront restaurant on the Rishon Le Zion beach. We go there from time to time to celebrate birthdays and such. But yesterday was disappointing. It's not that the food was bad, it was good. It's not that the service was bad, it was good. But everything went backwards. The opening salads that used to be the highlight of Pepe, are now average, probably due to the economy. The bread is still excellent. We ordered mules, pasta and fish. After the waiter took our order to the kitchen he came back saying: "we are out of mules; you will have to order something else". By the time we change our order, the fish was probably waiting, because it was too cold by the time we got the food. The pasta with seafood had mushrooms in it, which were not mentioned on the menu, and had to be replaced. We hope it was a one-time glitch, since as we said in the opening – we like Pepe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe also viewed

Rishon Lezion, Central District
Rishon Lezion, Central District
 
Rishon Lezion, Central District
Rishon Lezion, Central District
 

Been to Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.