We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Matapalo, Sardinal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sardinal
Certificate of Excellence
Woodcliff Lake, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I took my family there to spend a week together, It was really very nice, from the rooms to the food. we had to make reservations which they only let you do a day in advance. The buffet was also excellent, actually the kids 19-22 preferred it. Rooms were very clean and maid service was good.
We book the zip line and quading through the hotel just to be safe, which turned out better because the guys on the beach would have given us quads that were not automatics.Something to think about when your family doesn't know how to drive them. My wife and kids did get a massage on the beach for half the price and were vey happy. I take my kids every year for the past 10 years to a nice vacation and this was there 3 favorite vacation so far.
Wifi in the hotel is really bad, it works but forget about Skype or another type of communication.
Oh no High end alcohol like Kettle one, Grey Goose etc...

Room Tip: Corner rooms have bigger balcony's overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    548
    174
    72
    51
See reviews for
516
825
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Well situated near the beach although the waves were pretty high when we were there, but the three pools were great
Good food in the restaurants . Little far to travel to points of Interest but we did the zip lining close by and it was superb fun. We dud take the longer trip for the boat ride and saw the red macaws, as well as a lot of river wildlife.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Wonderful honeymoon experience. Amazing service, amazing amenities, and wonderful location. Pools were marvelous, the view from anywhere was beautiful, and the beach was splendid. Drink service available from the pool to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just returned from a week's stay here. Impressive new. modern facility for Riu. Place was spotless. Staff was efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms were large, well-maintained. FANTASTIC WIFI throughout the resort--and free!

The large buffet restaurant was impressive with a wide selection of local and international choices. Excellent server staff, too. Was not so impressed with the themed restaurants although of the three (the Japanese, Krystal, and the Steak Place), the Steak Place had the best food selections. The Japanese restaurant's food was bland and small portions. Service there was terrible. The Krystal restaurant was only sllightly better.

Our tour rep handled our excursions and we did a number of them, white water rafting on the Tonorio River was exciting and fun. 1/2 day sport fishing, an all-day, exhausting excursion to the Arenal volcano for zip-lining and a visit to the hot springs. A great excursion to Tamarino Beach for surf lessons.

My oly suggestion for the resort (which is oddly located right next door to the Riu Guanacaste) is that there needs to be more restrooms available poolside. There was only one located in the Steak restaurant-which was a healthy walk from the farthest pool. Speaking of pools--all were well-maintained and inviting. Beach access was easy but all beaches in Costa Rica are public. That means as soon as you leave the Riu properties you are hounded by beach vendors. Not all the time but frequently. Beach was very buggy-bring bug lotion/spray.

Overall excellent resort.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools can be a bit loud with the outside entertainment bands going on til 11PM. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A beautiful, modern, and luxurious hotel in Guanacaste. The breakfast buffet was out of this world! The presentation of the food at the other restaurants on the property was also incredible. A very friendly and helpful staff, and a decent variety of options to sign up for excursions. It's also a nice option to take a short walk to Riu Guanacaste to spend the day at their pool, but for a romantic and luxurious experience I would recommend Riu Palace.

I admit, the area of Guanacaste is not very green (during then dry season in April), and the hotel grounds are somewhat barren looking. Going on excursions to the other side of the country (to Arenal, Monteverde, Manuel Antonio, etc.) to experience the natural beauty of the country and the green/rain forest/natural hot springs was an amazing experience! But, our time at the Riu Palace was relaxing and luxurious. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have been to a few all inclusives and this was by far the best. We loved the modern decor of the rooms (possibly because the hotel seems to be just a couple of years old). Very clean rooms with a fully stocked mini bar at all times.
The food was excellent! We ate everything and loved all of it. The normal buffet is just as good as the specialty restaurants so don't be disappointed if you couldn't get a reservation. We tried all the restaurants and loved them. We got a surprise from a few frogs at the steakhouse. They hopped in while we were eating but you can't blame them, it was their beach first!
Pools were in great shape and there were enough lounge chairs for everyone. Loved the wait staff and absolutely miss the Dirty Monkeys (best drink ever!). It does take quite a bit of time from the time of drink order to when you receive it so we ordered 2-3 each every time :) It was to be expected as there were only a few guys taking everyone's order then heading back to the bar to make them themselves. Great staff! Always courteous and always willing to help. Very friendly!
The beach was coarse sand and the water wasn't the greatest but the walk along the beach was nice. Walk down to the monkey bar and take a look at the wild monkeys or walk the other way and notice the danger signs on some of the trees. Lizards are hiding everywhere so don't be afraid. It was nice to see all of the nature aspects still intact (ie. lizards, monkeys, etc).
Shows were entertaining. Recommend the Michael Jackson and Rock of Ages for sure. We liked the street carnival. There was a stage built on the street entering the Riu properties and both hotels were invited. Bars were setup outside with games for kids. The show was nice and we liked the change of having it outside.
Shops are just outside the hotel and aren't the greatest. As everyone has said, make sure you bring your own toiletries and necessities as they are grossly overpriced (over 5 times more than what you would spend at home). The casino wasn't our thing and neither was the disco but they are there if you want to check them out.
Overall, great experience. We would highly recommend this place. Makes us want to visit another Riu Palace for our next trip as this was our first ever Riu experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karns City, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I spent August 4 -11 here and enjoyed every moment. The resort is clean and the food was great.

The atmosphere created by the entire staff was one of calm and security making this a grand place to just lounge.

As one of those people who workout even on vacation. A complete set of weights to go along with their excellent cardio and strenght machines would be great addition to the resort.

A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sardinal
9.6 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
9.8 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica
6.7 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica

Address: Playa Matapalo, Sardinal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Sardinal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sardinal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.