We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Palace Hotel - Costa Rica Was Great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Matapalo, Sardinal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Grand Sale!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sardinal
Certificate of Excellence
Claysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Riu Palace Hotel - Costa Rica Was Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Nine of us arrived at the Riu Palace, Costa Rica on Sat., Aug 16 and departed on Sat., Aug 23, 2014. We had read about some problems on Trip Advisor like some bees at the pool bar. Not true, we saw a few but no problem.

On Trip Advisor, we heard about the noise from the nightly entertainment. In most spots you could not hear it in the room. Our rooms were Courtyard View. In a few rooms near the entertainment, you could hear some of it, but it was over by 11pm. If you want away from the entertainment side, request rooms on the left side of the hotel facing the ocean.

Also, some complained about food, but we gave it a thumbs up, and we are Food Critics and write cookbooks and Cook for lots of people! The buffets by all means give a much larger selection, and the food is excellent.

Service from the staff was excellent and especially at the pool bar. All bartenders were top notch. Our hats go off to all of them, but a few exceptional ones were Eduardo, Luigi, Marlon, Nicole, and Julio. These people entertained as well as supplying refreshments.

The individual restaurants were above par - the Steakhouse, Krystal, Italian were great. Tokyo was good but not quite as good as the rest.

We took an all day trip with Apple/Swiss called the Mega Tour which included zip lining, a 1400' water slide, horseback riding, a mud spa and lunch for a full day event. It was the most entertaining side trip that we had ever taken in all of our travels which include a lot of places.

Also, we four guys did a deep sea private charter and were very successful with all catching fish and one of our buddies caught a 40# Mahi Mahi - yes, a 40# one on a half day trip!

The rooms and hotel overall was spotlessly clean. We saw staff continually cleaning. The front desk staff and all others were most accommodating.

Also, a hidden gem is at the main lobby where a little area has food and drinks - 24 hours a day like hot dogs, burgers, snacks, popcorn, breakfast in the morning, etc. It was a very active place where people could play cards, play games, watch TV or just relax.

Sometimes, I believe that reviews are only done by complainers or people who want to make a place look great. We are neither, but we are being truthful. This place is a gem. The layout is beautiful, lots of pools, beautiful beach, friendly staff, great food. All nine (9) of us agreed that this was our best trip to date.

Room Tip: On Trip Advisor, we heard about the noise from the nightly entertainment. In most spots you could n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    522
    164
    64
    48
See reviews for
489
801
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel was outstanding -- very clean, modern, ample public spaces, ample seating in pool area and main restaurants. The friendly staff go above and beyond to make your stay feel like you are at home. The trip was made ever more pleasant due to the extraordinary service we received on a daily basis from Mauricio Diaz and William Contreras (both of the Arenal restaurant). Mauricio knew what i and my family wanted/needed before we had a chance to ask. William always offered a warm smile and service with genuine care. The pool area is great -- offering five different pools to choose from. The great service extends to the pool area -- request David Soto when you are in the pool area. His service, smile and efficiency are worth asking for him. The theatre, casino, shops etc, all far exceeded my expectations. My family and i booked exercusions through Jose of Hotel Beds. His recommendations were spot on -- he could "read" my family members and i and knew what we would enjoy. My teenager daughter and I did ATV'ing and got to experience the natural beauty and wonderful people of Puta Verda. The icing on the cake was the all-day exrcusion to the Rio Perdido (Lost River) where we zip lined, water tubing down the river, massage, volcanic mud baths and soaking in the hot springs. Definitely experience the hidden oasis known as Rio Perdido. Now, I'll end with the food and drink. I have traveled a lot and experienced many all inclusive resorts. This resort, by far, surpasses others in its vast selections of food types and styles -- catering to every palette and every dietary need that may exist. The food was good, fresh and there are so many choices to pick from. The drinks are good and top shelf is included in the all-inclusive. The only "negative" i would say is the comfort of the beds. The beds were not the most comfortable but they served their purpose. My family and I thank the Riu Palace and the staff, especially Mauricio Diaz, William Contreras and David Soto for making our trip such an enjoyable one. I'm already checking the calendar looking for the dates to return to your great country.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Hotel was outstanding. Very clean and the staff was outstanding. The restaurants were all wonderful! We especially enjoyed our dinners and breakfast at the Arenal Restaurant. Our waitress Gina Mora was super and made us feel special each time we ate there! Just a wonderful all round experience! We would definitely enjoy returning someday and recommend the hotel highly!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was one of the best hotels my family and I have stayed at. The check in all the way down to the beds were perfect. Food was great in ever restuarant! Massages were amazing! Pool was always clean and lots of beach chairs. Everyone friendly. Entertainment was awesome! I could go on and on about this hotel. We travel a lot but this hotel has everything covered!

Room Tip: I really don't know that any room would be bad at this hotel. It just depends on what you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had seven people staying in this hotel. We are pleased to say that we enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The service of the staff was excellent. Our family is vegetarian so the staff of Arenal (one of the many great restaurants in the hotel) made sure we had an ample variety of foods. They specifically made special dishes for us every evening. We would like to specially thank Chef Christian, Mauricio, Jessica, Vanessa, and Christina. They went out of their way to make our stay "Pura Vida." The property grounds, pools, and beach are clean and beautiful. Furthermore, the rooms were clean and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose beach view rooms on the higher floors for a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Second trip to Costa Rica to stay at the Riu Palace. Beautiful resort & great staff.
Special thanks to our server in the Arenal Buffet Gina Mora for making our dinner experience wonderful! She was very personable and kind. Our family remembered her from the year before, so happy to see her smiley face again!
Its those experiences that brought us back to Riu Palace.
In addition... a BIG thank you to all the activities staff. Our 4 children are again bringing wonderful memories back from a great vacation. The hotel is well maintained, food was amazing, Spa had top quality service and treatments.
Thumbs up for the Riu Palace for making a fun filled vacation destination for this Minnesota family.

Room Tip: Garden view king room... bed was an amazing, California king size. Greatly appreciated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Love everything about the resort except my son lost his food/dinner bracelet and he went up to the desk to get a new one and they wouldn't give it to him without a adult. I went up with him and filled out the paper work and they wouldn't give it to me without my passport. I wasn't willing to walk 2 blocks back to my room so they wouldn't give him his arm band. We loved the waitress Gina Mora in the main dinning room. She was so helpful and going way out of her way to help everyone. We had her last year too and she really stood out last year. We weren't in her section twice this trip and she came over and waited on us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica

Address: Playa Matapalo, Sardinal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Sardinal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sardinal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.