We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly Okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Guanacaste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Guanacaste to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Playa Matapalo, Sardinal, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sardinal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Strictly Okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This place was our last stop in our Costa Rica trip. After staying at small BnBs and enjoying local food/culture, this place was very American in atmosphere. Buffets, pools, etc. But the quality wasn't bad. There were tons of families/kids around, the beach was right there, they had activities in the pool area that you could do, there was an entertainment show at night and it was all included so that was fine. Their restaurants werew good too (Arenal and the Japanese place).

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area and the beach is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,588
    1,507
    679
    243
    160
See reviews for
1,233
1,843
44
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Totally agree with bikerracer on all counts. The bees were horrendous. Haaard 8 said get a drink and leave the area..just waiting to get a drink was taking a chance. My daughter was bit twice. My husband is allergic and goes into shock if he gets bit. The sports bar was a glorified babysitting center. The play center should be separate from where adults are drinking and trying to have a conversation without all the noise from the kids. As far as asking to be moved to a different room..good luck on that one. has nothing to do with foresight as some rooms cost more and they will not upgrade you for free. Went to get reservations for the restaurants and not even going there..good luck on that one. The alcohol selection was ok but if you are a beer drinking there is only one local beer served. Take it or leave it. The beach was rocky and very few people spent time there. It was quite a distance from any shopping areas and the shops on the property didn't have all that much to offer. All in all I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We liked Costa Rica in general, it was just as I expected. We had no expectations of white beaches or Caribbean waters; here is by the Pacific Ocean! We were mainly there to see the rain-forests and the beautiful landscape of the country. The resort had the best food among the all-inclusives we've been to so far but it was kind of far from the beach.. I mean it wasn't a long walk at all, but the beach was not really visible from the hotel areas, there was not even a beach bar!
The weather was gorgeous however the days ended so early, it was dark at 6 pm --in June. If you get up 9 pm or later, you don't get to have a long day. We loved the cocktails, service, rooms, etc.. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

as soon as we arrived to this hotel we had a reservation for an ocean view room 2 beds .. well the lady told us that we had an option to stay in a Ocean view room with one king bed and 1 child sized movable cot. or change it to another standar room with Garden View , i aked her why when we call to do reservation they told us that we had a double standar with Ocean view and she said to me that is how their call center works to attract more costumers ...JUST WRONG!! We had to take that room since we had our kids and there's not another HOTEL near by .at the moment that we were ready to pay the card did not passed and the guys start acting very rude i told him that prob was their system because i knew i had enough to cover it .. and well it was an error on the machine we had to call our bank, we had to wait about 2hrs for them to charge Us because their system was wrong but they had an attitude that was our fault. well 24/7 snacks only .. so if you expect to get decent food after 8.00pm you are lost you can have all the fridge sandwiches for you to warm it on the microwave as you want but not a restaurant. their buffets are extremely crowded. You do have to make reservations for the special restaurants 2 days in advance and they have limited menus.. OK well we deal with that .. but as soon as you get in the beach.. is a DEAD BEACH .. yes no waves and it's really dirty .. they have a lot of expensive rentals ( jet sky for $70.00 1/2 hr).. the Pool was fine and the crew from the hotel are very nice but the night crew of the front desk .. One of the elevators was not working ..they have 2 in each side of the hotel so the right side had only one fits 8 people and it was a line to use it so 3rd floor and we had to use stairs all the time ..they have a over priced mini super outside of the hotel .. if you forgot your sunblock be ready to pay up to $40.00 dlls for one .. seriously is nothing close to this Hotel ... Our reservation was made from 08/09 to 08/14.. we stayed only 2 night we had to move to another place.. to me this place is a wonderful building and nice gardens but that's it .. is my 6th Visit to this amazing Country but the 1st and last to this Hotel ..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed her with my mother and two children in mid August. We had a great time. The buffet was good. Most of the staff was nice and attentive. The only issue we had with our rooms was the very strong smell of the septic tank at night. The beach was great, the pool was okay except for being taken over by the locals on the weekend. They were a bit rowdy and drunk so I opted to take the kids to the beach instead. We bought the excursion package when we got there, what a great time we had! Zip lining, horseback riding, hot springs.....It was great. I would recommend the Riu Guanacaste for a good all inclusive family resort at a reasonable rate.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My best friend and I try to take a vacation once a year to a new tropical place. This was the first time that we ventured to Central America and really enjoyed ourselves. Beautiful hotel! We had a room on the side of the hotel and were able to see the howler monkeys one of the mornings from our balcony.

The beds are pretty hard and the pillows pretty flat, but it wasn't that hard to adjust to. We would call to have the refrigerator stocked more than every other day and it was never a problem.

The food was surprisingly good. I think that a lot of times, people expect US 5 star food when they go on a vacation like this. For a relatively cheap all-inclusive resort, the food was great. It was really annoying getting your reservations for dinner but most of the all-inclusive's do have an annoying process. The Italian and Asian restaurants do not require a reservation and you can just go up to the host and if there is a wait, they will provide you with a cell phone to call you when your table is ready.

The water was great! We did see a lot of fish and actually a group of us were feeding them ice cream cones. A lot of people in other reviews talked about how rough the water was...I would have to say that I didn't find it rough at all (if you have been to the Outer Banks in NC, you will think this is like a pool!).

I would definitely suggest getting a massage at the tents on the beach as they are super cheap! Carlos and Juanita were great!

There were a lot of kids/babies at the resort. The pool could get a little overcrowded with kids, especially if you were trying to relax on one of the water chairs.

If you ask for Smirnoff vodka or Bacardi rum they will give it to you. They also had a few other "top shelf" liquors that you could just ask for.

If you are a smoker of any kind, I strongly suggest bringing vapor/e-cigs. There is one designated area for smoking on the resort and if you wanted to have a cigar while watching the shows, you can't do that.

I think that the worst part for us was on our last full day, a company retreat came in and took over both the Riu and the Riu Palace, so it was insane with the crowds. If they had been there the entire week that we were and no one from the resort warned us, I would be pretty annoyed, but since it was one day, we figured we could deal with it.

We did the Mega Combo excursion and had SO much fun! If you plan on taking a lot of excursions, I don't know that an all-inclusive is worth your money as you could get a pretty nice hotel that includes breakfast and then just grab dinner after your excursions.

Also a group of us that met at the resort booked a cab and went to Coco Beach one night. It was a lot fun!

A lot of the locals hate the Riu group as they are probably one of the worst mega resorts when it comes to conservation... or so we were told.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a higher level so that you can better see the monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at the Riu on August 10th. This hotel was extremely crowded. Buffets were destroyed by parentless kids. The pool and pool bar were over run by bees. The 1hr I was at the pool I saw 3 people stung by bees. You could not even sit at the wet bar is was so hazadarous. Beach is nothing to write home about. One of my least favorite of Costa Rica. Then there is the 3am power washing of the sidewalks. I don't know if this happens every night but just figure if it does you will be up watching TV. Also our room bar/mini fridge was not stocked upon arrival and after several calls to the front desk I just gave up. House keeping is severely lacking. Found dirty socks in the night stand and a half drank bottle of soda in the fridge. For the amount of money you spend here this place is not worth it. Look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sardinal
9.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
9.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica
6.7 mi away
Occidental Grand Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo
#7 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
3.5 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
8.5 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Guanacaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Guanacaste

Address: | Playa Matapalo, Sardinal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Sardinal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sardinal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Guanacaste 4*
Number of rooms: 701
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening winter 2009/10. Situated in northern Costa Rica, in Guanacaste. Located on Playa de Matapalo beach. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 6-storey main building. Surrounded by 35,000 m2 / 41,86 sq. yards of lush gardens. Closest village: Nuevo Colon. 13 km / 8.1 miles from various shops. 33 km / 20.5 miles from Liberia airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Guanacaste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Guanacaste Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Guanacaste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.