We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place from which to explore Greece” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts

Save Saved
You added Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts
Pirgos Psilonerou, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Richmond, VA
1 review
“Great place from which to explore Greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is wonderful. I've spent time traveling throughout much of Greece and I went with my girlfriend who had never been to Crete. I think of Crete as one of the last places in Europe where it's possible to get away from the urbanization and commercialization that covers so much of the rest of the continent.

We stayed at Villa Fleria for just shy of a week. The Villa itself is lovely, right next to a beautiful beach on which you can go for an evening stroll or morning jog. The rooms are spotless and the owners (a family based in Crete during the summers and Athens in the winter) help with driving directions and restaurant recommendations. They're committed to fair prices (sometimes offering discounts well below market price) and sometimes they will offer to drop you off in Chania and to pick you up hours later (I didn't take them up on this offer myself).

Its location is also ideal. It is the perfect place from which to venture beyond the easy tourist traps and experience one of the few undiscovered places in Europe. It's a few minutes away from Chania (where we ate dinner almost every night), to visit some of the most amazing beaches on the island (Elafonisi, Falasarna, Balos), to venture into the mountains, and to visit dozens of Cretan villages with wonderful tavernas along the way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFleria, Owner at Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hi Marcus!
First of all let us thank you not as Villa Fleria,but as part of the Cretan society, for acknowledging the authenticity of Crete and Cretan culture.
Regarding Villa Fleria, we would like to thank you for taking time to write this review and for your kind words. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in Chania and that you enjoyed your stay in Villa Fleria. We will be happy to see you again and we hope that next time you will have more time to relax and enjoy the Cretan hospitality.

Warm Regards,
Grigoris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnside, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Villa Fleria 25Sept - 2Oct 2012, and had a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing holiday.

We had great weather and spent most days on the beach, and with a few beach bars very nearby had everything we needed - sunbeds, umbrella, cold drinks and freshly prepared lunch (we like Kosta's bar just down the beach). Mini-markets and a bakery within walking distance would make self-catering very easy but we tended to eat out. There's not a huge choice of tavernas within walking distance, but there are enough places to go to get some good Creten fair.

The bus is very nearby and very easy to get to Chania, where we had a lovely evening. Kolymbari is small but very sweet and has waterside tavernas too.

We hired a car for a couple of days. The drive to Elafonisi is quite a long way, it is beautiful but rather busy and to be honest, we preferred our quiet beach at Villa Fleria with no one else around! But it was great to drive through the mountain villages, be sure to stop at a roadside stall and stock up on olive oil and honey - seriously tasty.

We were made to feel genuinely welcome at Villa Fleria, were given some helpful local tips on places to go, buses, car hire etc, and yes, we got the famous orange juice each morning - delicious! Our apartment was just as it looks in the photos, clean, cool, comfortable, chic style and we had a swing seat on our veranda - a great place to sit in the evening and listen to the cicadas and the waves of the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFleria, Owner at Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hello Charlie!
Reading your review for Villa Fleria really pleased us. It is our main goal to satisfy our guests and to contribute in making their holidays memorable. Next time you visit Chania, in order to avoid the long drive, you must go to Falasarna which is one of the most beautiful beaches in Europe and only 30 minutes drive from Villa Fleria. We will be waiting to welcome you at any time and of course your morning orange juice will be waiting for you!

Thank you once again!
Grigoris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

As beautiful as it looks in the photos! And an added bonus is the hugely friendly, accommodating and welcoming family that run it. They gave us great advice and really cared that we enjoyed ourselves and had a memorable visit.
Lovely beach and a swimming pool very close by. Everything you need for a relaxing and peaceful break.
Chania Old Port was very beautiful and a lovely trip for an evening meal and potter around the shops.
Altogether we loved it and it ticked all the boxes.
Thank you so much for such a wonderful time!
Louisa

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFleria, Owner at Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Louisa! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Villa Fleria as well as for your kind words. It gives us great satisfaction to understand that some of the advice given helped you to have a wonderful time. Thank you again! We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Chania! Warm Regards... Grigoris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having never written on Tripadvisor I (We) decided that Villa Fleria was well deserving of our first ever comment. My friend and I have just come back from a wonderful 5 night trip to Crete.
The studio apartment was surrounded by beautiful Bougainvillia flowers; it was bright, clean and spacious and had a wonderful sea view. Highlights of the holiday included our trips to various beaches, Hania by night, waking up to the sound of the sea, the bright sunshine and freshly squeezed orange juice. Villa Fleria is a gem and we would both love to go back.
Thank you to the whole family for making us feel so welcome, your hospitality was the icing on the cake!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFleria, Owner at Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hi Sophia!
Thank you very much for you excellent review! It seems that you enjoyed our traveling advices and we are very happy about that! Next time you 'll visit Villa Fleria I am committed to prepare for you an your friends a tailor-made traveling guide in order to discover even more the incredible Chania & Crete! Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,
Grigoris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After 10 days of vacation in Kreta I can say the following. If Zeus was the ancient God of hospitality he must have been born in Kreta. Our Greek Gods of hospitality were the Andrikopoulos Family that welcomed us to a beautiful apartment with sea view , super clean, quiet and relaxing. The feeling of sleeping and hearing the waves was priceless. Beautiful location, 5 min walk from the beach. Ideal place to relax and enjoy the sun. Highlight of the day was the freshly squeezed orange juice that was offered to us every day (even though) breakfast was not included.
We really felt like being home with our own family and this is a rare.Many thanks once more and keep up the great job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFleria, Owner at Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Alexandra, I'm thrilled that we 've made you feel like home! It's wonderful to hear that you felt so nice and comfortable. We truly appreciate your kind comments and to be honest that is the type of personalized service we want to offer. Thank you for pointing out something that we also love, and that is the sound of the sea waves. We 're looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Warm regards,
Grigoris

P.S. Yes, Zeus was born in Kreta! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Perfect location, close to shops, bar and restaurants and even crowded Platanias but still very silent and quiet, fresh at night, just between sea and fields.
In the green garden, really full of beautiful flowers, you can rest at any time of the day, lying on a sun-bed or reading a book on the hammock.
Our apartment was big and comfortable for four, well furnished and very clean. Good quality beds and furniture, clean towels and linens, all what we needed. And last but not least, a really fast wireless internet connection!
The beach is close (3-5 minute on foot) and the apartments on the upper floors have a wonderful sea-view. Anyway it is worth to reach other beautiful beaches not far away and make some trips. Villa Fleria is a very good "base camp" to visit all the west side of Crete. Here you can also find some very good tavernas with fresh fish or excellent meat.
A real holiday for mind and body! Thank you very much to Spiros for his beautiful manners and always kind and helping attitude. Special thanks to Irene for her patience and smile and for the invaluable fresh orange juice in the morning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFleria, Owner at Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you very much for this great review and for your kind words for Irene and myself! I'm thrilled to hear that you had such a pleasant and relaxing stay. In addition, I'm very glad to hear that you found your room as expected (clean and comfortable), that you enjoyed the green surroundings and that you took advantage of the WiFi internet connection. Thank you for shearing your experience and we hope to see you back soon.
Warm regards.
Spiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel is owned and run by a family offering great Cretan hospitality! Mr Spryros was very helpful and always available to answer questions.
Rooms are spacious, very clean, decorated with a simple elegance and they are surrounded by a beautiful garden. We used to enjoy our breakfast on our sunny balcony each morning.
Villa Fleria is only a short walk from the beach. As for nightlife, Platanias is only 3km away where someone can find plenty of cafe/ clubs, restaurants and tavernas.
Definitely the right choice for a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent critique! We are very happy that our guests understand the originality of the Cretan hospitality we offer. In addition, we are very happy that you appreciated the friendly atmosphere of the hotel. To be honest, every time we receive such a good review we feel even more committed to try harder in order to offer an even better experience to our visitors. We're proud to make you feel like home. We hope to see you soon again!
Best regards,
Grigoris Andrikopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts

Address: Pirgos Psilonerou, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Pirgos Psilonerou
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Pirgos Psilonerou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fleria seaside studios & apts provides the ideal environment for enjoyable and comfortable holidays in the magical Chania of Crete, in Greece. It is located on the beach of the traditional village Pyrgos Psilonerou (Platanias Municipality), near the city of Chania, in a verdant setting just 100 meters from the sea. It consists of three studios and two apartments, all but one with balconies and a view to the sea. The only apartment situated in the garden, has an exclusive-use pergola. Villa Fleria creates ideal conditions for relaxation and combines the modern comforts of the rooms with an idyllic setting. It is surrounded by a blooming garden of 0.5 acres, full of roses, bougainvillea, jasmine, geranium, pomegranates, fig trees, which create a wonderful cocktail of colours and fragrances. Here you can enjoy your breakfast, a cup of coffee or a drink; you can read a book, enjoy the sun on comfortable sun beds or even take a nap in the hammock between the palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Fleria Seaside Studios & Apts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.