We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel and Villas Nacazcol

Save Saved
You added Hotel and Villas Nacazcol to your Saves list
Hotel and Villas Nacazcol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel and Villas Nacazcol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 KM west of Playas del Coco, Sardinal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Sardinal
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not even bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the service was terrible, this guy at reception named sterk or strek talked to us with terrible manners and not at all polite. The room was average, the beds were too hard, the pool is very small for the amount of people and the restaurant was too expensive for such poor quality food. You can find many better hotel closer to the beach and with better costumer service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My mom became a member and I've been a regular client since last year. She is supposed to get a "Villa" for 8 people, but on my first two visits I only got a Villa for 4 people max and the second time a hotel room for 2 people max. This is the first time I got a Villa for 8 pax. My reservation was from Wed-Fri and then started again from Sat-Sat. So, we called reception to ask if, as compensation for the previous two accomodations in smaller places, they could offer us the Friday night as a courtesy. The guy at the reception said for sure he could arrange that and before we left to the beach, we asked him if we should pick up everything and check out. He said we shouldnt worry and that he was going to call us during the afternoon. During the afternoon, Gabriela, the manager, kept on calling my mother, instead of me (and I m 29) stating that we did not open the door and that they were going to charge us $35 dollars for every hour we were away. Of course, that made my mom feel worried for no reason, because the guy didnt ask for the inventory, the bracelets or the sign for the car. And when we talked to her on the phone, instead of apologizing for the inconvenience of being misinformed by her staff, she blamed it on us and as we refused to pay for that, she said she was going to charge the guy from the reception. After that, she told my mom she was going to charge my mom. And all these happened while we were at the beach. No need to say our trip was ruined by the stress these people caused my mom and us. So, Gabriela told my mom to start the second reservation on Friday instead of Saturday (instead of a compensation for the inconveniences, we had to change our plans) And when I arrived to the reception to ask for an apology for all the stress they caused my mom that was not even traveling with us, Daniela Espinoza the receptionist refused openly to apologize and was telling me over and over how everything was our fault. I emailed Manager Melchor Marcos, and he didnt even attempt to offer an apology or a way to compensate us, instead, just the same as Daniela, he was lecturing me about the "norms" they have. Obviously, the guy working around 11 a.m. past Friday at the reception, Gabriela, Daniela and him ignore the basic norms of good customer service, they dont even use a Customer Relationship Management System or are even trained in listening, building rapport, empathizing, apologizing, compensating or creating positive experiences, in general. I was actually surprised to read that people from other countries had such a bad experiences as mine. I am from Costa Rica and it is really bad for the tourism industry, that people with no skills for customer service have those jobs where facilitating a nice experience for another person is essential.

Room Tip: Villa 508 is in front of the gym and away from the noise of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I thought this resort was exceptional for the location and the expectations I have about Costa Rica. All of the staff there were friendly and helpful. They were super nice to the students and teens I had with me. They would call out and wave and remember our names, even though it is a large resort. Many of us used the spa services which were excellent and reasonably priced. Our room was gorgeous. Our maid service was perfect. The room was lovely with turn down service and an awesome air conditioner. I have read some negatives about the reception and I agree, it is AWFUL!!! They do not know what they are doing and don't have any direction from a competent manager in my opinion. But as an experienced traveler who can speak fluent Spanish this was not a problem for us. They do not do extras. They have no concierge service. It is not the Marriot!

Room Tip: The 801 - 812 rooms are simple but lovely and quiet!!! The rooms 501 - 503 are suites with TONS of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We chose Nacazcol based on its prices and location. We were scuba diving with Deep Blue Diving in El Coco (excellent) and Nacazcol was the most reasonably priced. The pictures on the website are strategically taken; the place looks a little worn, but is still okay. Our room (in the hotel) was very clean and the housekeeping staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant was overpriced for mediocre food, but the drinks are strong and service good.

Be aware that this is away from the main beach, and seems to be a very hot spot for Tico vacationers. As such, few of the staff spoke English. You'll want to speak some Spanish if you go here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My wyfe and I decided to take some vacations in Costa Rica and choose the hotel Nacazcol in Coco area , excellent spot , beautiful rooms and gardens . Friendly front desk , Polyanna was a good help, We really recommend this place. Good service at the restaurant, General Manager help us a lot to find directions in Coco and Papagayo area. Hotel offers a shuttle to the Beach Club in Playa Panama. Incredible staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We came to Costa Rica hearing nothing but positives from any and all of our friends who have visited. Costa Rica itself is full of wonderful people and beautiful sites. At our hotel alone, we were lucky to have met wonderful people/staff such as Rolando, Francisco, Karin, Dinnier, and Paula. It is hard for me to write this honest review of the hotel because I fear it may have a negative impact on their livelihood. However, I believe this hotel has a strong core of regular locals from Costa Rica so a bad review from us will probably have little impact on business

Unfortunately, the best efforts of all ot these people could not overcome what we encountered any time we needed the most basic asssistance from the staff at the recepcion center. The people that we interacted with at the front desk/ recepcion center the majority of the time were either completely incompetent or intentionally feeding us bad information. I speak some Spanish. I speak well enough to have had positive interactions with all of the aforementioned people. However, due to the unwillingness of the staff of the front desk to even TRY to help us I would not recommend staying here to anyone who is not 100% FLUENT in Spanish. I can say without hesitation we have stayed in countries where we spoke almost none of the language and had better experiences.

On arrival we checked in to the large complex and were directed "down the road." WE ASKED FOR CLARIFICATION on the direction of travel and walked down the busy road that the hotel sits upon. The front of the hotel has a parking lot and a restaurant adjacent to it so when directed "down the road" (twice) it seemed logical to travel this direction. MINUTES later a man on a bicycle was sent to redirect us back into the complex and onto the proper PATH of travel. Minutes later, as we walked across the wide gapped cobblestone with our luggage designed to roll, it finally occurred to the front desk staff to send the golf cart from guest services. We walked right past the cart as we exited the recepcion area but it was never offered to us despite the fact that the distance to our room was at least one city block from check in. By the time it got to us we were mere steps from our room so we politely declined the transportation.

We found the room cozy and clean but with a section of louver windows that did not close properly. It had a refrigerator, air conditioning, a coffee pot, and a decent sized bathroom with shower. Also, the television probably had close to 80 channels- some were Spanish, some were English. We were pleased, except for the broken louver and that there were windows only on the hallway side of the room so there would be little chance for a breeze or fresh air. All in all, there was little to complain about regarding the room.

We hung out at the pool (clean and not busy on a Thursday) then took a cab to Playa del Coco. The beach was nice although it was littered with trash in the area directly adjacent to the public bus stop. It has dark volcanic sand. There was one bar on the beach that served food and had a good vibe. It was called LA VIDA LOCO. WE WOULD RECOMMEND IT. Very laid back. Up the road from the beach there were several bars, restaurants, fast food options and at least three fully stocked supermercados.

On the second day OUR ALARM CLOCK CAME AT 6AM IN THE FORM OF A WALKIE TALKIE OF THE HOSEKEEPER WHO SAT ABOUT 10 FEET FROM OUR WINDOW WITH THE VOLUME ON 10. We started the morning with a surprisingly good breakfast. THE FOOD AND PEOPLE AT THE CAPITAN MORGAN RESTAURANT REMAINED OUTSTANDING FOR OUR ENTIRE STAY. WE LITERALLY NEVER HAD A BAD EXPERIENCE AT THE RESTAURANT NOR THE NIGHT CLUB DURING OUR STAY. WE ATE AT LEAST ONE MEAL DAILY AT THE HOTEL RESTAURANT AND ALWAYS LEFT SATISFIED.
We then asked inside the hotel about local beaches the recepcion staff (Christian and Anny) seemed annoyed by the fact that we asked literally 5 or 6 questions. There were no pamphlets about local attractions in the lobby. Finally, Christian gave us a binder that had information from the CR Friendly tour agency. Strangely, we agreed that Christian, who spoke English well, was slightly more helpful when Anny was not around. We asked about a scooter rental and were directed to a rental person in Playa del CoCo (about 3 miles away and the closest beach). When we arrived, the man we were directed to said he stopped renting scooters "months ago." Hours of our day were wasted. Eventually we ended up at Playa Hermosa, which was nice.

We booked a trip, the Mega Package Combo with CR Friendly for our third day (Saturday). We noticed the pools inside the hotel were PACKED. The tour was a wonderful experience. The kindness and knowledge of our guide, Juan Carlos, seemed endless. Finally, we had a stress free day (away from the hotel, concidence?). It was somewhat costly upfront- $150 per person but it was worth every penny. The package included zip lines, tubing on the Colorado River for at least a half hour, beverages, lunch, and a hot springs/ mud bath portion. If you have the chance, take this day long tour.

Optimistically, we returned to the lobby on Sunday to request transportation to the Nacazcol beach club at Playa Panama. Christian explained to us that since nobody requested transportation to the beach club, there would be no bus running that day. HE THEN GAVE US A MAP OF THE THREE BEACHES IN THE AREA THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN EXTREMELY HELPFUL WHEN HE CHECKED US IN ON DAY ONE! We decided to take a cab instead and Christian called a local cabbie for us. $12 and 20 minutes later we arrived at Playa Panama to find the BEACH CLUB IS STILL UNDER CONSTRUCTION AND IS AT LEAST 200 YARDS FROM THE BEACH. WHEN IT IS COMPLETE IT WILL BE 8 CHAIRS AND MAYBE A POOL. THE WEBSITE FOR THE HOTEL AND THE PAMPHLET GIVEN TO US AT THE HOTEL LISTS THE BEACH CLUB AS THOUGH IT IS ALREADY COMPLETE. Also, there are no restaurants nor bars near this beach and it was littered with garbage almost from end to end. We were forced to take a $20 30 minute cab back to Playa del CoCo. Another day with significant time wasted due to the inept front desk service.

Our last full day was Monday and we booked another tour with CR Friendly. The beaches at Conchal, Tamarindo and Flamingo were beautiful. They featured surfing and very good snorkeling. Again, we had a great day because we went through CR Friendly and did not need to ask a single question at the front desk. HOWEVER, WHEN WE RETURNED WE ASKED ABOUT ANOTHER RESTAURANT APPROXIMATELY ONE CITY BLOCK AWAY FROM THE HOTEL. WE ASKED CHRISTIAN IF HE KNEW WHETHER OR NOT THEY WERE OPEN ON MONDAY NIGHT. HE TOLD US HE DID NOT KNOW THEN REFUSED TO CALL THEM AND DIRECTED US TO THE INTERNET IF WE WANTED TO FIND OUT FOR OURSELVES. We could not find information and ended up walking down a pitch black road to find out. Thankfully, it was open and quite enjoyable. The service was unbelievably good. It was called Restaurante Casa Bonita, a Mexican Restaurant.

Our last day we checked out with Anny and she simply placed documents in front of us and nothing more. I am pretty sure everybody understands "Gracias." SHE LITERALLY NEVER SMILED IN SIX DAYS OF INTERACTION. We loved Costa Rica but wouldn't recommend this hotel to an enemy. As stated earlier, it is a shame because there are many great people at this hotel. However, it is unacceptable to be treated the way we were and misled by the property about a nonexistent so called "beach club" that won't even be a beach club when it is complete!

That being said we had an enjoyable trip to this wonderful country and still believe the Pura Vida mantra still lives in most in Costa Rica. As for others, Karma will probably find them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

My wife and I have travel in many countries and at many timeshares, so we have come to expect certain things not up to USA standard in many countries. But Villas Nacazcol was realy a great find in Playa Coco Costa Rica. We arrived at 1pm on Saturday after driving from San Jose and our check in was really fast and our villa was availabe with no wait. Once we unpacked we went down to the restaruant. for lunch and it had wifi so we were able to check all our emals. The food was good and the service was excellent. We then went back to our villa and discovered the kitchen was well stocked with just about everthing. as we had our own chef with us. ( our male frind like to cook and is very good at it ) There is even a Auto Macardo in Coco ( That is a really upscale Supermarket) Our villa was airconditioned and hade three TVs. Each day of our vacation they came in with new towles and cleaned and made the beds. The Villas are about 5 miles from the downtown stores and there you can get just about anything you want. There was one restaruant with a sports bar and everday they had specials that you just cant pass on with dollar drinks. We eat there one day really good. As we have travel Costa Rica for 10 years now we knew that the location was good for going to the differentt playas ( beaches) So we visited Tamarindo, Conchal ,Panama Hermosa, Flimingo. and Ocotal. Ocotal is like 10 minutes from Villas Nacazcol and is quite nice and deserted. Our villa had four plastic chairs and we took them to the beachs. Villas Nacazcol had three pools one buy the restaruant, one that was at the entertaiment area and one small pool that was inbetween two villas it proved to be our favorit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sardinal
Free internet...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
#9 of 13 in Playas del Coco
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
13.3 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
2200.9 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sueno
Hotel Villa del Sueno
#6 of 13 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
5.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 3,410 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
5.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
4.9 mi away
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resort & Spa
Hilton Papagayo Costa Rica Resor...
#5 of 16 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Villas Nacazcol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Villas Nacazcol

Address: 4 KM west of Playas del Coco, Sardinal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Sardinal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Sardinal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel and Villas Nacazcol 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel and Villas Nacazcol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villas Nacazcol Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel and Villas Nacazcol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.